We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (291)
Filter reviews
291 results
Traveler rating
108
127
45
10
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
108
127
45
10
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot water bottles gardens are beautiful colonial house mountain resort open fire sunken bath two nights room was large in town breakfast is served fireplace fires hill loungers
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 291 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2018

We really do not like giving poor reviews but we and our friends thought this hotel was tired and in need of some TLC. The beds were extremely hard and uncomfortable, the rooms were small and we had no where to put our suitcases. We were a little surprised that there was no bar area. The staff were all helpful and this is no judgement of them.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank Kilntravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aorngapali, General Manager at Amara Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2018

Dear Klintravelers,

Greetings from Amara Mountain Resort!

First of all, thank you very much for your comment and we definitely noted down for the improvement. Moreover, we would much appreciated for your sharing time here on this page.

We do hope to welcome you in the near future.

With our best regards,
The Management of Amara Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2018 via mobile

We stayed here 1 night only. It’s a bit out of town in the beautiful mountains but worth it. Typical English colonial house with beautiful garden. We stayed in a deluxe room with garden view. Because it’s a bit colder in Kalaw in the evening they can lit your fire place in the evening in your room and provide you with a hot water bottle in your bed. (But for European standards the night had not been cold at all). We also had a delicious diner and breakfast here. They use products from their own garden. Try the pancake it’s delicious! The staff is very friendly and helpful.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank C2011ZKmariav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aorngapali, General Manager at Amara Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2018

Dear Ms. Maria V,

Greetings from Amara Mountain Resort!

We would like to thank you for choosing us amongst other Resort here in Kalaw. First of all, we are pleased and proud to be taking care the Heritage of Colonial Houses of more than 100 years of house in the Shan State. We are very glad that you had a great time during your stayed with us every aspects of resort and definately the Management had shared this kind of great information to our team and they conveyed regards to you too.

Once again thank you very much for your beautiful comments and kindness. We all hope to welcome you again in the near future.

With our best regards,
The Management of Amara Group!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2018 via mobile

This was a nice place to stay in the cool of the hills of Kakaw. A minor problem with our room was fixed immediately. Dinner was good and inexpensive. But Kakaw is extremely cold at night in Myanmar's winter. Our room was very cold. Maybe we should have asked for the fire to be lit. The bed with extra bedding and a hot water bottle provided automatically was amply warm enough.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Sheila H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aorngapali, General Manager at Amara Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2018

Dear Ms. Sheila H,

Greetings from Amara Mountain Resort, Kalaw!

Thank you very much for choosing our property as well as we would much appreciate of your words and conveyed to our team about their achievement. We noted well about your suggestion and we always look for the betterment to serve you in the future.

We are looking forward to welcome you once again soon.

With best wishes and regards,
The Management of Amara Group!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2018 via mobile

Our two nights at the Amara exceeded our expectations in many respects. Our room was huge (201), the bed very comfortable and the open fire in the evening was followed by hot water bottles which were needed as the overnight temperature fell almost to freezing. The well-maintained gardens were great to relax in and the staff we met were friendly and efficient. Two shortcomings have to be mentioned: it was almost impossible to have a shower as the wall bracket was at the side rather than the end of the bath and there was no screen or curtain. Prices in the restaurant were so high that we decided to eat in town.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 654GregP654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aorngapali, General Manager at Amara Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2018

Dear Guests,

Greetings from Amara Mountain Resort's Team!

Thank you very much for your pleasant review all about beautiful gardens especially to our team members and their friendliness. We are very glad to know once we reviewed your comments criticized your satisfaction and enjoy during your stayed with us.

We noted well to do utmost focusing for the menu and pricing and appreciated of your suggestion for the betterment in the future.

We are looking forward to welcome you once again and hope to see you soon.

With out best regards,
The Management of Amara Group Co., Ltd.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2018

We checked out this morning after a one night stay and have mixed feelings regarding the property.
Pros:
Lovely Staff - definitely the sweetest and most genuine we have met on the trip so far. They deserve 5 stars
Gardens are beautiful and the restaurant staff is rightfully proud of their homegrown vegetables
The buildings are quaint and historic
We really enjoyed our dinner and breakfast in the restaurant.

Cons:
The shower handle fell apart when my husband was showering - sending water EVERYWHERE, and obviously started the stay off on a bad note
It is an historic building; meaning you can hear everything in the hallways and from other rooms
It is very overpriced for what you get. The other properties we have stayed at are all luxury hotels and there wasn't much of a price difference for a decidedly 3 star accommodation.
Our plane was late and we had arranged a driver from the hotel to meet us. However, their phone number was disconnected, thus we couldn't make contact. Needless to say, we missed connecting with the driver and had to take a taxi. Then we were charged a fee for missing the driver. Frustrating.

Room tip: Our room was 204 and we could hear singing either from a temple or someplace at 5am
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LauraGrace1126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmaraLilly, General Manager at Amara Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2018

Dear Laura A,

Greetings from Amara Mountain Resort, Kalaw!

First and foremost, thank you very much for your review about environmental and Friendly Team. We are very much appreciate of your pros and cons, in this matter that we will be focusing more for further improvement in the future. We are very sorry to hear about your flight delayed and disconnected phone line due to the changes of weather of heavily rain.

Once again thank you and we are looking forward to welcome you in the near future.

With best regards,
The Management of Amara Group.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews