We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Colonial Style Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amara Mountain Resort
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Kalaw
Certificate of Excellence
Droxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Delightful Colonial Style Hotel”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed two nights in this boutique hotel which is partly a restored colonial residence and partly a convincing modern fake. Our bedroom was clean and comfortable and we enjoyed the end of Empire feel of the place. We were served a delicious breakfast in the English style rose garden. Since we did not feel like walking into town, we had dinner at the hotel both evenings and , although we were the only people in the dining room, the food was more than adequate, freshly cooked and nicely served by friendly staff. We very much enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ovvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMARAOCEAN, Manager at Amara Mountain Resort, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Hi,

We at Amara Group thank you for your kind feedback. After looking at everyones previous feedback we are now updating the following; Restaurant renovations have occured, New hot water systems put into the rooms, Safe boxes added to each room, extra heaters available on request or hot water bottles and we are in the planning stage for a new spa.

We also now have a new sales team and currently are running a August and September promotion which is buy 2 consecutives nights in Kalaw and receive a 3rd consecutive night stay free.

We hope to continue to receive your valuable feedback and then act on it and continually update our services and hotel.

Kind Regards,
James Marsden
Group Operations Manager
Amara Group Myanmar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    109
    41
    6
    1
See reviews for
28
165
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North East England
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here. It was a welcome break from the heat of Yangon, Bagan and Mandalay. There is no air conditioning but even in late April the rooms were comfortable at night. Our bathroom just had a shower and while the room wasn't luxurious it had a certain charm about it. The gardens are very pleasant and we found our few days here to be very relaxing - it was more like staying in someone's home as a house guest, rather than a hotel. A time to recover in a packed tour programme.
The food in the restaurant was very good and the staff friendly and helpful.
I would definitely recommend a visit to Green Hill Valley Elephant camp if you stay in this area. We had a magical day there feeding, bathing and riding the elephants, with a home cooked lunch too.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Diana014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, UK
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Lovely colonial buildings atop a hill. Our room was large and was not cold (although we were there in April when it is quite hot). Breakfast was good (cereals, croissants, breads, eggs). We didnt eat here, there isnt anywhere nearby to eat but we ate in town before returning to the hotel. There was some sort of celebration going on in the nearby village all night which was really noisy so we didnt sleep, but thats not the hotels fault and I dont think it happens that often.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo_Aberdeen_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

This is a delightful cottage type resort with beautiful gardens. You could almost believe you were in the English countryside. Rooms were comfortable and mine came with its own Cookie Monster. The hotel gives you a small plate of biscuits covered in cellophane. I did not eat mine that night but in the morning there was a small tear in the cellophane and only one cookie left! I showed it to reception and they thought that a squirrel might have come down the chimney. Next night I waited up to midnight but alas, the Cookie Monster did not return.

The purpose of my stay in this hotel was to visit the elephant camp at Magwe village. This is a home for retired working elephants and they have about seven there. I had the chance to feed the elephants the delicious Burmese bananas and also to bathe them in the nearby creek. You are given Shan trousers to protect your clothing.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed for one night during a two week trip to Myanmar. The hotel seemed to be located on the outskirts of Kalaw but after a trek and some sight seeing we didn't feel like going far. The hotel sits in beautiful surroundings with its own vegetable garden. The room was clean and comfortable although there was no in room television our fridge. The food (evening meal and breakfast) were both very good and the service was excellent throughout.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djhunter77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was a real surprise. Despite being located at high altitude in Burma, the gardens and architecture could have come straight out of the English countryside!

The hotel itself is set in a colonial building which is full of character and charm. The hotel is decorated with various burmese antiques which are both interesting and beautiful. Our room was clean, bright and airy and the facilities were good. It also has a working fireplace and as it gets chilly at night, the staff are more than happy to light the fire on request.

The gardens are beautiful and the night we stayed, dinner was served in the garden. It was a little expensive but well worth it. The garden was lit up with candles and fires - it looked amazing! The food was good.

Cocktails and breakfast were also excellent - the breakfast was all freshly cooked to order which was a refreshing and welcome change to the many buffet breakfasts that we had at other hotels.

Having stayed in 6 hotels in total on our trip to burma we can safely say that this was one of the best and would nightly recommend it to fellow travellers!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Invictus123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

The hotel, as noted below is not heated, and was very cold when we were there in February. There is a fireplace in the dining room, but the heat only extends so far and it was not lit in the morning so breakfast was very cold. There is a fireplace in the room and several duvets on the bed keep you warm while sleeping but the bathroom is freezing. Also, there is only a hand held shower so you cannot properly take a shower.

We thought the food was good—I had an amazing tea leaf salad for dinner and the breakfast, with chocolate croissants and omelette was also good, but hard to enjoy in a freezing room. The hotel, as others have noted, is too far from the village to walk, so other dining options are probably limited.

Our room and bed were very comfortable, the hotel is pretty with nice grounds, but I wouldn’t recommend coming in the winter. There seem to be other hotels under construction, so possibly next winter there will be a reasonable alternative.

The hotel has wifi, but it was not sufficient for a FaceTime or Skype conversation back to the US.

My rating is due to the fact that the hotel is unheated and has no shower.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ssgtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalaw hotels
0.4 mi away
Kalaw Heritage Hotel
Kalaw Heritage Hotel
#5 of 13 in Kalaw
38 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dream Mountain Resort
0.8 mi away
Dream Villa Hotel
Dream Villa Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kalaw
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
360 Kalaw Hotel
360 Kalaw Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kalaw
39 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Kalaw Hills Resort
0.2 mi away
Pine Hill Resort, Kalaw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amara Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amara Mountain Resort

Property: Amara Mountain Resort
Address: 10/182 Thida Road Quarter 10 | Western Bogone, Kalaw, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Shan State > Kalaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Kalaw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amara Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kalaw is a small town in Shan State, formerly created by the British government during colonial times as a summer resort in the highlands. The Amara Mountain Resort itself consists of two buildings, both colonial style and one built as early as 1909. Step back in time when staying at the Amara Mountain Resort. A former British guest house, now an exclusive hotel with just eleven rooms with an open fireplace. It is surrounded by a cottage garden with ancient trees, brightly colored flowers and a bio garden, whose products are served fresh in our restaurant. Enjoy yet another aspect of Myanmar when visiting Kalaw! How glorious a greeting the sun gives the mountains! (John Muir) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Amara Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing