We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveler rating
10
7
6
5
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
10
7
6
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews flat screen great hotel in town elevator hill market
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 29 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2017 via mobile

After 2 days trekking we needed a place to chill in Kallow. We found our happiness in th Famous Hotel.
We have been welcomed by Louis, the manager, who was really kindly and smiling. We spent the afternoon around the beautiful swimming pool. The staff, Ko Paing, Ko Phyo, Ko Hone and Ko Wai, was caring about us and everything we asked, we got it directly.
To finish this day, we went to the bar, where we got a beautiful view of all the city, enjoying delicious cocktails made by Scott, the barman, and watching a wonderful sunset.
So if you need a break in Kallow don't hesitate and go to the Famous Hotel.
Thank you for this great moment.
Wish to come back again.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank stouf85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2017 via mobile

We are visiting Kalaw as part of a 15 day trip in Myanmar.
We were struck by the spectacular location of the Famous hotel, set high on the hill overseeing the beautiful city of Kalaw.
On a whim, we climbed the hill to explore and found we had stumbled on the opening night of the restaurant at the Famous hotel.
Louis, the restaurant manager, and his team welcomed us and immediately moved a table for us out on the balcony.
We had the best meal we have had in Myanmar- tempura, avocado salad, chicken and beef kebabs and fresh lime sodas. We also had a fresh fruit desert, reflecting the locally available fruits.
Over and above the food and the setting, we were particularly struck by the entrepreneurship of Louis and his team. Louis has taught himself excellent English (watching American and European movies); he has worked his way up from the back room in the kitchen to being a manager. The opening up of tourism and business in Myanmar, while still early in evolution, is a reflection of the democratic reforms led by 'The Lady' - Aung San Su Kyi.
How wonderful for us to be able to experience the hope and optimism of the people of this fascinating country.
Truly an evening to remember!

Pictures below
Famous hotel this evening
Louis and his team
Dinner on the balcony of the Famous hotel

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Teresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2017 via mobile

Amazingly friendly manager Louis very attentive service team including Scott the bar man. The views are breathtaking over the city with lit pagodas. Louis organised for us to eat out on the balcony. The food was spicy but certainly the best chicken I have tasted in Myanmar. We had fresh avocado salad, fruit and fruit juice a refreshing change.

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank 783deirdrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2017

The hotel is ideally located, with a great view over Kalaw (probably the best spot for the sunset), and only few minutes from the center of the city, its market and pagodas.
The service was perfect and the food and cocktails were great. Thanks to Louis and its competent team, particularly Scott at the bar, and Ko Phyo, Ko Phone and Ko Kwai at the service, we had a wonderful time in this place. We definitely recommend it!
Thank you, we'll come back as soon as we can!

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Benjamin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2017

New hotel opened January 2017. This magnificent place is situated on the east mountain side of Kalaw city. Eyecatcher from the city center. Splendid view over the town. Amazing sunrise in the morning, enlightening the city streets and the Pagode in the center. Beatiful sunset over the hills, all from your balcony.
Perfect service. Excellent food and cocktails. Very friendly and helpful personel.

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Traveled solo
1  Thank myanmar13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews