We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (935)
Filter reviews
935 results
Traveler rating
407
296
134
65
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
407
296
134
65
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbaia taorminashuttle busgrand palaceprivate beachomelettesea viewspaghettievery nightsalt waterbuffet styleshuttle servicefishthe cliffantipastibeautiful locationriviera travellovely hotel
Filter
Updating list...
278 - 283 of 935 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2011

We travelled with 8 people in our group. This hotel is not really close to anything else such as villages etc. but there is a hotel van that will take you in. The van will also take you to the beach which is about 3 minutes away. Views from the hotel are breathtaking. The pool closes very early, like 4 pm which we thought was odd.
Rooms were clean. The pricing was amazing.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioMiano, Revenue Manager at Hotel Baia Taormina, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2011

Dear Guests from New York,

thank you for the preference accorded towards Baia Taormina and for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor.
We are happy that you have appreciated our hotel and its superb views.
We are not sure which misunderstanding has happened for the pool hours since we never close the pools before 6PM and not 4PM as you say (unless the weather is bad).
For us it would be an honour to host you at Baia Taormina once again and we take this opportunity to send our

best regards, Mario Miano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

not a real 4 star, not in Taormina, but after letojani = 15-20 min with the Hotel car !
so you must follow the hotel planning each day ! for going to beach or Taormina city !!
it's impossible to walk ! there aren't road for walking, just a highway.

the view is beautifull, and the swimming pool very good.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xsurfrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioMiano, Revenue Manager at Hotel Baia Taormina, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2011

Dear Guests from Bruxelles,

thank you for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor.
We are quite surprised of your comment since with the technology at our disposal in 2011 it seems you have chosen our hotel but you were not aware that we are located 10 minutes far from Taormina.
If you look at the reviews on Tripadvisor you will realize that the concept of Baia Taormina is about spending time in relax, enjoying the magic of the sea and nature.
This is not the same thing of staying in the centre of a town.
We have the advantage of being so close to such a celebrated place as Taormina and therefore you can enjoy both things when staying with us.
We are happy that you have at least appreciated the views and the pools and this clearly remarks what I explained above.
We are at your disposal and send our

best regards, Mario Miano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

6 nights spent at the Baia Taormina. Decent hotel, which has character in terms of its location (nestled in the hills) and general decor (Grand Palace). 2 sides to the hotel - we stayed in the junior suite in the Grand Palace (newer). Spacious room, modern amenities, private balcony with amazing views. In contrast, I accept to a degree what the other reviews say about breakfast and the condition of the older / classic part of the hotel. Both needs some form of investment. The distance from the centre of Taormina can pose a nuisance for some people, but we enjoyed the balance of having seculsion, knowing that the town was only 10 mins away by mini bus. The hotel also has access to a private beach, which serves its purpose. Real positives: staff, particularly the front desk (Tina).

Room Tip: Grand Palace - slightly more expensive I believe, but well worth it.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Miahma55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioMiano, Revenue Manager at Hotel Baia Taormina, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2011

Dear Guests from Surrey,

thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us and for choosing Baia Taormina.
I am very thrilled to hear your kind comments about your stay, in particular that you appreciated the exclusive Grand Palace Wing where our deluxe rooms and junior suites are located.
Also thank you for the comments about breakfast and classic part, we are already facing some changes for the next months since we take in great consideration feedback like these.
A big thank you from Tina who is already becoming a real star in our hotel according to the comments we keep on receiving about her.
I am looking forward to welcoming you back soon at Baia Taormina,

Best regards, Mario Miano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

I totally agree with other reviewers about the bar/restaurant facilities at this hotel. The breakfasts were so mundane. The scrambled eggs (grey) and bacon were revolting so that ruled them out. Every day, no variation, there is a choice of two types of bread, ciabatta or brown with the usual packaged sliced cheese, ham or packaged conserves. Oh yes there were some croissants which are quite nice but only sweet ones rather than any plain ones. The "fruit juice", yuk was like drinking sweet Kiora, so we had to settle for water and then finally, when you could find a waiter (although they were always very friendly when you did) some coffee. Sometimes if you got in early there was some fruit, dried up apples, pears and once even some water melon! Maybe I am just incredibly fussy.

In the evening when oh holiday we normally enjoy a cocktail before dinner, great, if you are able to find a barman. We like to pay cash for our cocktails, BIG MISTAKE, having waited 10 mins for the barman to appear when he finally decided to take our order and we told him we wanted to pay cash he was so rude. Normally crisps and peanuts were served with the cocktails, but not this time, our drinks were slammed down in front of us as he walked away muttering "cash, cash"!! We only made one more attempt at the bar after that and only because we spotted that the nice barman was on duty (he had no problem with 'cash'). We took the shuttle bus and had some wonderful cocktails in Taormina.

Dinner is buffet only with a slight variation every evening - we were staying for 14 nights so no way did we want that every night, especially as we were in Italy, therefore we had no choice but to go out which is a shame as some evenings it would have been nice just to have been able to relax and eat in a decent hotel restaurant (with a proper a la carte menu) rather than having to traipse into Taormina on the shuttle bus. One night we decided to venture out to a lovely little local village however, beware, although it was only 10 mins drive from the hotel we had to pay 25 Euros each way as the taxi charged us from Taormina - so including dinner the evening cost us 130 Euros.

Pools were OK, although often had either a dead fly or wasp in them. Pool man very kind and friendly though.

We were located in the new 'Grand Palace' so our room was fine and clean with a lovely view although horrible beds and it took me a while to get used to the scratchy sheets. Air conditioning worked but was not great.

Perhaps I have been spoilt having stayed in some wonderful hotels throughout my travels. Sorry Baia Taormina, if I go back to Taormina (which is beautiful, and we got some great handmade sandals) but I would not stay with you again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 207GPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioMiano, Revenue Manager at Hotel Baia Taormina, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2011

Dear Guests from London,

thank you for your review which I have read and read again for many times since there is something that leaves me quite counfounded.
It's really strange when you mention that "you have been spoilt having stayed in some wonderful hotels" since this seems to be the first review you write on Tripadvisor.
And it seems that you have a gift in your pen according to the detailed review of our hotel.
Very funny that this pen has never written before about other hotels.
Moreover, what surprises me more is the fact that you give us three stars even if there is nothing about Baia Taormina which really and totally encountered your expectations.
Should I have had an experience like the one you tell, I would give a maximum of two stars.
Nonethless, rest assured we value your feedback even if does not meet the average standard of most of the comments.
I am at your disposal and send my best regards, Mario Miano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

was expecting a stupendous hotel with super facilities, got a slightly better then good hotel. no tea and coffee in the rooms and not available from reception,only at snack bars at the pool. beach involved a 10 minute trip on the shuttle minibus. no tv room. tv in rooms very poor, few channels and those were not tuned properly. our blind was stuck and the curtain hanging from the rail. we think our room was originally a suite as there was a connecting door, but it didn't fit and light showed beneath. soundproofing awful, we could hear every word the couple next door said. food was excellent, with great choice. prices for drinks very high, no ice cream available.

Room Tip: don't pick a room that was a suite
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fiorentina56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioMiano, Revenue Manager at Hotel Baia Taormina, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2011

Dear Guest from Livingston,

let me thank you for having spent part of your precious time writing a review of Baia Taormina on Tripadvisor.
Comments like yours are highly valued in our hotel since you have either given high value with your four stars rating and in the same time you point out some things that could be improved.
For example we have already received a lot of feedback about tv in some rooms and as already indicated in other replies of mine, we are going to change this for next season.
I have also forwarded the other comments to our General Manager.
Finally a big thank you from our Restaurant Staff who is very glad that the food has been so much appreciated.
It would be a pleasure welcoming you again at Baia Taormina and in the meantime I send my

best regards, Mario Miano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews