We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with areas for improvement”
Review of Baia Taormina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Baia Taormina
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Forza d'Agro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is a good hotel with superb views of the sea, large rooms and a great pool. However there are areas for improvement such as; the choice and price of snacks, lunch and dinner is limited. The shuttles to and from Taormina are always late (5-35 minutes on the 10 trips we took), It also took 3 days to fix a leak in the room ceiling with daily reminders. If you love Italy you will love Taormina.

Room Tip: Ask for the new section on the hotel. The grande palace.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Malcolm W W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (819)
There are newer reviews for Baia Taormina
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 820 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

We haven't stayed at this hotel as we couldn't find available rooms, but staying at the neighbour Crystal Sea Hotel, we discovered its excellent open air dinner buffet. We asked in reception whether we could enjoy it without being hotel guests. The reaction was very positive and we did it. Excellent atmosphere, reasonable price, magnificient "spaghetteria" where you can ask for several sauce options for your spaghetti al dente (try "al vongole", please !!). Highly recommendable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Toni3452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

The most amazing experience, beautiful property, sweet and helpful staff and all you could possibly want all in one place. I was able to relax on their beautiful beach and visit Taormina everyday with the hotel shuttle which ran every 30 minutes. The property is pristine and my room was magical. The breakfast and dinner buffet had everything you can possibly imagine.

Room Tip: ask for the newer section. the renovations are fantastic.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marielle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

To be honest, we were a little bit disappointed with the hotel, but I think this was because we had read such superb reviews about it and, therefore, had extremely high expectations of it. We thought it was very nice, but just a bit old fashioned and dated.

We had a nice, large room and equally large en suite. The towels and linen were good quality. Everything was spotlessly clean. We had a good size balcony with sea view. The bed was very comfortable. There was some noise from people dragging the balcony furniture over the tiled floor above.

All the staff were friendly and helpful.

There was an excellent buffet breakfast and the chef made the most delicious omelettes on request. The buffet at dinner was superb, with a colossal selection to choose from.

The hotel is isolated but does operate a courtesy shuttle into Taormina which runs at set times. This has to be pre-booked at reception. If you are having dinner at the hotel, then the earliest you will be able to take the shuttle into town is 9.30 pm. The journey takes a good 15 minutes. The last journey back to the hotel is at 10.45 pm so you only get an hour in town, which was a bit disappointing.

We were also a bit disappointed in Taormina itself. Again, probably because we had extremely high expectations of it. It was by far the most touristy place we visited. I think a number of cruise ships had disgorged thousands of passengers who had all taken a trip to Taormina; perhaps it is much better on days when no cruises visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room without a balcony above it
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B&PTynemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This is a lovely hotel, and one that will stay in your memory for the amazing views, the food, the incredible kindness of the staff. We had a wonderful stay at Baia Taormina, the rooms are clean, the food varied, plenty and delicious, the views are simply amazing and the staff will do anything to make you feel at ease and happy. The beach is well served and the little restaurant on the beach, although not part of the hotel, serves amazing food.
All in all, this felt like a special place, and we will be back!

Room Tip: Family suites have amazing views
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luciag525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Relaxing, well located, beautiful surroundings, incredibly helpful and kind staff, good grub and a lovely pool (very deep, hence constantly cool).

The Baia is not a pristine, modern hotel, but a welcoming, rustic building with a few bumps and dents here and there. It's set on a wonderful rocky hillside, surrounded by flowers, trees, crickets and the blue, blue sea. There's a certain "chilled" feeling to the place; that relaxation you feel in your bones...which is so often missing in more contemporary hotels. The staff is truly wonderful - courteous yet friendly, hard-working and so very helpful. There are excellent shuttle connections to Taormina and the beach, a lovely evening piano bar in a rustic internal courtyard, a decent breakfast and clean rooms.

Try the Baia's dinner buffet, especially the fish. Be sure to dine at La Campusa in Giardini Naxos (magnificent setting - avoid the pizza, but indulge in fish). Visit the small town of Letojanni, and try the granita at the ice cream shop in the main piazza (forgot the name, but it's just under the church, and has a green logo). Taormina is great, of course...stroll around aimlessly, but make sure you try the pizza at da Christina, and the Sicilian sweets at Roberto.

We'll be back!

Alex & Emma - room 2406

Room Tip: Try asking for room options when booking. Some rooms have better views, terraces.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ghaliks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Hotel Baia Taormina is a nice hotel in Forza D'Agrò, very close to Taormina.
The hotel is in a very quiet location where you can find relax staying in the swimming pool or in the wellness center. If you want to go to the sea there is a bus with which you can reach a private beach where you can get tanned on the beach chairs and where there is an excellent local restaurant where you can taste typical dishes of fresh fish. Moreover the hotel offers also a bus service to go to Taormina. The service of the hotel is very good and the reception is very friendly.
Maybe, the only problem is the internet service, but if you don't need necessarily during your holiday, never mind.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DoctorHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forza d'Agro
5.1 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#15 of 87 in Taormina
1,183 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crystal Sea
Crystal Sea
#3 of 4 in Forza d'Agro
232 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Hilton Giardini Naxos
Hilton Giardini Naxos
#4 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
1,549 reviews
4.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Atlantis Bay
Grand Hotel Atlantis Bay
#32 of 87 in Taormina
153 reviews
5.2 mi away
Eurostars Monte Tauro
Eurostars Monte Tauro
#25 of 87 in Taormina
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baia Taormina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baia Taormina

Address: Via Nazionale Km 39.00, 98030 Forza d'Agro, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Forza d'Agro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Forza d'Agro
Price Range: $119 - $647 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Baia Taormina 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms of Baia Taormina have a balcony or a terrace with superb views on the sea and overlooking the incomparable bay from Taormina to Giardini Naxos. Internet Wi-Fi connection is free of charge and guests can reach Taormina in 10 minutes with a private and free shuttle granted by the hotel. Two swimming pools are available for all guests and one of them is filled with natural sea water. The hotel has two restaurants with breathtaking views and offering either traditional Sicilian and international food. It is also possible to book beauty treatments or massages through the Exclusive Spa Centre of the hotel. Other amenities include a bar and pool bar, 24-hour Reception and one meeting room with audiovisual equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baia Taormina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baia Taormina-Grand Palace Hotel And Spa
Baia Taormina-Grand Palace Hotel Santa Teresa Di Riva
Baia Taormina Italy/Sicily - Province Of Messina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing