We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy in the middle of nowhere”
Review of BARacuda

BARacuda
Ranked #1 of 11 Restaurants in Donsol
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Classy in the middle of nowhere”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Very friendly owner/manager! Try the catch of the day and trust their recommendations. Good drinks. Definitely more pricey than other restaurants around, but quality and service match.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jalanathon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    35
    10
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Simply Perfect!”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

The food is cooked simple but perfect!

I have never eaten any better in the Philippines. We came there every night because the Hotel Food was very poor!
In my Opinion it is excellent cooking, to grill prawns and fish to perfection with spices not covering the original taste.

The owner of that lovely restaurant speaks german as well :-) and I think she is just lovely!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lissi007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Little hidden treasure!”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Great atmosphere, good cocktails, nice music, amazing food and a restaurant owner that looks like a movie star. Absolutely loved the food there, try the prawns and the squid salad! This is an absolute must when in Donsol.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Value !!!”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Don't be put off by the entrance to this place. We had wonderful meal, seafoods were fresh, simple and perfectly cooked. Didnt expect their pasta to be very tasty as well. The owner Juliet was very friendly and entertaining. A real jewel in an apparent wilderness. Enjoyed this place so much.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kilen518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeju, South Korea
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Amazing food - best prawns in the Philippines!!”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed at Vitton (see review) and also wanted to eat somewhere else so stumbled down the beach and happened to wander into BARacuda. It didn't look like much from the beach side but we thought we'd check it out. The outgoing owner welcomed us in though it was empty at that stage. We had a couple of cocktails and were entertained by the hilarious cats playing. She explained the two starters (we had one of each - the 'melt-in-the-mouth squid salad did what she said and the sashimi was top quality). The delightful lady owner then showed us the day's fresh catch - I had the snapper and my partner had the prawns having been assured they were the best in the Phillipines - and they were (in our experience anyway). The place really filled up later so it's obviously very popular. It's not cheap but worth every penny. Get down early and watch sunset with a cocktail before dinner. Sublime.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jlw283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BARacuda also viewed

Donsol, Camarines Sur Province
Donsol, Camarines Sur Province
 
Legazpi, Albay Province
 

Been to BARacuda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing