We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect”
other traveler has booked this property

Review of Birch Cottage

A warm welcome awaits you!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A warm welcome awaits you!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
A warm welcome awaits you!
Relax and re-charge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Edzell, Brechin, Angus, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mr_Villag...
The Village
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed August 9, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We spent a week at Birch cottage and loved it. It is a perfect combination of a solid old building, modern interior and beautiful decor. The cottage felt like home and was very comfortable. It was also impeccably clean, absolutely faultless and the owners were very obliging. Edzell is a beautiful village with plenty of amenities and we found it a perfect base to explore the surrounding area. We had a terrific week.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenwalke...
Middlewich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Home from Home in Edzell”
Reviewed June 30, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Over the years we have spent a lot of our holidays in rental cottages as we like the freedom to do our own thing. Generally, there are always issues, some minor, some major. We can honestly say though that Birch Cottage was excellent in every way and it was a pleasure to stop there. Clean, comfortable and spacious with every thing we needed immediately to hand. Lovely walks on your doorstep in a village and glens I have known and loved for many years. Edzell may be small but it is the gateway to some of the lovliest glens and wildlife you will see anywhere, and if you like golf, well....
Good restaurants, afternoon teas etc nearby and can definitely recommend the local butcher!
Thanks to Debbie the owner for making us feel so welcome.

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The abilty to sit both inside and outside the property in lovely surroundings
Liked least: Our length of stay was too short
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley P
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just Perfect”
Reviewed April 26, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed at Birch Cottage with my husband and 10year old son. The cottage is beautifully decorated, light and spacious with everything you need. The courtyard is a little haven to relax in, especially if you get good weather like we did. The location is perfect; there is a golf course and driving range five minutes away and beautiful walks close by. Birch Cottage is a great base to see the North East of Scotland. We had a great week and we were really impressed that we have booked it again for next year. Debbie and Colin made our stay very comfortable.

Date of stay: April 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
19Chas69
Falkirk District, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Truly Home From Home”
Reviewed March 11, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Stayed at Birch Cottage for 4 weeks with sons. Wonderful and we don't want to leave. Immaculate,modern and charming, everything you need. Made feel so welcome. Would definite return.
Charlie and Family.

Date of stay: February 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The warm feeling and cleanliness of cottage
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura M
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed February 17, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Absolutely fantastic, clean, spacious and very well decorated. Everything we could have needed was in Birch Cottage for cooking meals in the evening. Edzell was quiet, peaceful but still had the amenities we needed, a shop etc. Debbie was a great host and made us feel very welcome, giving us helpful tips on where to go for lunch and walks.

Date of stay: February 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dpkingd
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Quiet and cosy cottage”
Reviewed February 11, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

My husband and I enjoyed a very peaceful 4 day break at the cottage. Had everything we needed and was delightfully cosy. Hours drive from Glenshee allowed us an easy day on the slopes during our stay. Debbie and Colin were terrific hosts.

Date of stay: February 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Warm and stylish
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah E
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed January 21, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My partner & I stayed here for 3 nights and all i can say is WOW !! Wouldnt change a thing. The cottage has been renovated to the highest of standard and has everything you could ever need and more! The wood burning stove is a lovely touch, infact everything about the place is just perfect!

Colin & Debbie were great and answered all our questions etc.

Will definitely be returning, perfect trip!

Date of stay: December 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing