We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, clean, BEST brekky in Myanmar, SUPERB trek”
Review of Golden Kalaw Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kalaw
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Golden Kalaw Inn
Ranked #11 of 26 Kalaw B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
997 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 956 helpful votes
“Basic, clean, BEST brekky in Myanmar, SUPERB trek”
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Ok room big and clean with private toilet and shower. It is basic and clean nothing fancy. Easy walk around town. No wifi no AC but friendly people. Try shan noodles to start your day.
I arranged a 3 day trek with John Sylvester through here. TOP guide, very friendly and quiet, perfect english. Route and overall experience exceded expectations. Very enjoyable, memorable trip.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nilintentum_reliquit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    44
    23
    10
    6
See reviews for
4
45
23
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

During our stay in Myanmar this guesthouse was simply the best. Take a double room with your own bathroom and you will get a basic but clean room including a balcony with a great view over the town. For 12$ (including a great breakfast) this was for us the place to be in Kalaw spending two relaxing days before hiking to the Inle Lake.

Room Tip: First floor double rooms (all including a balcony) are worth the 3$ difference to the nice rooms wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yangon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed at the Golden Kalaw Inn for two nights in early February 2013. Our room was on the first floor facing the street and we shared a communal balcony with three other rooms. The room,which had an ensuite toilet and shower ,was basic but very clean and comfortable and very reasonably priced. Breakfast was very good with a choice of European or local foods. The staff were helpful and pleasant.
We booked a three day,two night trek to Inlay Lake through the guest house and were fortunate to get a first class local guide named John Sylvester (Johnsylvister@gmail.com) who spoke excellent English and had in-depth knowledge of the people,terrain,flora and fauna of the region. He really brought the walk alive for us.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the four rooms that have the communal balcony. It can be a little noisy but it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RangoonJohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

The rooms were clean and relatively spacious as was the bathroom. The area was also quiet and I slept well. The owners were friendly and helpful as well. It is a far superior option than the Golden Lily Hotel which gets the majority of backpackers because of its convenient location and aggressive touts. This guesthouse is set further back from the main road than the Golden Lily, but the quality more than makes up for it. I stopped by the Golden Lily looked like a flophouse - old beds, bare plywood floors, rooms not much bigger than the sleeping pad.
Golden Kalaw can also organize treks. I went with Sam's only because they had enough customers to form groups and the price was the best in Kalaw. The trek was a great experience with a fantastic guide "July", great food, great walk, and competent management. Compare prices. I ran into someone that was overcharged by almost 40% compared to what I paid with Sam's! He trekked with Golden Lily's.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JasonSLTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

The Golden Kalaw Inn is as basic as they come. Simple rooms with little more space than to fit a bed. Bathrooms could use updating and the hot water was fairly non-existent.

BUT...the owners were wonderfully friendly and helpful. The breakfast that is included is nice. And the guesthouse is easy walking distance to the market and restaurants and sights.

The common area outside the rooms is perfect for parents who want to watch tv, read, chill out after the kids are in bed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dancingamieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lux
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

The Hotel does not pretend much but does not cost much either.
You are just beside a temple so for the period of full moon if you want some quite place it's going to be not easy.
the break feast is great
One of the best hotel I had in Myanmar during my 3 weeks trip

Ask for advice for the trekking with their guide Johnny.

Room Tip: take the one with balcony in front
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kekenu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed one night with Golden Kalaw on 25 Oct 2012. It was on the 2nd level and I thought the room was really nice given that it cost only USD 7 per night which was really a good deal with breakfast included. Incredible. haha.

All the while, the kind owner did not mention a word about trekking to me and I thought that he did not offer trekking service. Therefore I sign up the trekking with Golden lily which was just right beside golden kalaw which prove to be a total disaster with the guide losing his way.

what can I say about golden kalaw? Simple, nice, friendly, family style, cheap and good breakfast. I mean god.. they have got like 7 to 9 breakfast menu for you to chose. What else more can I ask for? If you want to stay in a hotel in Kalaw, Golden Kalaw is the one. Cheap and good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AsicGel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalaw hotels
0.1 mi away
Dream Villa Hotel
Dream Villa Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kalaw
262 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nature Land Hotel Kalaw
0.0 mi away
Mya Sabai Inn
Mya Sabai Inn
#8 of 26 in Kalaw
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Thitaw Lay House B&B
Thitaw Lay House B&B
#1 of 26 in Kalaw
173 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hillock Villa
Hillock Villa
#3 of 26 in Kalaw
29 reviews
0.6 mi away
Railroad Hotel
Railroad Hotel
#4 of 26 in Kalaw
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Kalaw Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Kalaw Inn

Property: Golden Kalaw Inn
Address: 64, Mingalar St, Kalaw, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Shan State > Kalaw
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kalaw
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing