We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Sunnytown2743
Palo Alto, California

Comfortable, eco-green, wonderful food and service

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jan 10, 2017
This was one of our favorite places to stay in Myanmar - very simple and reasonable in cost, but so thoughtful and delightful in service and detail. Breakfast was indeed 100% local and homemade - natural yeast bread in homemade oven, delicious banana bread, Myanmar coffee. Marc is a wonderful host and we wishes we could have stayed longer!
Date of stay: January 2017
Room Tip: The cottages are very quiet and nice.
Trip type: Traveled with family
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
$75
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $75
  • Tripadvisor
    $75
  • Priceline
0.6 miles from Thitaw Lay House B&B
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$34
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $23
  • Hotels.com
    $33
0.7 miles from Thitaw Lay House B&B
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
$16
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $16
  • Tripadvisor
    $16
  • Vio.com
0.1 miles from Thitaw Lay House B&B
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$40
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $40
  • Hotels.com
    $40
0.8 miles from Thitaw Lay House B&B
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$23
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $23
  • Hotels.com
    $23
0.0 miles from Thitaw Lay House B&B
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$21
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $21
  • Hotels.com
    $21
0.9 miles from Thitaw Lay House B&B
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Expedia.com
$185
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $185
  • Agoda.com
    $156
  • Priceline
1.6 miles from Thitaw Lay House B&B
Free parking
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
$45
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $45
0.9 miles from Thitaw Lay House B&B
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$50
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $50
  • Hotels.com
    $50
1.8 miles from Thitaw Lay House B&B
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$13
  • eDreams
  • Expedia.com
    $13
  • Vio.com
1.0 miles from Thitaw Lay House B&B
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kalaw
Reviews (223)
Filter reviews
223 results
Traveler rating
200
18
3
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
200
18
3
2
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 223 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2017 via mobile

We felt immediately welcome in this beautiful place. Very green and calm. It is worth to book 2 nights. The staff and owner are extremely friendly and make sure your stay is comfortable. Breakfast (pancakes & banana bread, welcome alternative to fried rice) is heavenly!

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank MsVKrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 2, 2017

We originally booked to the stay for one night, but we enjoyed our stay so much, that we extended our stay to three nights. As others have commented, a real draw of Thitaw is the breakfast spread; homemade crepes, banana bread, bread, jams and yoghurt, washed down with good coffee and fresh fruit. The owner Marc, is very friendly and helpful, offering hiking suggestions with such detailed instructions that a day's hike is possible without the need of a guide. Thitaw is a charming B&B located about 2km from Kalaw centre, and is ideally situated to explore the town and the surrounding countryside and tribal villages. It is also a great base to start a 2-3 day hike to Inle lake. The rooms themselves are basic but clean and comfortable. There is also a laundry service available at an extremely reasonable rate. Our stay was as good as we had anticipated, having read other reviews on tripadvisor, don't delay, book today!

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Matthewclarke60
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 1, 2016 via mobile

everything is homemade at breakfast, absolutely friendly owner, very nice and familiar place, perfect banana bread, served warm fresh from the oven,
beautiful garden, cosy living room where you can stay in the evening, delivery service for local food

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank FiktivF
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 23, 2016

Thitaw lay house is a delightful, quirky and charming B&B in Kalaw. The perfect place to stay if you are hiking from Kalaw to Inle lake. Our host could not have been more helpful and the breakfast was the best breakfast we have had in Myanmar.

Room tip: The rooms can be cold at night so make sure you have enough blankets.
Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gillymead51
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 12, 2016

We really enjoyed our short stay in this B&B located in Kalaw hills, great place to relax and enjoy nature. Marc, the owner, gave us a free upgrade! We booked thitaw two and we stayed at thitaw house which i really recommend. Thitaw house breakfast ( which is not the same as thitaw two) was amazing, the bread made there and the banada cake taste incredible, we even had crepes! definitely recommended!

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 203martaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews