We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good wee pet friendly hotel”
Review of Panmure Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Panmure Arms Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Edzell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2013

first of all food was excellent dinner and breakfast as good as I have eaten anywhere so very well done chef. room was nice and fresh, bed a bit on the hard side but ok , I had my springer with me and found some great walks in and near village which is a cracking wee place, only thing dogs not allowed in bar area due to people eating I presume, no problem for me as koki is well behaved in room alone . beware people out smoking right underneath my room was a bit of a racket until closing time, not a lot hotel can do about that but a pain all the same. all In all great hotel and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
There are newer reviews for Panmure Arms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 98 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2013

The Panmure Arms does what it sets out to do - provides reasonable accommodation, good food and great value. The rooms are adequate and have en suite facilities and tv, and there is good wi-fi throughout. The beds are comfortable - just don't expect 5 star accommodation when you are paying for 3 star. Our meals were first class - generous helpings and well cooked, with some interesting dishes. The crayfish starter, for example was excellent, and their steaks were first class, as was a delicious sea trout. This hotel is popular with people who have come to golf or fish, as well as explore the area

Room Tip: Aske for a room at the back if you want a quiet morning (though I was at the front and didn't fi...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ericmyra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

I can only give a average rating for location as i was travelling to Aberdeen which took over 1hr. Very friendly staff and excellent service. Good food. Comfortable rooms though the bathroom felt a little dated. Wifi available in bar and reception but did not extend to the room i had. Would recomend this hotel for business or leisure, I would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Met up with family for an after Christmas lunch. Excellent service but we were the only diners in dining room, menu varied and seasonal (crackers on the table,nice touch). Limited choice for vegetarians. Staff pleasant and welcoming. Clean and warm surroundings. Only down felt some dishes over priced for what they were. But would return.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Webhound P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We just booked this hotel on the evening that we wanted to stay and were pleasantly suprised, although the decor in the reception is, as others have said, extremely loud! Our room was small but perfectly adequate. We had dinner in the bar area, and I had the best steak which I have had in a very long time. We enjoyed our breakfast and it was very nicely cooked. I don't eat wheat and they were happy to give me oatcakes instead. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank poglette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We had our wedding here in September and the hotel was booked out with our friends and family – everyone we spoke to had a great time and were nothing but complementary about the facilities and staff. The wedding function itself went without a hitch with David overseeing the day for us! We stayed an extra day with some friends and had a very relaxing day with superb meal in the evening where we were given our own small dining room to continue our celebrations. The food was outstanding – a superb choice on the menu and a plentiful specials board. The breakfast was freshly cooked, made to order and absolutely delicious. The rooms were very comfortable and spotlessly clean – with plenty of clean towels and bedding. The hotel staff were outstanding and catered for our party needs with absolute ease – they are a credit to the hotel! We would highly recommend this hotel we had a fabulous weekend and didn’t want to leave the hotel to come home.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gerryhelmet_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed for two nights for friends wedding. Having read the other reviews, I have to agree that the decor is a dated.. However the staff were amazing, the food (breakfast, dinner and especially the wedding meal) was fab and our stay was thoroughly enjoyable. The Ritz it may not be, but it's relaxed, friendly, good value and I'd happily visit again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lousydinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edzell
0.3 mi away
Glenesk Hotel
Glenesk Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edzell
557 reviews
5.5 mi away
Northern Hotel
Northern Hotel
#2 of 2 in Brechin
241 reviews
10.0 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 5 in Montrose
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Panmure Hotel
Panmure Hotel
#27 of 28 in Dundee
228 reviews
17.7 mi away
The Town House Hotel Arbroath
10.0 mi away
Links Hotel
Links Hotel
#1 of 5 in Montrose
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panmure Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panmure Arms Hotel

Address: 52 High Street, Edzell, Brechin DD9 7TA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Brechin > Edzell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Edzell
Price Range: $100 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Panmure Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Panmure Arms Hotel is a family run hotel with the emphasis on quality and service. The hotel has Scottish Tourist Board three star rating, which we endeavor to maintain and increase at all times through our staff training in the service of our customers for accommodation, food and beverage. We will happily try and cater for every persons needs. The hotel is approximately forty miles away from Aberdeen and Dundee, which are the nearest main airports, or ten miles from Montrose and nine miles from Laurencekirk, which have train station. Transport, if required can be arranged for you whether it be by Taxi, mini bus or coach, all by very reliable and efficient local companies, Edzell Taxis or GlenEsk Travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Panmure Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panmure Arms Hotel Edzell, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing