We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of date decor and out of way hotel”
Review of Baia Taormina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Baia Taormina
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Forza d'Agro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We were booked 5 nights and stayed only 2 and that was because other hotels were booked out. We were not informed this place was 10 mins out of Taormina, that was our travel agent lack of information/knowledge, therefore We could not come and go as we wanted, as you had to book the shuttle to and from the hotel to get to Taormina. We wanted to swim in the ocean and it was only on the last morning we overheard another guest telling other people there was beach access. It was via a tunnel, but this was never told to us.
Our room had a spectacular view, however it was in need of a makeover badly! the tv was around 20cm, sitting on an old and unattracive stand. the wardrobe was ugly, there was no full length mirror, and the room was very plain and unattractive.
The balcony was small and for the 2 of us to site there co,for table we had to put the one sun lounge on its side and leaning against the wall.
This was definitely not the hotel for us and I would not recommend it for anyone who wants easy access to Taormina or to swim in the sea.
Staff did not volunteer any information at reception about services in the hotel, but this is not uncommon in Italy, we have learned to ask lots of questions when checking in.
To get to the reception we had to run the gauntlet of the smokers at the bar. The evening bar has no view, even though there are awesome views to be had, especially at disk when pre dinner drinks are the norm.
Average age of guest seemed to be around 70, not our age group either. Overall, a big disappointment and In all our travels this is the first hotel we have changed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trav-lersmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioMiano, Revenue Manager at Baia Taormina, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Guests,

thank you for the feedback as shared on Tripadvisor.
Reading your words I sincerely find it difficult to find a point. Let me explain:
I personally met you upon arrival when you realized this hotel was not in the city centre of Taormina. You also mention you wanted to swim in the ocean and it should take a miracle to have the ocean in the centre of Taormina since everybody knows it is not located on the sea, at least the mountain part of the Greek Theatre and all monuments. Therefore we are not organized to make this miracle.
We are sorry the agency did not provide you with the correct information but in my opinion it is quite absurd to organize a trip from Australia and choosing our hotel for 5 nights stay without visiting our website and gathering more information.
I also assume you did not have a look at reviews on Tripadvisor, and just as an example, our Front Desk Staff is one of the most celebrated in reviews while you say they did not even give you the info you needed.
The last thing which really strikes me is the fact that you have chosen Mazzarrò Sea Palace for alternative stay for the remaining three nights. This hotel is a 5 stars luxury one while we are a four stars hotel with a good service according to reviews on the portals.
This seems like one person who wants to play football and chooses a tennis field to organize the match.
In any case we are glad you have enjoyed the astonishing views from our hotel.
Do not hesitate to contact me since I would be glad to better understand your points and in the meantime I thank you once again for the feedback and send my

best regards, Mario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (862)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 862 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Baia Tairmina - Carmen at the desk was a delight, Mario was a great host. All good things to say about the Hotel - food, room, VIEWS! , beach, staff, shuttles. They couldn't do enough for you.

One suggestion is to arrange your shuttles to the beach and Taormina early in the day so you get your choice - the shuttle bus has only 15 seats.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank notanline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

It was a fantastic trip.
The staff is very professional. Can solve any problem and complete most difficult request.
It is very easy to get to Taormina and to the beach in shuttle, which goes every 45 minutes.
I also would like to mention excellent breakfast and dinner.
I really hope to come back to this wonderful place.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NinaZab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great place for relaxing, sunbathing and swimming in the pool. Brilliant 2 levels pool area with elevator, great service! Exciting views from terraces.
The only problem is the location - if you dont have a car, it is almost impossible to travel around, because there is very busy road without pathway, no shops or restaurants near.

Room Tip: Choose suite in Palace with private terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JudithRiga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I was given a room different to that I have booked. I was given a junior sweet rather than a family sweet, after calling the reception who denied that they gave the phone to another lady who told me that they will correct that next morning and gave me a 30 euros bonus to spend in the hotel. Surprisingly they gave me a similar room with slightly better view but still not what I paid for and when I discussed with the lady she told that I can leave the hotel if I want !!!!!!
The room service is terrible, they rearrange the bed sheets but never actually changed them for the whole week. They say they have tea and coffee facilities in the room but actually there is no spoon to use, the kettle is not clean and they provide only tea and sometimes sugar as well. There were ants in room. One day the toilette rolls were not supplied.
I do not advise going to the dinner buffet it is expensive and has no varieties, moreover if you don't speak Italian you will struggle with the chefs to order the grilled fish or meat.
To go to our room we had to take 3 lifts.
The last thing is the beach, it is an adventure to go there and if you go to the other beach with the shuttle bus you will not enjoy as they will claim that the front row is reserved so you will be at the back rows however the beach is so bad no sand but pebbles and sharp spiky stones so use a swimming shoe.
The only good thing is the city itself and its sweets and sea food as well as the places to visit especially Isola bella.
Nothing is near by, you have to use the shuttle bus to Taormina and enjoy the characteristic narrow streets and buy the Sicilian sweets (canollies), you have to reserve your place on the bus at least one night ahead.
This hotel needs to improve on 3 main things:1) Honesty with the customers.
2)Behavior of some of the staff, the lady in the office behind the reception.
3)Room service.
I would not recommend this hotel at all.

Room Tip: Be careful you will be given a room cheaper than the one you have booked, the rooms which end with 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amroshehata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is a good hotel with superb views of the sea, large rooms and a great pool. However there are areas for improvement such as; the choice and price of snacks, lunch and dinner is limited. The shuttles to and from Taormina are always late (5-35 minutes on the 10 trips we took), It also took 3 days to fix a leak in the room ceiling with daily reminders. If you love Italy you will love Taormina.

Room Tip: Ask for the new section on the hotel. The grande palace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Malcolm W W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We haven't stayed at this hotel as we couldn't find available rooms, but staying at the neighbour Crystal Sea Hotel, we discovered its excellent open air dinner buffet. We asked in reception whether we could enjoy it without being hotel guests. The reaction was very positive and we did it. Excellent atmosphere, reasonable price, magnificient "spaghetteria" where you can ask for several sauce options for your spaghetti al dente (try "al vongole", please !!). Highly recommendable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Toni3452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forza d'Agro
0 mi away
Crystal Sea
Crystal Sea
#3 of 4 in Forza d'Agro
241 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hilton Giardini Naxos
Hilton Giardini Naxos
#4 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
1,595 reviews
4.3 mi away
VOI Grand Hotel Mazzaro Sea Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Olimpo
Hotel Olimpo
#1 of 11 in Letojanni
881 reviews
5.3 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#17 of 87 in Taormina
684 reviews
3.7 mi away
Caparena Hotel
Caparena Hotel
#56 of 87 in Taormina
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baia Taormina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baia Taormina

Address: Via Nazionale Km 39.00, 98030 Forza d'Agro, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Forza d'Agro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Forza d'Agro
Price Range: $135 - $963 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Baia Taormina 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms of Baia Taormina have a balcony or a terrace with superb views on the sea and overlooking the incomparable bay from Taormina to Giardini Naxos. Internet Wi-Fi connection is free of charge and guests can reach Taormina in 10 minutes with a private and free shuttle granted by the hotel. Two swimming pools are available for all guests and one of them is filled with natural sea water. The hotel has two restaurants with breathtaking views and offering either traditional Sicilian and international food. It is also possible to book beauty treatments or massages through the Exclusive Spa Centre of the hotel. Other amenities include a bar and pool bar, 24-hour Reception and one meeting room with audiovisual equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baia Taormina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baia Taormina-Grand Palace Hotel And Spa
Baia Taormina-Grand Palace Hotel Santa Teresa Di Riva
Baia Taormina Italy/Sicily - Province Of Messina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing