We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Special!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amara Mountain Resort
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Kalaw
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for two nights.

It was very cold here at night and so had to light a fire in our room, the first basket of logs were supplied free of charge but extra logs were chargeable with no other form of heating.

The restaurant was very cold, both in the evening and in the morning. The food was very average.

When we went to pay our bill they were rude about the condition of our US Dollar bills and insulted us by saying that "they don't accept "dirty money"". We complained to the General Manager who tried to patch up the damage.

This could be a really nice hotel. Many staff try really hard but sadly the quality needs improving.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alf O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (270)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 270 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2012

There are several buildings with a sitting room in each building, and there are about 8 rooms in each building. Our room offered very simple but comfortable accommodations. No safe or tv but it did have a fireplace, which the staff offered to light for us. Dinner was good, in a lovely room with a huge fireplace. Breakfast was excellent. This area (Kalaw) is mainly visited by trekkers.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RuthyNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

A welcome drink with very friendly staff.
We stayed one night in a superior room 28m2 and bathroom 5m2. coffee-tea-water, no safebox. Lovely colonial villa, well decorated. Transport to the small town available if so wanted, but we ate in the hotel restaurant. Dinner was ordered an hour in advance.
One of the flowering trumpet trees smelled deliciously sweet at night.
We asked to lit the rooms fireplace; when it nearly went out I used the hairphon and got a warm and cosy fire in a while. Maybe the management should not know this ;-).
Had a very good night sleep.
Dinner was well presented, but we found the local wine too expensive with USD 35 a bottle.
The next day we bought a couple of bottles in the local store for 10 Euro each.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank huys25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

When you drive into this hotel, it's quite a nice change from the somewhat dusty town of Kalaw..the well kept gardens have wonderful fruit trees, flowers and vegetables. The staff are very gracious and friendly. You get the feeling that you are visiting a friend, as they stop and chat with you about their history, gardens, daily lives, and just general conversation. The rooms themselves are set within buildings that have a large sitting area decorated with lovely furniture, newspapers, umbrellas and fireplace. It seems each building has about 3 or 4 guest rooms so you feel it's more of a family bed and breakfast than a hotel.

We were greeted with a lovely fruit basket and welcome drink of delicious freshly made white guava juice, and then I spent about an hour strolling the grounds and taking photos of the garden. The dinner was not inexpensive but then it was our first opportunity to have non-Myanmar food so we had a tasty pizza...which was a welcome change of diet for one night.

We were on our way to Inle so only stayed one night but I would have gladly stayed one or two more for the relaxing atmosphere. We were also informed that guides are available to do treks around the area, but I'm not able to do long walks so we didn't do that. In a one-month trip to Myanmar this was one of the highlight hotels.

Room Tip: We could hear people walking around upstairs so if this will bother you ask for an upstairs room (th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MangoMunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The room is comfortable, clean and spacious.
The colonial styled house is situated in a very nice surrounding with a charming garden.
The food is ok but they charge a little bit too much for dinner.
The staff even prepared for us an open fire in our room, it's very comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed here for one night and wished we had stayed longer. We were in a room on the second floor of the original 1909 house. Plenty of room for 4 of us, they provided beds and mosquito nets for all of us so we were able to sleep with the windows open and cool breeze. We were warmly welcomed when we arrived, and the staff is very friendly and attentive. The included breakfast was nice, and since the Amara resort is up the hill from town, we ate dinner at the restaurant. We really enjoyed hiking around the mountains there. It's not very touristy, an the local people are very friendly. The trail signs are not marked, so we recommend hiring a guide. We had JP Barua who is at the market center in Kalaw (phone is 081-50549), who is 75 years old, has excellent English, speaks several tribal languages and has fabulous stories about moving to Myanmar from India as a child, going to Catholic missionary schools and living in Myanmar.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
Thank Traveler123020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

While this hotel fits the historical truth of Myanmar -- it was, after all, colonized by Britain -- we were so disoriented by staying in a British colonial guest house. That's not the fault of the Amara Resort, of course, but it's still true that we felt we'd left Myanmar, and we missed it.

Our room was enormous and comfortable, the bed comfortable, and the lack of air conditioning didn't matter one bit, because the cool cross breezes kept us comfortable throughout the night. The grounds are indeed gorgeous, as everyone says, filled with flowers and flowering trees, and gardens.

One problem that is probably temporary is that we couldn't easily find people who worked in the hotel; there isn't a central reception area, though it seemed one was under construction during our stay. We usually had to flag down a gardener, who would go find someone for us.

The bathtub in our room was nearly impossible to use, because the water temperature (and pressure) were entirely unreliable. The temperature fluctuated from truly scalding to icy cold with no warning, and at the same time the water pressure went from strong to almost non-existent. This combined to make using the tub a dangerous experience; after one try, we just gave up. Our toilet also failed to work, and although we asked for it to be fixed our 2nd morning, it wasn't until the 3rd morning (after calling us and waking us up at 7am) that someone finally came to fix it. It still wasn't very reliable. The breakfast was mediocre at best; after one breakfast, we decided to walk to Kalaw for our remaining meals.

There is no safe in the room, and despite any claims otherwise, there is absolutely no internet connection. The internet is dicey across Myanmar in our experience, but it's simply not available here, fyi.

The hotel will take you to Kalaw for 5,000 kyats, which is about 1,000 kyats more than you can get on your own. However, it's quite difficult to find a taxi in Kalaw in the evenings, so if you walk to town, be prepared to walk back unless you're lucky.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marc_Lori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalaw hotels
0.4 mi away
Kalaw Heritage Hotel
Kalaw Heritage Hotel
#4 of 14 in Kalaw
52 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dream Mountain Resort
0.2 mi away
Pine Hill Resort, Kalaw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Royal Kalaw Hills Resort
0.9 mi away
Thitaw Lay House B&B
Thitaw Lay House B&B
#1 of 14 in Kalaw
185 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hill Top Villa Resort Kalaw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amara Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amara Mountain Resort

Address: 10/182 Thida Road Quarter 10 | Western Bogone, Kalaw 06021, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Shan State > Kalaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Kalaw
Price Range: $164 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amara Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kalaw is a small town in Shan State, formerly created by the British government during colonial times as a summer resort in the highlands. The Amara Mountain Resort itself consists of two buildings, both colonial style and one built as early as 1909. Step back in time when staying at the Amara Mountain Resort. A former British guest house, now an exclusive hotel with just eleven rooms with an open fireplace. It is surrounded by a cottage garden with ancient trees, brightly colored flowers and a bio garden, whose products are served fresh in our restaurant. Enjoy yet another aspect of Myanmar when visiting Kalaw! How glorious a greeting the sun gives the mountains! (John Muir) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Amara Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing