We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (235)
Filter reviews
235 results
Traveler rating
114
98
17
2
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
114
98
17
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews whale sharks eco tour short walk nice pool pool access comfortable hammocks internet connection hotel is perfect a great place to relax water pressure is mayon volcano watch the sunset firefly tour pocket wifi bring cash restaurant area restaurant serves
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 235 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2017

Small but nice bungalow style rooms in a tropical garden. Clean swimming pool. Restaurant with very good food and reasonably fast service. The beach is facing westwards and you can enjoy amazing sunset. The resort is in a quiet location at walking distance from the whale shark center. To go to the village of Donsol, some transportation, easily arranged at the reception, is needed. There is no wifi in the rooms, you have to go to the restaurant for a slow internet access. Very friendly and helpful staff.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank faber45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2017

Stayed three nights here recently with my wife and loved it. Great location - easily walkable to the Whale Shark Interaction Center and downtown. Superb staff that is always willing to help with bookings and travel arrangements. And the layout of the rooms around the central pool is ideal. We ate in the restaurant every day and loved the little bungalows along the ocean. Great place to view sunset too.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2017

We travelled here as a family of 4 to see the whale sharks on 1 April 2017 and stayed 3 nights. Looking back at all of the hotels we stayed at in the Philippines Elysia was the best vale for money, had great customer service, was really clean and comfortable and had well priced food and drinks with a fab view. After walking past the other hotels Elysia is absolutely the best one in Donsol.

They welcommed us with an arrival drink, showed us to our rooms which overlooked the pool. Then we had cocktails and lunch and someone came over and talked to us about tours. It was not a hard sell just shared the information we wanted. Donsol and Elysia is pretty quiet and the hotel only has one place to eat but that really doesn't matter as you are doing tours all day and happy to stay in at night. I told the hotel is was my parents 25th wedding anniversary and they had a special table with flowers ready for us. Laundry was also really cheap and came back the same day.
I would strongly recommend at least 3 nights here to see the whale sharks, scuba dive and absolutely do the motor bike and cave tour, it was a special treat! 10/10

Room tip: all the rooms are pool view...
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emmaaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2017 via mobile

We stayed there 3 nights and it was just great. Beautiful place, small quiet resort, kind crew and great food in the restaurant. The best resort in Donsol in our opinion. Moreover you can arrange all kind of activities from there.

Date of stay: April 2017
Thank GabriCapToxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2017 via mobile

Small basic hotel not far from the whale shark intervention centre.

Room consisted of one double and one single. Shower wasn't particularly hot but who wants a hot shower after a day on the beach??? Also had a TV and fridge which was a bonus. Only thing lacking was a smoke alarm and that's why I took one star off. Even in this day and age surely smoke alarms are compulsory, especially with thatched roofs and wooden furniture. Smoke IS the biggest killer, not fire! Appreciate the evacuation plans in the room stating where the fire alarms and estinguishers were located but that really isn't enough - made me feel uneasy for the whole 4 nights....

Restaurant was great - didn't have a bad meal. Bicol express was yum. Frozen strawberry daiquiris were just lovely and everything was reasonable priced.

Staff need to be more aware that there are rooms right next to the restaurant and despite the fact they start work at 6am it doesn't mean everyone wants to be woken up at the same time by their chattering!!!

All in all a lovely resort - would deffo go back

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank Hufflepuff33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews