We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thornton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Welch Mountain Chalet Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Thornton B&B and Inns
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We only stayed for one night with John and Mary, but we wished we could've stayed longer! In a three week trip around the US, I don't think we were better looked after and fed. John met us on arrival, and pointed us in the right direction for dinner, as well as being happy to chat about the local area, which is rural and absolutely stunning, and about organic farming which we were very interested in (look for the chickens, you'll be enjoying their eggs!). We loved seeing the maple trees with taps in, and then having fresh maple syrup for our breakfast the next morning. Mary's cooking is to die for - we opted for the German apple pancake with sausage patties for breakfast, and didn't eat again for hours!!! The rooms are spacious and well-equipped, and it wasn't a problem for tea to be provided for us Brits! John's handmade bedstead is beautiful, and everything was clean and tidy. Thank you John and Mary for looking after us so well!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank serenaeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welchmountainchalet, Owner at Welch Mountain Chalet Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review. We appreciate it and hope to see you again sometime.

John and Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
17
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs, Utah
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We (my wife, I and our 16yo son) stayed at the Welch Mountain Chalet from 6/7/12 - 6/10/12. John and Mary are amazing hosts and yes they do serve the best breakfast in the world. We really enjoyed their hospitality. Breakfast is not set in stone. you decide and tell them what you'd like. Suggestion. Let them make suggestions and just go with it. They come up with some amazing things.

Beck (the large German shepherd) and the cats we're a joy as well. Even though my son is highly allergic to cats and dogs he had no issues with the (outside) animals and rather enjoyed them.

John is a wealth of knowledge and is a joy to talk to. Make sure you get your bonfire! That was enjoyable as well.

The setting is great and the house is charming. Clean, Very clean, did I say it was clean.
Our only complaint would be with the bed in the main suite. It was noisy when you rolled over at night. I informed John of this as he was unaware and I have not drought the moment we walked out of the door it was fixed. John is a Mr busy all the time and fix it kinda guy. He was grateful that we informed him of the bed issue and like i said I'm sure it's fixed by now!

We used the Chalet as a base of operation for all our White Mnts adventures. It served us well.

If your in the mood for a challenging be very rewording hike do the Welsh Dickey trail right by the Chalet. What a great adventure but Warning it's not an easy hike. It's part rock climbing and part hiking but well worth the effort.

WE WILL STAY AGAIN!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AruoraKode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welchmountainchalet, Owner at Welch Mountain Chalet Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. We appreciate it and hope to see you again sometime.

John and Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Level Contributor
104 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We stayed here over Mother's Day weekend and had a great time. John and Mary are gracious hosts who make you feel comfortable and at home in their lovely secluded chalet. The bedroom and bathroom are super-clean and well-appointed. John is an excellent chef and his breakfasts are superb and a great way to start a day of hiking, skiing, or whatever your adventure is. Everything is homemade, and his egg dishes (made with his chicken's fresh eggs) are the best ever. There is a lovely outdoor space with firepit and comfy adirondack chairs for relaxing when you get back from your travels. John also offers, bikes, canoes, fishing gear and other items to make your stay complete. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freedjum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welchmountainchalet, Owner at Welch Mountain Chalet Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Sorry for the delay in our response. Thank you so much for the kind review.

John and Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayland, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed March 16, 2012

My son and I went skiing at Waterville Valley. I stayed at Welch Mtn while my son stayed with friends. The owners were very welcoming and accommodating. The rooms are separated from the living space which makes it very private and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and brought downstairs to enjoy in your room or living area. I would stay here again and highly suggest this B&B. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OntheGoAgain010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welchmountainchalet, Owner at Welch Mountain Chalet Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Sorry for the delay but thank you for the kind review. We appreciate it.

John and Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

My family went skiing this winter to Waterville and we stayed at this B&B. The owners do a great job maintaining the place and provide an awesome breakfast in the morning - which the owners bring all the way to the door of the room. The room is really a suite with a private bath (with radiant heated floors) . They have thought of little but important things while setting up the room. Everything was clean and the hosts were very welcoming, friendly. We approached them for suggestions for dinner and lunch places and they gave us great recommendations.
I highly recommend this B&B in Waterville area !!

Room Tip: Tell the owners ahead of time about your breakfast choice - which allows them to serve you better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yvs100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here this past weekend, and loved it. The chalet is tucked in the mountains, and the room (which is a actually a suite with private bath and living room) was well-appointed and pleasant. John and Mary, the owners, were friendly and very helpful with suggesting hikes and other things to do in the area.

The most amazing part of the stay, however, were the breakfasts. Breakfast was brought to your room at any time you suggested, and you could request whatever you wanted. John and Mary's signature egg dish, a lobster omelet, was amazing. Everything was local and fresh -- they have a chicken coup on their property, and that's where the eggs for omelets, etc. come from, they make fresh jam, etc. Staying here was great, and worth it for the breakfasts alone!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

The Welch Mountain Chalet Bed & Breakfast was the most amazing B&B we have ever stayed at. The “room” was a completely private suite (bedroom, full bath & living room) that was brand new. Everything was top of the line, meticulously clean, crisp & welcoming. The owners, Mary and John, were so warm, friendly and most accommodating. They served breakfasts’ that were just over the top phenomenal. Almost everything they made was home grown and made from scratch - from their chickens that laid the eggs for the omelets/pancakes, to the fresh fruit they grow to make the jams and muffins/pastries. The food was out of this world delicious, plentiful, and served with a European flare. Breakfast was even served in our suite at the times we requested. (No getting dressed and ready to eat food that has been sitting in warming trays for a couple of hours in a common room.) Every detail about this B & B was carefully thought out. We can not say enough about how pleased we were except to say that we are already planning our return in the Fall.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeannejcoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornton
5.0 mi away
Black Bear Lodge
Black Bear Lodge
#2 of 5 in Waterville Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Valley Inn
The Valley Inn
#4 of 5 in Waterville Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
10.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lincoln East - White Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Plymouth
4.9 mi away
Best Western Silver Fox Inn
Best Western Silver Fox Inn
#1 of 2 in Waterville Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Sunny Grange B&B
The Sunny Grange B&B
#1 of 4 in Campton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welch Mountain Chalet Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welch Mountain Chalet Bed & Breakfast

Property: Welch Mountain Chalet Bed & Breakfast
Address: 140 Judges Rd, Thornton, NH 03285-6831
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Thornton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Thornton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welch Mountain Chalet is a small, family friendly Bed and Breakfast located in the foothills of Welch Mountain in the White Mountains - 5 miles from Waterville Valley. Winter and summer sports (skiing, Nordic skiing, snow shoeing, ice skating, hiking, biking, fishing, swimming) located nearby. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing