We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Baia Taormina
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Agostiniana(Forza d'Agro)
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$124
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Elihotel(Sant' Alessio Siculo)
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Pagano(Sant' Alessio Siculo)
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotel Donna Rosa(Sant' Alessio Siculo)
$63
$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel La Grotta(Sant' Alessio Siculo)(Great Value!)
$43
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Solemar(Sant' Alessio Siculo)(Great Value!)
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Kennedy(Sant' Alessio Siculo)
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crystal Sea(Forza d'Agro)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (871)
Filter reviews
871 results
Traveler rating
386
274
123
59
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
386
274
123
59
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshuttle busgrand palaceprivate beachspaghettisea viewevery nightsalt waterbuffet styleshuttle servicefishlovely hotelantipastibeautiful locationriviera travelthe cliffdinner buffetminute drive
Filter
Updating list...
224 - 229 of 871 reviews
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I first posted this review last summer the week we stayed there. However, it seems some of my content did not meet guidelines and so I have rewritten parts to report it......At the time I had never wrtten a review before but on this occasion feel compelled to do so. This is NOT a 4 Star hotel. It is a 2 star if you stay in the old rooms and a 3 star if you stay in the new rooms. It has all the potential but it is very obvious that the owners are running this hotel to maximize profit at the expense of customer satifaction. If you are used to good quality hotels you will be very disappointed with this one. If you are used to European package holiday hotels then the location and scenery of this one plus the "all you can eat" buffets will probably be enough to keep you happy. BIG WARNING ....DO NOT STAY IN THE CLASSIC OR SUPERIOR ROOMS ...they are in the old part of the hotel and have been badly neglected. The hotel is only 12 years old but the original parts look like they are 20 or more years old. Your warning signs are right at the entrance with the dirty and worn floor mat.

However, I will give a big credit and praise to the reception staff...especially Tina....they must be very used to dealing with customer problems as they were very sympathetic and did everything they could to make us as happy as they could. Other staff are different however....comments on them are

1) the housekeeping staff must either be badly trained or they don't care. The bathroom showers/baths are poorly cleaned as is evident from the mold. Also things that are missing or broken or have run out don't get dealt with.
2) the maintenance staff certainly don't do their job as it evidenced by the state of many things around the hotel. Very noticible is the dirt in the grouting of the lower saltwater pool....not sure when and how often they clean it but you can judge for yourself.
3) the guy who serves coffee at breakfast is just plain rude and scary. He brought us coffee but no milk and when I politely asked for some milk I got a stream of abuse about him having to go backwards and forwards to the kitchen twice. Needless to say, I did not dare bother him again!!!
4) the food and beverage manager obviously has not listened to any of the negative feedback in previous reviews. Breakfast and dinner are as some prior reviews have described them....breakfast is very bland and never changes. The bacon is completely inedible and hardly even cooked. Given the beautiful fruit available in Sicily, the fruit the hotel offers is a disgrace...some of it canned !. The same for the meats and cheese....poor quality packaged goods.
5) Dinner is NOT WORTH doing more than once. It is a similar buffet every night and given the pride Sicily takes in its food the hotel needs to hide in shame. It is far better value to go into Taormina and eat.....especially if you have kids as the hotel charges the same price for adults and kids. In all our time in Sicily the most expensive nights dinner for the family was at this hotel.
6) the shuttle driver likes to drive with one hand and chat to his friends on his cell phone ....never mind the twisty road and 15 passengers (but he is cheerful!!). Also there is only ever 1 shuttle running even though they have 2 vans. For a hotel with a capacity of maybe 200 it is crazy to think only 15 people every hour can get a shuttle into Taormina...especially in the evening .....be sure to book your shuttle ride for every night as soon as you check in.
7) the evening entertainment is the same guy every night and he thinks he can sing ...which he definitly cannot. Also the bar is completely dead in the evening ....far better to be in Taormina!!
8) the swimming pool guy will get very upset if you try to take more than 1 towel....I think he has a daily budget for how many can be handed out.....even if they are very well used and not exactly luxury towels!!

All the signs are that this is a venture to maximise profit..... poor quality food, very few dining room staff (hence the buffet style eating and no one to collect your used plates), only one shuttle driver, limited maintenance staff etc. The revenue manager who has responded to prior reviews may be passing the comments on to the owners and other managers in the hotel but it is obvious no one is listening.... I don't think they care if people don't come back as they appear to get enough package tourists to keep them busy and make a good profit. I am amazed the reception staff have not been hired by one of the top hotels in Taormina as they are quality staff that is where they belong

Be warned.....this is a cheap hotel by Taormina standards but be sure you know what your expectations should be before you go.

Room Tip: DON'T stay in the old part of the hotel
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank onionpaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioMiano, Revenue Manager at Baia Taormina, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Dear Guests from Bermuda,

thank you for sharing your feedback with other travellers.
I remeber when you first posted your review since I promptly asked Tripadvisor to put it away:
We do appreciate all points of view but we do not accept unpolite words like the ones contained in your former review.
Though your feedback does not meet the majority of comments, we take it into great consideration and we are sad that the hotel did not meet your expectations apart from the Reception Staff which I agree with you, is "over the top".
You also say "I may be passing these comments to other managers" so let me respond that all of us read the reviews, I am simply the person who responds after discussing the feedback.
I take this opportunity to ivite you to contact me directly (booking@baiataormina.com) since I would like to discuss some of the points and invite you to give us another chance.
We are sure that you will experience Baia Taormina in a different way.
This year we are improving many things and just as an example I invite you to discover our new website which should be ready in less than one month.
You say that we want to save money so let me suggest you to have a look at this new website which has been done investing a lot.
We do want the best for our customers, our reputation and all people working with us.
I hope you will come back to me and take this opportunity to send my

kindest regards, Mario Miano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Me & my husband stayed at the Baia Taormina last week of September. We had a fabulous week. Room was fine and balcony overlooked stunning views of sea and mountains. We stayed on 4th floor but 6th floor we heard has the best of the views although couldnt complain with ours. We werent half board but had couple of dinners at the hotel. Food was excellent with plenty of choice of salads, then fresh pastas and meat and fish on the barbecue all to a high standard. The second evening we ate there was outside as such warm temperatures and preferable as who wants to sit inside to eat when on holiday in Italy! We also had the buffet lunch a couple of times which was excellent. Regular shuttle bus to Taormina and to the beach which was essential with no car and dangerous road. About 20 mins to Taormina which we went to most evenings. Recommend the Greek Amphitheatre with stunning views. Fabulous choice of restaurants in Taormina and lovely to have your aperitif in the square before dinner. Took the shuttle bus to the beach which is 5 mins up the road on three occasions. Sea so clear and lovely little restaurant. Had the local fish dishes caught that day for lunches and nice rose wine. Two pools at hotel were excellent and wonderful views. Staff at reception very helpful and would like to give a particular mention to Carmen who was extremely helpful and pleasant with any question we had. Thank you to Carmen.
Overall an excellent holiday and would definitely think about coming back to Baia Taormina.
Thanks for a very enjoyable holiday. Julia & James Chandler

Room Tip: 6th floor room recommended as stunning views
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank julia190737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioMiano, Revenue Manager at Baia Taormina, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Guests from Bedford,

we thank you for choosing Baia Taormina and for taking the time to give us your feedback, it is very important for us.
You review is very detailed and we are sure other guests can read it carefully in order to decide to stay in our hotel.
A big thank you from Carmen and from all our staff: all of us are looking forward to welcoming you back again in Sicily.

best regards, Mario Miano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed here with Titan Tours. We were very pleased with our room which had great sea views from our balcony. This had a table, four chairs and two sunbeds.
The room was very good with an enormous bed and a large modern TV. The only drawback to this sixth floor room was that it required two lifts and a flight of stairs (or third lift) plus 50 yards or so of walking. The journey took 6 to 7 minutes and it was easy to get lost on the first few trips. Luggage porterage was a boon!
Staff were very friendly and helpful, there was a good choice at breakfast and the coffeee was good. Evening meal was a buffet with a very good selection of antipasti and some excellent desserts. The pasta was a bit disappointing, only a small selelction plus one special which changed each evening, The main course was meat or fish from a barbecue which was OK. Some time was spent queueing for the pasta and main courses and we are not fans of buffet style meals anyway (except on Britanny Ferries!).
There was also a nice smallish outdoor pool with a non-slip surround (unlike another hotel on this trip).
The hotel had a nice bar with a pianist in the evening.
All in all, we would be happy to stay there again. As this was part of a tour I cannot comment on the value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Johnboy99_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioMiano, Revenue Manager at Baia Taormina, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Guests from Playmouth,

we would like to thank you for giving us a good feedback about your stay with us, we did appreciate it!
We have forwarded your comment about pasta to our Food & Beverage Manager and we will be more careful in the future regarding this.
As you mention, we would be glad if you had the opportunity to visit our hotel again and in the meantime we send our

kindest regards, Mario Miano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This hotel was one of the hotels that Riveira Travel usewd on our recent trip to Sicily. The room was excellent with a large balcony overlooking the sea. Shower over the bath, not ideal but acceptable but only a small glass screen thus allowing water to splash on to the floor making it very slippery. We stayed in the Grand Palace Rooms and described as a Junior Suite. On the Balcony one chair had the cushion missing and we had a third sun bed but no cushions. There were tea making facilities in the room but no coffee which was provided if requested and milk had to be collected from the Bar. Air Conditioning quite noisy but did not affect our sleep. There was a fridge in the room to keep the milk cool The room was quite a distance from the Reception and Dining/Bar areas, we had to use three lifts and a walk between each lift one walk being in the open air but luckily it did not rain when we used it. In the Dining Room, we were on half board and the food was good but apart from the Pasta and the Barbeque Main Course, both cooked while you watched the potatoes and supposedly hot anti-pasta dishes were quite cool. On our last evening rain prevented the Barbeque being used and the main courses we set out agaain they were quite cool. The hotel neeeds to have heaters under the covered service trays. Apart from this the hotel was of a high standard and we would stay there again but one has to remember to bring all things needed for the day to avaoid having to return to the room!

Room Tip: Unless you want a room with a good view of the sea and at a high level and do not mind the long walk to the room from the Reception ask for a room on a lowere floor. Personally I enjoyed the room at the high level but did remember to bring everything we wanted for the day to avoid returning to the room un-necessarily. I aid that the Location was poor this is because if you were staying alonbe you would be dependent on the Hotel's Shuttle Bus to go to the Beach or into Taormina. We did not use the Spa.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Abogail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioMiano, Revenue Manager at Baia Taormina, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Guest Abogail,

thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us.
We are glad of your positive review and plese note we are very thankful for suggestions about heaters.
We look forward to welcoming you back again at Baia Taormina and send our

best regards, Mario Miano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

After 3 nights in Hotel Kaos we spent 4 nights here.The Hotel was in better shape with 3 nights' dinners in an open terrace the highlight.Both the plentiful food and the ambience were enjoyable.Service again came with a smile and the bedroom brought no complaint, although the tiny old fashioned tv was a surprise after the large modern set in the Kaos.The busy itinerary left little time to enjoy the 2 swimming pools and their super view.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank greebo54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioMiano, Revenue Manager at Baia Taormina, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Guests from Riviera Travel,

I am delighted to hear you had a great experience at Baia Taormina and that you found the hotel beautiful.
We strive to provide excellence to all our Guests and I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your room and your stay.
As remarked in other replies, we are changing the old fashion tvs in those rooms were they have not been changed yet.

best regards, Mario Miano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews