We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveler rating
18
25
6
7
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
18
25
6
7
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews british colonial hill station large bed main building vegetables privacy springing heating lawn bathroom town
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 56 reviews
Reviewed March 29, 2018 via mobile

Situated on one of the two very quiet and beautiful colonial hills above noisy but warmhearted Kalaw. We stayed for two nights as the only guests, so we got excellent service from the staff.
The restaurant served a excellent breakfast à la carte. The menu for dinner was more extensive than reality: an easy dish like tea leaf salad was not available. We suppose due to the end of season. Wines were good.

Tip: visit the market in Kalaw (every five days). Never seen a better and quieter one: farmers show their vegetables and fruit in total silence. No one is screaming and yelling. The customers who are interested to buy almost whisper when asking for the price!

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank robertjoosth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phyu Zin Group o, Manager at Royal Kalaw Hills Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2018

Dear Valued Guest,
"Mingalabar"

We just want to express our sincere thanks and appreciation for your memorable stay at our Royal Kalaw Hills Resort. Hope you had a great time during your staying at our hotel. Once again thank you very much indeed for your choosing to leisure at our little paradise, Royal Kalaw Hills Resort families members’ remembrance and best wishes will be always together with you.We're looking forward to serve you with utmost service at our beautiful resort in next time.

With much appreciates,
Phyu Zin Group of hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2018

The hotel itself is really quaint, and the staff, despite not having much English language, were very helpful. However, whilst our room was very large, the furniture was very dated and poor quality. The worst part was that the bathroom had no heating and a large fan which allowed more cold air to come in: it was freezing to use the bathroom. The dining room, whilst quaint and staffed by really welcoming staff was also freezing. We were expected to wear our anoraks to keep warm!

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phyu Zin Group o, Manager at Royal Kalaw Hills Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2018


Dear Mike,
"Mingalarbar"
Thank you for taking time to review on the Trip Advisor, your feedback and comments will be passed to our team, Royal Kalaw Hills Resort. We do sorry for some inconvenience during your stay and we always serve our guests from the bottom of our heart and try to improve our service in every time.
Thanks once again for your kind attention to stay with us and we’re looking forward to welcome you if we may have a chance to serve you at our improved hotel in next time.

With warmest regards,
Phyu Zin Group of Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2018 via mobile

This is quite a strange hotel. It is based in an old British colonial house but is run by a local or Chinese company and the mix is slightly bizarre. We had a large villa room with lovely verandah overlooking the beautifully maintained gardens. The room was certainly spacious with an odd assortment of furniture. The bathroom was large, very cold and smelt strongly of drains. The restaurant was a nice room, but also cold. The food seemed quite expensive and was not that good - in fact it was also cold! The waitress was very pleasant and smiley.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank CarS27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phyu Zin Group o, Manager at Royal Kalaw Hills Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2018

Dear Valued Guest,
"Mingalarbar" Thanks for your for your taking time to write review on Trip Advisor. Hope you had enjoyed your time with us. Rest ensured that we will do everything in our power to be appear fresh and modern all times.
Hope may have a chance to serve you at our beautiful resort in future. Please do not hesitate to contact me if there is any chance to visit again,you can contact directly at cm@phyuzingroupofhotels.com.
Thank and Best Regards,
Phyu Zin Group of Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2018

Hotel located in splendid surroundings and gardens with rooms located in an old colonial house. Marvelous garden. Good restaurant with a limited dinner menu but serving a good breakfast. Friendly service, limited English.

Room tip: The rooms in the colonial house are excellent.
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vat_i_can2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phyu Zin Group o, Manager at Royal Kalaw Hills Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2018

Dear Valued Guest,
"Mingalarbar"

Thank you so much for your taking time to mention your review on Trip Advisor. We're very appreciate for your stay and hope you had sweet memorable time at our beautiful resort.
We will take your comments for further encouragement within the team to ensure personal service and warm welcome for your next visit.
Hope we may have a chance to welcome you in near future.

With much appreciates,
Phyu Zin Group of hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2018

You could be mistaken for thinking you were in an English Country House hotel. Extensive gardens with ornamental carriages, the main building is Tudor style with wooden beams and some of the best and most expensive rooms are situated therein.

We stayed in one of the bungalows (Heho - 401) set in the grounds. A massive room with antique style furnishings, a large bed and large external sun terrace. The bathroom was very sizeable with separate bath and walk in shower albeit it seemed a little dated.

The hotel is situated at 1350 meters altitude and is some way out of town so realistically unless you have transport it is sensible to eat in. Breakfast was OK (not as good as some of the other hotels we stayed at in Myanmar) and dinner was quite good although choices a little limited.

Service throughout was excellent and the general Manager is a charming lady who looks to see that everything is going as it should.

As other reviewers have noted it can get quite cold here. Certainly it was the chilliest place we went to on our tour of Myanmar. The room certainly was cold at night so we needed the heating on for once.

There are plenty of hotels springing up in and around Kalaw but the Royal Hills Resort is a very good bet.

Room tip: Luxury Rooms in main house best - but at a price
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mfranks911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phyu Zin Group o, Manager at Royal Kalaw Hills Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2018

Dear Valued Guest,
"Mingalabar"

We just want to express our sincere thanks and appreciation for your memorable stay at our Royal Kalaw Hills Resort. Hope you had a great time during your staying at our hotel. Once again thank you very much indeed for your choosing to leisure at our little paradise, Royal Kalaw Hills Resort families members’ remembrance and best wishes will be always together with you.We're looking forward to serve you with utmost service at our beautiful resort in next time.

With much appreciates,
Phyu Zin Group of hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews