We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely relaxed hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elysia Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Donsol
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A lovely relaxed hotel”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed here as part of a quick tour with Donsol Eco Tours. We couldnt be happier, the staff were amazing, helpful and nothing was too much trouble - even going to organise a honeymoon dinner for us when they found out.

The rooms are simple but serve the purpose well. The restaurant is fine and has some great dishes. The rooms overlook the pool which is again great.

The only thing would that would have made it better would have been to see Whale Sharks...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    91
    14
    1
    2
See reviews for
35
100
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manila
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

we went first week of November, the property was wonderful, the hammock, the pool and cabana type sitting outside made our day. Staff took good care of us, upgraded our room too. the food was generally average, but no complain.

We went at the very start of the season and practically the only guest not only for the resort but the entire beach. so some of the suggested food places etc were not even open. bit spooky at night though being the only tourist in the resort, but slept reasonably well for the first night. The Bed was good, the toilet was average, low water pressure; loved the window sitting while reading, enjoying the view. Would have stayed 1 or 2 more nights, if we were not the only guest at that time.

The beach is long but rocky/dead corals and not too fun to swim. But it was a good walk and few nice photographs, good part then was we practically had the entire stretch for ourselves and the few local fishermen. No whale shark, but we were not expecting them either, we went there just for a beach outing only.

overall was refreshing and rejuvenating stay, would go back, probably not at the peak season but not when alone either :-)

Room Tip: ask for the room by the beach side
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IT-biz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Beautifully maintained. Gorgeous pool. Five minute walk to whale shark visitor center/pier. Excellent service. Nice sunset and beach. Good value for the money.

Rooms could use more furnishings (tables, chairs, hangers). Food is average, but reasonably priced and convenient. Recommend taking a tricycle into town to Giddy's place for Bicol espres and Laing at dinner.

Donsol is a sleepy village with few quality places to stay, though they are frantically building more. I must have seen 5 new resorts being built during my stay. Overall the Elysia Beach Resort is the best.

BTW, if you want to see the whale sharks, make sure to go during peak season (March-May). They are few or none during the rest of the season, including my Nov visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rick_HSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

The only reason one would stay in Elysia is to dive with whale sharks. Whale sharks are in Donsol between November and May. We stayed in June, and the place was all but deserted (restaurant was closed, transport from the resort was hard to find). Not the staff's fault, as we were the only guests there. It also was too cold and windy to really do anything (June is the rainy season). To add to the off-peak disaster, a hurricane happened off the coast some 2 weeks prior to us getting to Donsol, so the beach was covered in debris.

Unless you're going to stay in Donsol during the dry season/whale shark peak season, stay in Legaspi instead.

Room Tip: One standard room holds one double bed, so it may be best to book a room per person or per couple. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mr_Pantalones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We went here for an overnight stay - just a weekend getaway. The hotel is clean, cozy and with simple amenities. The manager is friendly and approachable. Since we visited here during the off peak season, the hotel was sort of rented and reserved just for ourselves and two Korean female tourists. The pool is nice. A good place to relax, lay down in one of the hammocks facing the beach while watching the setting sun turn the sands to a golden shore. For me this is a good place for a quick break. Will try to visit this place again when the whalesharks are back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lakwatsera007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Stayed here last Jan 2012. Loved this resort. This is a great place to relax. Room was good with minimal amenities (no ref, no tv). I didn't mind though cause it was better to stay outside and appreciate nature. We were also very happy because we were able to swim with a whaleshark! :) This was definitely an unforgettable trip. My only complaint is the food. Just eat at Barracuda bar.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChaMarco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We were very happy with Elysia. The staff was very helpful and responsive with booking, the location is walking distance from where you go for the whale sharks, the rooms are simple but very clean, the resort is small but has lots of places to relax (hammocks, beds by the pool) and perhaps best of all, the food was probably the best I've had in the Philippines. We'll be back next year for sure.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CA_Travelers2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donsol
61.0 mi away
Tugawe Cove Resort
Tugawe Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Caramoan
188 reviews
31.6 mi away
Hotel Fina
Hotel Fina
#1 of 2 in Tabaco City
47 reviews
18.2 mi away
The Oriental Legazpi
The Oriental Legazpi
#5 of 13 in Legazpi
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Hotel St. Ellis
Hotel St. Ellis
#8 of 13 in Legazpi
157 reviews
30.5 mi away
Siama Hotel
Siama Hotel
#1 of 4 in Sorsogon
45 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vitton & Woodland Beach Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elysia Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elysia Beach Resort

Property: Elysia Beach Resort
Address: Pangpang, Donsol, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Bicol Region > Camarines Sur Province > Donsol
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Donsol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Elysia Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elysia Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing