We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Silence & comfort”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nieuwoudtville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Papkuilsfontein Guest Farm
Reviewed February 27, 2013

What a special place. The family is very friendly and serves great food !We pre-booked a 2 course diner wich was served every evening at our cottage. We stayed at the Hoop cottage which was very comfortable en cosy!
The surroundings are beautiful, we walked twice to the rockpool near the canyon! The canyon is really beautiful and once your there it is easy spending hours enjoying the view. This is a place to unwind: no electra, no cellphone and only the sound of the wind & sometimes a sheep. We suggest to stay at least three nights to appreciate this remote area!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdeHaan71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 93 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2013

Unfortunately we could only stay 1 night, but we would have loved to stay longer!
We hope to visit the Van Wyck family again in future.

We stayed in Rondekraal cottage, what a lovely place. No electricity, only paraffin lamps and a fireplace, super romantic! Dinner was served at our cottage and we had a 5-course breakfast teh next morning, including homemade oatmeal, yum!

Thanks again Van Wyck family!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veerkuysters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I stayed at the Papkuilsfontein at "De Hoop" Cottage and it something that can't be described with words. The cottage itself is very beautiful, but the landscape and the surrounding area are even more beautiful. There is no electricity, phone reception or internet, so this place is just perfect to disconnect from the rest of the world and relax and forget about troubles.
The farm owner is a very sweet woman that cooks very well. I now regret that I booked only breakfast, I wish I had also dinners booked there. (If you are vegetarian/vegan she will prepare something for you too with no problem whatsoever).
Please visit the Canyon that is near by and have a bath at the Rockpool. There is also a nice little pool near the cottage where you can enjoy the most beautiful sundowns and see some cute dassies!

Room Tip: Try to book De Hoop even if you are just two of you. The cottage totally worths the price for it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mfwireview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Papkuilsfontein is a haven for rest and relaxation. Lose yourself in reading within stunning surroundings or partake in mountain hikes, rockpool swimming, mountain bike trails, 4 x 4 tracks or the never-ending photographic opportunities that present themselves - especially the night skies.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MonetaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I have stayed here many times and it rates as the best family owned establishments I have ever stayed at. The quality of service, food and accommodation is of a very high standard. I do not hesitate to recommend this establishment to anyone wanting a quiet getaway or spending one or two nights passing through." Great flowers in spring, great walks, excellent birding. The very best hospitality you will find anywhere in the world. Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikeraymakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

The place is filled with hospitality. Marriette made us feel at home. Homemade bread, porridge and fruit salat for breakfast. The three source traditional dinner was excellent, and the experience of having dinner together, being seated around the table, was very special and good experience. The place has atmosphere, silence and a very good energy.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amanda031CapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed two nights in De Hoop cottage. Flowers were beautiful and we were advised to view these when we arrived because the temperature was expected to be cooler than the magic 18C (required for the flowers to open) the next day. How right they were but we were still given an excellent itinerary for the next day. Wonderful food. You have to be prepared for a cottage without electricity but what a romantic setting as you eat by candlelight!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnneandMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Papkuilsfontein Guest Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papkuilsfontein Guest Farm

Address: P.O. Box 46, Nieuwoudtville 8180, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Northern Cape > Nieuwoudtville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Nieuwoudtville
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Papkuilsfontein Guest Farm Hotel Nieuwoudtville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing