We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place to stay in Donsol”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Elysia Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Donsol
Sydney
Level Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay in Donsol”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

This hotel is perfect for our stay in Donsol, accommodation is basic and clean, the staff are ever so helpful with all our requests, the food here is really good too! They have little huts just next to the beach where we hung out and sip our frozen ice tea. all in all, perfect place to spend our holidays. Being able to swim next to whale shark is a massive bonus!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ynjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    92
    14
    1
    2
See reviews for
37
102
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Everything was perfect about this resort from the staff to the food and beach view. The four of us had 2 rooms where we stayed for 4 nights. The front desk staff always wore a smile and were very friendly. Our sole purpose for this trip was to spot and swim with whale sharks which we did! The front desk has a daily whale shark count for the past 2 weeks so we can gauge our luck. The food at the restaurant was delicious and you can order food or drinks by the beach front huts as well. The frozen lemon tea was the favourite drink along with the yummy margaritas. The rooms are basic but clean and the air conditioners worked well. The resort has less than 20 rooms all located around the pool which makes it convenient to find our friends. The staff were always courteous and asked about how our day went. I would love to go back in a heart beat!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FF14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aix-en-Provence, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my partner last December and I booked our room online by emailing the resort as they didnt have the click and book option on their website. The resort also arranged for the tours and airport transfers and i paid everything thru their paypal account which was very convenient as i was outside the country. The road to the resort was a little rough but once we arrived, we were greeted by friendly staffs who gave us welcome drinks and assisted us to our room. It is a small resort with more or less 10 rooms surrounding a pool and just a few steps away from the beach. It was pretty quite and relaxing there. Our room was clean and adequate and had a window facing the ocean. There were not much guests as it was not the peak season for whale shark watching, the main attraction of the area. There was just us, the singaporean family and the spanish couple. The resort has one restaurant which doesnt really have much to offer and a lil bit pricey but the food was good. The staff there too was awesome and helpful. It was my partners bday the following day and i asked them if they can arrange something special for this occasion. They prepared a cake made out of pancakes and whipped cream and sprinkles and even sang to my partner which was really nice. Also, at this point, the other guests have already checked out and we had the entire resort all to ourselves. It was nice but can be creepy, especially because the staff also leaves at around 10pm and there is only the security guard left with us in the resort. Another down side in the evening at the resort is that water in the bathroom is turned off or disconnected for a certain time until the morning. Overall though, the resort is nice and homey and the staff was always smiling and ready to serve. If i had to stay again in the area, id definitely go back to this resort.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ralph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzon, Philippines
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

My hardworking wife decided that we should take advantage of our first anniversary to get away and spend some quality time together. I was peripherally involved in the planning of this, although my input was limited to answering questions about what sort of place I wanted to go and what I wanted to do when we got there.
I have to confess that the drive all the way from Santa Rosa to Donsol was quite tiring, but I would do it again since the welcome we received upon arrival made up for the tired and aching back and shoulders. The front of house is a simple desk fronting the car park, but this means that no guests are missed even if arriving in the dark. We were checked in most efficiently and shown to our room, which was a simple affair comprising a large bed in a simply decorated room and a bathroom, but this was more than adequate for our needs.
The hotel is set a few metres back from the beach, with a small expanse of grass separating the hotel from the beach proper, this has a few chairs and hammocks for the guests to use. The rooms themselves are arranged in an open rectangle around the pool, the open side being the sea view, elegantly simple, no fuss.
We met the restaurant staff on the night of our arrival, all were most excellent and attentive to our desires, the food is good, I would recommend the Bicol Express, nice and spicy. Throughout our stay everyone was friendly and helpful, arranging our whale shark trip and my scuba diving through the hotel's associated dive and tour shop, which is located a short walk back towards town.
We only saw the one whale shark, despite there having been 9 sightings the day before, but this is the luck of the draw, I was happy that I got to see one, so was Kat. I also managed 3 dives the next day and so left a very happy person.

Room Tip: The rooms all seem to be very similar, there is no real advantage in any one or another. Furniture i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garybyrne69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Went for the Whale Sharks, too late in he season so only saw one but that's better than none. Rooms were very good, clean and comfy, but the staff are what makes this place great. The Manager Janice is fantastic, others were Edna, Dexter, Lilibeth, etc, all were awesome. I have not met better staff anywhere than these guys, they make your stay like being with family.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

staff is very accomodating among the resorts along the area we choose this one definitely classy. Simple and elegant i love the rooms the hammocks along the beach the huts. the staff is accomodating all smiles food was great bicol express,pasta,shrimps we did make a dip in the pool and walked along the beach, lovely stay.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lyne I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

We had a pleasant three stay at the resort with transport arranged through the resort from the airport.

The room was very basic, almost bare actually but clean. It had a nice flat screen tv, air con and a fridge. I would suggest some additional furniture, even a chair perhaps. There was only a rail to hang clothing.

The area around the pool was nice and clean, although i did feel the pool and water itself looked quite grubby.The wooden loungers while look nice really need some proper cushions, not leather pillows. The staff came around the afternoon with pineapple and biscuits which was a nice touch.

The food was ok. While the music in the restaurant was boring and repetitive (please liven it up!)the staff were certainly very friendly and attentive. However my biggest bugbear was the speed of service, in particular the breakfast service, you are looking at 40/45 min wait for food even when the restaurant wasn't busy. This needs to be improved on as people are visiting to see the whale sharks with which they need to be at the centre for 7/7:15 and the restaurant opens at 6am! Also more variety on the breakfast menu please.

The resort were efficient and organised transport for us, It is a little pricey at 2000P each way especially when other guests informed us they'd secured a taxi outside the airport for 1300. The only plus side is it's a big people carrier so if they are more than four in your group with luggage it might be worthwhile then. Also it might be worth enquiring with other guests if they are travelling to airport etc and if they wished to share the journey. While we were there the resort were organising three taxis, all at 2k each for three groups all catching the same flight!

More information about other tours etc in the area might be useful. We made an enquiry about the ATV trip to Mayon but the lady on reception was unable to tell us anything, very disappointing.

Something we noticed about donsol is that they seem to offer you the opportunity for "private" trips all the time! While that may be ideal for some we like the idea of sharing for both cost saving and meeting others. We were unable to go island hopping and also the enquiry about the ATV tour also looked like it would have been a private trip too. Just worth noting if you're planning to do these trips and you want to share as in our case they wasn't other groups or so we were told on that day or bring enough cash to do all these trips privately!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank imsoanirishgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donsol
61.0 mi away
Tugawe Cove Resort
Tugawe Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Caramoan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
2.0 mi away
Giddy's Place PADI Dive Resort
31.6 mi away
Hotel Fina
Hotel Fina
#1 of 2 in Tabaco City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
The Oriental Legazpi
The Oriental Legazpi
#2 of 13 in Legazpi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
30.5 mi away
Siama Hotel
Siama Hotel
#1 of 4 in Sorsogon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
55.1 mi away
The Avenue Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elysia Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elysia Beach Resort

Property: Elysia Beach Resort
Address: Pangpang, Donsol, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Bicol Region > Camarines Sur Province > Donsol
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Donsol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Elysia Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elysia Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing