We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
eDreams
Vio.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Krishna
Kalaw, Myanmar

Good place

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Mar 18, 2017via mobile
Very good service of the hotel, cool place...! And good breeze surroundings by green trees with beautiful garden. Good price, with this price...the hotel service and the green plants around the hotel nice already, ...good and nice place..!
Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
0.5 miles from Thitaw Lay House B&B
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.6 miles from Thitaw Lay House B&B
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
0.7 miles from Thitaw Lay House B&B
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
0.2 miles from Thitaw Lay House B&B
Free parking
Room service
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
0.1 miles from Thitaw Lay House B&B
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.8 miles from Thitaw Lay House B&B
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
0.9 miles from Thitaw Lay House B&B
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
  • Lol.travel
0.1 miles from Thitaw Lay House B&B
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.6 miles from Thitaw Lay House B&B
Free parking
Restaurant
eDreams
  • Vio.com
  • Lol.travel
1.4 miles from Thitaw Lay House B&B
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Kalaw
Reviews (223)
Filter reviews
223 results
Traveler rating
200
18
3
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
200
18
3
2
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 223 reviews
Reviewed February 22, 2017

We stayed here for 4 nights in January with our 5 year old daughter. It was a wonderful experience and have been recommending it to travelers we meet along the way in our travels ever since.

The staff are incredibly friendly and hardworking, the breakfasts delicious and the setting peaceful. We went on day hikes from Thitaw Lay and spent some days in town. (We highly recommend a visit to the Green Valley Elephant Sanctuary - I believe you can arrange it through Marc, but some days were booked up when we enquired so book it early.)

Other than one evening we ordered in every evening with most of the other guests from a local restaurant that Thitaw seems to have a great arrangement with, often spending less than $10 USD for our entire family and it was some of the best food we had while in Myanmar.

One of the things we loved about Thitaw Lay was the community environment that Marc has created there. We met a great family and many other people passing through - some of whom we've met up along the way with since - it felt like the hostel environments we remember from traveling in our 20s but for those of us in our 30s + (and those with kids! There were so many interesting people to chat with each morning and evening. Our daughter loved connecting with the children of other family that was there at the same time. And Marc was lovely with everyone.

We highly recommend Thitaw Lay. It stands out in our year of travelling as a favourite.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 2-now3-traveladdicts
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 15, 2017

This place was a total treat for us halfway through our holiday in Myanmar and the only issue was we only had one night here. The room we had was enormous with a large wetroom. The whole place had a personal, cosy feel about it which was more of a little fluctuating community than a hotel. The chap who runs it is extremely helpful. They even do a run to the local takeaway in the evening for guests and then you can all sit around the wood burner to eat. The breakfast here was also a real treat - lots of yummy home cooked food. The stay at this place was booked through a totally brilliant travel company based in Yangon called Mrmyanmar - they booked everything in our 17 day itinerary and the whole holiday was without fault.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 10, 2017

This was one of our favorite places to stay in Myanmar - very simple and reasonable in cost, but so thoughtful and delightful in service and detail. Breakfast was indeed 100% local and homemade - natural yeast bread in homemade oven, delicious banana bread, Myanmar coffee. Marc is a wonderful host and we wishes we could have stayed longer!

Room tip: The cottages are very quiet and nice.
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sunnytown2743
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 3, 2017 via mobile

We felt immediately welcome in this beautiful place. Very green and calm. It is worth to book 2 nights. The staff and owner are extremely friendly and make sure your stay is comfortable. Breakfast (pancakes & banana bread, welcome alternative to fried rice) is heavenly!

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank MsVKrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 2, 2017

We originally booked to the stay for one night, but we enjoyed our stay so much, that we extended our stay to three nights. As others have commented, a real draw of Thitaw is the breakfast spread; homemade crepes, banana bread, bread, jams and yoghurt, washed down with good coffee and fresh fruit. The owner Marc, is very friendly and helpful, offering hiking suggestions with such detailed instructions that a day's hike is possible without the need of a guide. Thitaw is a charming B&B located about 2km from Kalaw centre, and is ideally situated to explore the town and the surrounding countryside and tribal villages. It is also a great base to start a 2-3 day hike to Inle lake. The rooms themselves are basic but clean and comfortable. There is also a laundry service available at an extremely reasonable rate. Our stay was as good as we had anticipated, having read other reviews on tripadvisor, don't delay, book today!

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Matthewclarke60
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews