We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely bit of lakeland Switzerland”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Restaurant Seehof
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Walenstadt
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely bit of lakeland Switzerland”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Decent family run hotel.Best part of it is the lakeside location and the huge mountains directly behind it. I know Austria and even I was impressed. Hotel is next to a military barracks and one morning there were some (noisy) military exercises which are part of the deal in Switzerland, I guess.
Bit idiosyncratic - we arrived at 23:00 and found the place (and indeed the whole town) in darkness. Hotel had left my roomkey so no probs.
Nice modern rooms and cheerful common areas.
Nice breakfast room but a bit stingy perhaps on quantities.
Lovely terrace to have drinks - food on overlooking lake.Very friendly staff and owners.
Good value too

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MerchantofJute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    33
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
12
20
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Lovely room overlooking the lake, spotlessly clean throughout, very efficient staff and good food. Well worth the stay. No air con so a bit warm at night. Very peaceful and with free public parking. Restaurant design very modern with great lighting.

Room Tip: Room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Overall the hotel was good, room was quite small but more than adequate with a good bathroom.
Breakfast was quite good with plenty of choice. The evening meal was awful for me being a vegetarian. The views in the morning of the lake and surrounding mountains made up for it, truly awesome in the true sense of the word. Only other issue the hotel was locked up by 10 pm so couldn't get anything to drink even a coffee.

Room Tip: I think all rooms have a lake view if not make sure your room does it would be well worth the extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loves_the_north
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Wow, what a place. Obviously you could just come to the lake and enjoy the beach, but I was lucky enough to be booked at this hotel. My evening routine involves taking a glass of wine, and walking across the street barefoot to enjoy the waters of lake Walensee. I sit there and I watch the ducks, listen to the trains go buy infrequently, watch the sun fall behind the mountains and just RELAX! The room is very clean, comfortable, the shower has exceptional pressure, the service is great... Really, it's difficult to say anything bad about the place. I forgot my shaving cream, and the owners ran off to get me some.
Breakfast is good, (try the jam!) and the food in the restaurant is exceptional as well (try the local lake fish).
I have nothing but good to say about this place, I will absolutely be back... Next time I'll come to go skiing!

Room Tip: They're all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WildLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo Mozambique
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We stayed at this lovely hotel in June. We had a beautiful room facing the lake and lakeside park. The hotel and room are very clean and well decorated. There was even a little window in the bathroom allowing the guest to enjoy the view from the shower! The setting and views of the lake and mountains are beautiful and the location provides easy access from the ferry.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ambnmaputo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2008

We came across this hotel by accident after a long drive from Germany and it was a great find. There are lovely views across the lake and rooms on the second floor have been substantially rennovated and modernised to provide clean fresh rooms with a nice large LCD TV and stunning views across the lake to the mountains beyond (make sure you can stay on this floor and not on the others as these have not been updated). I wish we could have stayed here longer than one night as there seemed to be plenty to see for walkers with the nature park close by and walks around the lake.

  • Liked — Great location, nicely updated rooms, great views, reasonably priced for Switzerland
  • Disliked — Not many amenities and shops etc. are a good distance away if you don't have a car
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank pommybattler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level 6 Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2008

I used this hotel for 2 nights while skiing at Flumserberg. The property is run by the lady-owner who is omnipresent. There is a restaurant, a nice bar and an outside terrasse. The rooms have recently been refurbished. The location is right by the lake Walensee and end-street, about 1 km from the city center. Free outside hotel-parking! The view from my room was extraordinary. You can't go wrong to stay there.

  • Liked — Tranquility
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hikerLuxembourg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walenstadt
4.2 mi away
Lofthotel
Lofthotel
#1 of 1 in Murg
63 reviews
3.2 mi away
Bildungszentrum Neu-Schoenstatt
8.3 mi away
Seminarhotel Lihn
Seminarhotel Lihn
#2 of 3 in Filzbach
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Hotel Post
Hotel Post
#1 of 2 in Sargans
76 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel Arvenbuel
Hotel Arvenbuel
#1 of 2 in Amden
38 reviews
10.5 mi away
Parkhotel Sonnenhof
Parkhotel Sonnenhof
#1 of 5 in Vaduz
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Seehof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Seehof

Property: Hotel Restaurant Seehof
Address: Seestrasse 104, Walenstadt 8880, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of St. Gallen > Walenstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Walenstadt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant Seehof 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Seehof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing