We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (291)
Filter reviews
291 results
Traveler rating
108
127
45
10
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
108
127
45
10
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot water bottles colonial house mountain resort open fire beautiful garden two nights room was large in town breakfast is served fireplace fires hill bath
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 291 reviews
Reviewed November 19, 2018 via mobile

This is a great hotel, with charming rooms and a beautiful garden. It is a little way out of Kalaw centre and peaceful as a result. The rooms are very well equipped and there is a good restaurant, providing an excellent breakfast. Overall a lovely place to stay.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank roomarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aorngapali, Manager at Amara Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2019

Dear Roomarshall,

Greetings from Amara Mountain Resort, Kalaw!

Thank you very much for your beautiful comments and we are very glad to know as you had a great time with team at the Resort. Once again we would much appreciated and thank you once again for choosing us, hope we do have a chance to welcome you once again in the near future.

Wish you a prosperous year of 2019 to you and your family.

Best regards,
The Management of Amara Group!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2018

We were very happy with this choice for our short 2 night stay in Kalaw, although it should be noted that this hotel is not in the centre of town and we did need to take a car/taxi when we decided to have our dinner in town on the second night. If that isn't a problem for you, then this is a good choice. Our room was large (simple but with all you need) with windows opening onto the gardens and breakfast is served in another building with a a scenic view. We had dinner at the Amara on our first night and we weren't disappointed - I'm glad we did! Lovely, fresh choices and plenty of it! A very good base if you are planning to visit 'Green Hill Elephant Camp'.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 001Celia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aorngapali, General Manager at Amara Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2019

Dear Ms. Celia,

Greetings from Amara Mountain Resort!

First and foremost, thank you very much for choosing us for 2 nights stay with us and take time to share of your pleasant stay during your holidays. We would much appreciate of your satisfaction of services and happiness in you every single things at the Resort.

We do really hope to welcome you once again in the near future.

With our best regards,
The Management of Amara Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2018

We really do not like giving poor reviews but we and our friends thought this hotel was tired and in need of some TLC. The beds were extremely hard and uncomfortable, the rooms were small and we had no where to put our suitcases. We were a little surprised that there was no bar area. The staff were all helpful and this is no judgement of them.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank Kilntravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aorngapali, General Manager at Amara Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2018

Dear Klintravelers,

Greetings from Amara Mountain Resort!

First of all, thank you very much for your comment and we definitely noted down for the improvement. Moreover, we would much appreciated for your sharing time here on this page.

We do hope to welcome you in the near future.

With our best regards,
The Management of Amara Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2018 via mobile

We stayed here 1 night only. It’s a bit out of town in the beautiful mountains but worth it. Typical English colonial house with beautiful garden. We stayed in a deluxe room with garden view. Because it’s a bit colder in Kalaw in the evening they can lit your fire place in the evening in your room and provide you with a hot water bottle in your bed. (But for European standards the night had not been cold at all). We also had a delicious diner and breakfast here. They use products from their own garden. Try the pancake it’s delicious! The staff is very friendly and helpful.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank C2011ZKmariav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aorngapali, General Manager at Amara Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2018

Dear Ms. Maria V,

Greetings from Amara Mountain Resort!

We would like to thank you for choosing us amongst other Resort here in Kalaw. First of all, we are pleased and proud to be taking care the Heritage of Colonial Houses of more than 100 years of house in the Shan State. We are very glad that you had a great time during your stayed with us every aspects of resort and definately the Management had shared this kind of great information to our team and they conveyed regards to you too.

Once again thank you very much for your beautiful comments and kindness. We all hope to welcome you again in the near future.

With our best regards,
The Management of Amara Group!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2018 via mobile

This was a nice place to stay in the cool of the hills of Kakaw. A minor problem with our room was fixed immediately. Dinner was good and inexpensive. But Kakaw is extremely cold at night in Myanmar's winter. Our room was very cold. Maybe we should have asked for the fire to be lit. The bed with extra bedding and a hot water bottle provided automatically was amply warm enough.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Sheila H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aorngapali, General Manager at Amara Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2018

Dear Ms. Sheila H,

Greetings from Amara Mountain Resort, Kalaw!

Thank you very much for choosing our property as well as we would much appreciate of your words and conveyed to our team about their achievement. We noted well about your suggestion and we always look for the betterment to serve you in the future.

We are looking forward to welcome you once again soon.

With best wishes and regards,
The Management of Amara Group!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews