We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gilcrest Cottages and Motel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2011

Nice and quiet, beautiful setting and clean comfortable room. Bathroom was just a tad bit chilly - could use a small baseboard heater.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 232 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2011

We enjoyed very much staying at your cottage. It is very clean, warm, and it has everything you need when you stay for a couple of days. The location is great, just a few meters from a highway. The owners of this hotel are very nice and accommodating. Thank you for taking such a good care of your hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ifalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2011

We absolutely loved the quant cozy cottage. The rooms were very clean. We would highlyrecommend the cottages. We especailly loved having a fire place, so cozy. It was also nice having 2 bedrooms. The kitchen had everything we needed to cook.
The only negative would be the water had a high sulfur smell.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret3123123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2011

We love staying at the Gilcrest. My husband snowmobiles and we have friends in the area and it's so affordable for a quick getaway. The rooms are clean and so cozy, especially the rooms with a fireplace. A great way to warm up after a day out in the cold New Hampshire weather. The owners, Gary and Julie, are so welcoming and very sweet.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamieandRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2011

From the time we arrived until the time we left, everything was perfect for relaxing weekend! Gary and Julie are friendly, welcoming and efficient! Gary kept up with snow cleanup in a timely manner. We always return to Gilcrest knowing we will be comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slthomas11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2010

We booked Motel #17 the night before our stay. We selected that room because it had a fireplace & it was going to be a chilly night. Called the motel after booking to say we would be checking in after check in time. Julie was so sweet on the phone & said no problem, that they would be there waiting for us. Upon checking in we met Gary who was just as nice. We asked him where we could grab something to eat very quick & he recommended a few places & then mentioned that there was a binder in our room that had all the restaurants in & around the area in it.

Room was very clean & the bathroom was spotless. Nice thick towels in the bathroom, great water pressure in the shower & very hot water for taking a shower (if you want to put it that hot).

If you are looking for a great value, very clean cozy place for a little get-a-way then this is the place. We would definitely go back in the nicer weather to enjoy the pool & the area a lot more.

I don't have one complaint to say because we enjoyed our stay completely & looking forward to going back again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RochelleinNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2010

Wonderful place for families! My teens loved swimming out to the big rock and jumping in over and over again! Owners are fantastic ! We would stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcg011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornton
11.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lincoln East - White Mountains
9.8 mi away
The Valley Inn
The Valley Inn
#4 of 5 in Waterville Valley
204 reviews
7.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Plymouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Pine Valley Cabins
Pine Valley Cabins
#2 of 8 in Thornton
38 reviews
10 mi away
Golden Eagle Lodge
Golden Eagle Lodge
#1 of 5 in Waterville Valley
324 reviews
2.2 mi away
Valley Brook Cottages
Valley Brook Cottages
#3 of 8 in Thornton
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilcrest Cottages and Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilcrest Cottages and Motel

Address: 2378 US Route 3, Thornton, NH 03285-6150
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Thornton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Thornton
Price Range: $86 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gilcrest Cottages and Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A nostalgic escape from everyday living, our "Storybook Cottages and Motel" are close to White Mountain attractions, skiing, and snowmobiling, Gilcrest offers one and two bedroom cottages, and a small eight unit motel often referred to as "connected cottages." Ambient Fireplaces, 2 kitchenettes units available, 1 full apartment available, all units have mini refrigerators, microwaves and coffeepots. Outdoor pool, horseshoes, corn hole, play area. River access right on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Gilcrest Cottages and Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing