We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for one night but there must be better places for the money in Kalaw.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kalaw
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Eastern Paradise Hotel
Ranked #9 of 25 Kalaw B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Reading the other reviews I suppose a lot depends on expectations. I agree with the person who called it a good guesthouse, but it is not really a good hotel. Incidentally, the M (for Motel) on the sign out the front has been covered by an H for Hotel. This appears to justify doubling the prices in six months. On the plus side, the lady at reception agreed to honour my 15$ email booking as long as I didn't mention it to the other guests paying $30 or more. There was no air conditioner, but I did not need one in November in Kalaw.

Pros:

The staff were pleasant and helpful. The manager spoke good English. The room was clean but rather small, as was the en-suite.
,
Cons:

The foam mattress was insubtantial and I was effectively sleeping on the baseboard. There was lots of fluoro lighting but all in the wrong position with no reading lights. However, a portable light was provided when I asked. Rooms 101-106 open off the entry lobby which can get noisy at night as people arrive and chat in the seating area.

OK for one night but there must be better places for the money in Kalaw.

Room Tip: Everest Nepali restaurant was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 137 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2012

Reservation : Booked 2 days before arriving from Bagan through the phone. Wanted 2 nights but only managed 1 for the 1st night and i grabbed it.
Reception : Reception is largely mend by a young lady who is helpful. Helped me booked for accomodation at Inle lake and trekking (which i found out was Eversmile trekking). Owner is kind and nice. Arrange for a day trip in a shared taxi to Pindaya too. (quoted 35k Ks)
Room : For the first night, i paid 25USD for a more spacious room as a single traveller. Comes with satelite TV and ensuite bathroom. For the second night, i was offered the room on the upper floors at the "back" with shared bathroom and toilet for 9USD. Beds are clean for both. Shared bathroom is decently clean.
Breakfast : Served lots of fruits along with usual toast, eggs and coffee. They also served Chines fritters too!
Accessibility : Kalaw is a small town and everything is within reach in the town within ~500m walk.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank radical_sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 1 night before heading off on a 3 day trek.
Pros:
*/ location: it is very close to the only lively restaurant in Kalaw, the Nepali restaurant. Note that everything in Kalaw closes at around 8pm (even the "famous" Sam's Restaurant was closed by then). Also, note that Kalaw is dark, there are no streetlights, and lots of dogs. The place is a ghosttown by about 7:30pm.
*/ rooms have bed and a bathroom
*/ nice breakfast with local doughnuts

Cons:
*/ room decor: the room was really badly decorated. In fact I use the term "decorated" very loosely. Bright pink bedsheets and matching towels. I actually slept in my sleeping sheet.
*/ lots and lots of mosquitos in the room. The owner was unable to provide a coil - instead they gave us a spray to be used on mosquitoes we came across
*/ dark dingy rooms
*/ dark dingy bathroom - horrible
*/ no AC, but this is ok as Kalaw gets pretty cold at night. No heating either. There was a standing fan in the room
*/ If you turned the bathroom light on, ALL the other electrics in the room (fan, TV...) would go off

We had the chance to peek into other rooms which were unoccupied and left open. They were even worse. We felt that this place was significantly overpriced for what it is.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HiralP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The room was very clean as was our attached bathroom, and a very reasonable price. The breakfast was huge, and the staff were lovely. What bumped this place up from very good for us was our experience on the last day- my sister fainted and when we came back they let her sleep in one of the rooms, even though it was past check out time, and were very kind (as they were through the rest of our stay) It was a really nice stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank killtacos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

Pleasent and all around very good aside from the breakfast which was very good and large there was nothing else which stood out or was disappointing. Also they can organise a trekking trip for you which is useful I would highly reccomend the smile trek company.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank charlie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

stayed here overnight before heading off on a 3 day trek.owners and staff are great,an amazing breakfast ,good clean rooms,comfy beds,basic bathrooms but clean...all you need...really good for the price

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed here 2 nights 2weeks ago; the staff is very friendly en helpfull; we paid 30$ for 3pers-bedroom; the room and bathroom were clean; the location is good: side-street of the main road and close to the market although relatively quiet; their trekking-guide was very friendly but we had to negociate about the price; while we stayed 1 night in the hills we could store our luggage at no charge; there is a PC with internet you can use for 1000Kyats (0.8$) for 1 hour; laundry is very cheap (300Kyats/shirt) and neatly ironed; if i ever go back to Kalaw, i would definitively stay there again

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sylvie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalaw hotels
0.1 mi away
Dream Villa Hotel
Dream Villa Hotel
#3 of 14 in Kalaw
290 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kalaw Heritage Hotel
Kalaw Heritage Hotel
#4 of 14 in Kalaw
48 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nature Land Hotel Kalaw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Winner Hotel
Winner Hotel
#16 of 25 in Kalaw
111 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dream Mountain Resort
0.8 mi away
Pine Hill Resort, Kalaw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastern Paradise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastern Paradise Hotel

Address: No. 15 Thirimingalar St, Qr, Kalaw, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Shan State > Kalaw
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Kalaw
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing