We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very pleasant colonial era retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pine Hill Resort, Kalaw
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Kalaw
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A very pleasant colonial era retreat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

Stayed here for one night. It consists of a series of wooden colonial buildings set within beautifully maintained gardens about 15-20 mins walk from town. The rooms and bathrooms are good. The (all female, at least the day and night we were there) staff were fantastic and wore big smiles on their faces. Come here to get away from it all. If you want 10 TV channels, you won't find them here.

Room Tip: There are lots of rooms so try to get a room where you have no neighbour, as the walls are made of w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rsinghabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    77
    57
    15
    5
See reviews for
18
93
12
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

Unfortunately I only had one night in this lovely hotel. The room was spacious and although there was no air conditioner, you really don't need it up in the hills. It was easy to catch a breeze by opening the big windows and doors onto the balcony. The rooms are set in lodges of two to four rooms in wide gardens. The staff were lovely and attentive and made me feel as though I was a guest rather than a customer. The location is a little out of town. The food in the restaurant was delicious. I would have loved to stay longer.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellipsis000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
275 reviews
272 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 656 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two nights in late Feb. ‘12. Pine Hill is pleasant a 15-minute walk from the center of town on the top of a hill overlooking a wooded ravine. Another 15 minutes further along the same road brings you to a very interesting cave pagoda with hundreds of Buddha statues, set in a peaceful country setting. Pine Hill is one of several hotels along the same road.

The Pine Hill looks like it began as a colonial homestead and has been transformed over the years into a sprawling rustic resort with beautifully landscaped grounds. “Rustic” means it is comfortable and attractive but certainly not luxurious or upscale. Our room (105) was good sized and comfortable, but could have used more storage area and surfaces for belongings. There was no closet and no dresser, and we wound up storing many things on top of the small fridge. Also adding to the rustic feel was a lack of lighting other than one dim overhead light and a couple of table lamps near the bed. The twin beds were comfortable. The room had no heat and in late February it was quite chilly at night. The friendly staff furnished hot-water bottles and with the warm blankets were ok during the night except for the cold trek to the bathroom. One of the nicest features of the room was a small balcony that offered a view of the ravine.

Our bathroom was large with a shower that wasn’t separated from the rest of the room. The pedestal sink offered no counter space, and only a small shelf above the sink was available for toiletries.

Breakfast was served in a pleasant restaurant near the reception building. It was a little thin but adequate– a couple of kinds of fruit, choice of eggs, toast and jam.

Overall we enjoyed the Pine Hill and certainly survived roughing it for a couple of days. The hotel is attractive and located in a very picturesque spot.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NaMakani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

This is a lovely place to stay in Kalaw, about 15 minutes walk into town and set in a peaceful location amongst the trees. The reception building is over 100 years old and the rroms were built fairly recently. They are very spacious and are clad in wood from top to toe! The rooms are fairly simple but there is a fridge and although there are no safes valuables can be left in the safe at reception.

Three rooms are set around a small 'lounge' area with a fireplace, and wicker table and chairs; a nice place to relax with a beer.

The staff at the hotel are a delight, gentle, helpful and nothing seems to be too much trouble. Kalaw is a great base for trekking in the hills and this hotel seems to be one of the best choices in town.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank escinditburbal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa cruz california
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

Pine Hill Resort was very quaint and the staff attentive and lovely as described in previous posts. We would especially like to thank our hiking guide who also works as a fantastic cook at this resort. His name is Saw Myo Htay (Htay Htay). He speaks good English and gave us an 8 hour hike to the villages ( we took extra extra long because we needed time to photograph ...and to rest due to the heat). He cared for us and carried our heavy camera, taught us about the local flora and traditional medicine and agriculture. Htay engaged with the villagers on a personal level and then in the morning without expectation came to the market with me and helped me purchase..curry...tea...peanuts...avocados...and informing me of what I was seeing that I did not know. The Kalaw market is a revolving market that does not happen every day...we were lucky to be there on that day and lucky to have met Htay.
The hotel does seem to have single beds(did not see romantic queens and such) but enjoyed very much the warm hot water bottles which I found sweet. I would certainly stay there again especially because of Htay. He makes these banana's for dessert that are on fire.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank utahlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
387 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

In February, you need heat in this part of Burma. This "resort" does not have any "resort" ammenities nor does it have any heat in the rooms. Thank god for the hot water bottle for your bed at night! The rooms are pretty basic and it feels like glorified camping.

The staff is terrific and very friendly. If Kalaw is on your itinerary, this place is worth considering but, I'd skip Kalaw and spend a few more days on Inle Lake.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
254 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2011

PHR is probably about the most "upscale" option in Kalaw. We paid about USD 45 inc breakfast. Quaint wooden "colonial" style, set on a hill outside of town. On this subject...hotel is a 15-20 min walk from the centre of the village (and there are no trishaws or taxis in Kalaw), but the walk is pleasant. The main disadvantage to this was when you arrive and leave and need to haul your bags!

We arrived at 3:30am after a long bumpy bus journey from Yangon. No choice but to walk (and find it!) there hauling our bags in the middle of the night, tired and disorientated! This was not nice at all. When we arrived, the hotel was dark and locked and no reception on duty. After banging and banging on the door we finally rousted somebody, who seemed very surprised to see us. I found this a bit surprising as that bus must arrive the same time every night, and we had a pre-paid booking.

All in all, hotel was nice and breakfast was good. Was probably the most expensive choice in town, but was not bad value. We'd still recommend.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NovaOrbis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalaw hotels
0.4 mi away
Dream Mountain Resort
0.3 mi away
Kalaw Heritage Hotel
Kalaw Heritage Hotel
#5 of 12 in Kalaw
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hill Top Villa Resort Kalaw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Dream Villa Hotel
Dream Villa Hotel
#2 of 12 in Kalaw
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Kalaw Hills Resort
0.0 mi away
360 Kalaw Hotel
360 Kalaw Hotel
#4 of 12 in Kalaw
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Hill Resort, Kalaw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Hill Resort, Kalaw

Property: Pine Hill Resort, Kalaw
Address: 151 Oo Min Road, Kalaw 11181 , Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Shan State > Kalaw
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Kalaw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pine Hill Resort, Kalaw 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings and JovagoAsia so you can book your Pine Hill Resort, Kalaw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Hill Resort, Kalaw Hotel Kalaw

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing