We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swimming with Whale Sharks”

Donsol Whale Shark Interaction
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Donsol
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Japan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Swimming with Whale Sharks”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The whale sharks are really cool to swim with if you are comfortable in the water. Although there are rules about a certain number of boats or people swimming with the whale sharks, they are not followed. When someone spots a whale shark its a mad dash into the water - several dozen people will be scattered around trying to get a look, many of them unable to swim but floating in life jackets and being dragged around by a guide. If you are a decent swimmer, you can escape the floaters and swim along with the whale shark. Great experience, highly recommended to those comfortable in open water.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Meredith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    66
    37
    26
    18
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Whale Shark in May!”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We have gone for whale shark searching for 3 days and in total 9 hour searching. Finally on the 3rd day of searching, we saw one whale shark in 4-5 meter long just swim underneath. What an amazing experience!!!

Although you will not surely find a whale shark in Donsol and you might need to search for few times to interact with it, it will be worth when you find one. Most import thing is, you will feel great if you saw one in nature not petted.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fung A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parañaque, Rizal, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This, I will never forget.”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

After being dissuaded plenty of times due to the scarcity of sightings, I took my chances and left eveything up to God. Waited for about 2 hours before our BIO spotted one and I jumped right in! Never before have I been this awestruck! The encounter last May 7 was interesting enough, coincidental with the recent eruption of Mayon volcano.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank kcoronelmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancater U.K
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Amazing, but it's pot luck if you see them”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Make no mistake here, after 2 days and 5 hours on a boat, it was fustrating, we had lost all hope to see the sharks. Then our guide spotted 1, we geared up and jumped in. Then I turned around and there was a big Whale shark swimming towards me, WOW, amazing experience. Then later, another one, again, breathtaking.

Seeing whale sharks is pot luck, lot's of people do not see them, dont forget, you are in a large body of water and they are a wild animal. When 1 boat spot's a shark, all the other boats come over and it becomes to crowded. It's not to expensive for a tour, so it's worth a try. Donsol is a lovely place and relies on whale sharks and tourism. Maybe they should invest in a helicopter to spot the sharks. Overall a fantastic experience, long bus ride from Manila (12 hours)

The water is also quite murky and sharks are not always visible.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeLancaterU_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“whaleshark today”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

we saw an 8 metre butanding today. awesome experience to swim with one of these gentle giants. this was our fourth boat trip this week and it finally paid off. they had sightings yesterday evwryday this week but we seemed to miss them by a boat ride. today was our lucky day.

Helpful?
Thank Kristi_Turner
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Donsol Whale Shark Interaction also viewed

Donsol, Camarines Sur Province
Legazpi, Albay Province
 

Been to Donsol Whale Shark Interaction? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing