We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice place to stay”
Review of Alexandra Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alexandra Lodge
Ranked #3 of 6 Edzell B&B and Inns
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A very nice place to stay”
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Very nice traditional large house with pleasant front garden and parking at the back. In a rather clean, pristine setting in Edzell, a tidy, well-scrubbed looking village. Bedrooms are rather typical B&B but comfortable and everything works; slept well. The breakfast room has bags of character and some amazing furniture. The owners are very pleasant and very knowledgeable. The whole thing has a nice homely aspect.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GealCarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
15
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Jennifer and Nick couldn't be nicer. Their very, very comfy bed is equalled only by their hospitality. We spent two nights with them while attending a wedding at Drumtochty Castle, and we will return to enjoy their lovely B&B and take in some of the many things to do in the area which on this occasion we did not have time for. Thank you Jen and Nick.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabre9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra089, Owner at Alexandra Lodge, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
Thank you, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Only just getting round to writing a review of this bed and breakfast. Stayed here last November amidst the first snow of the winter. The house is beautifully appointed as are the guest bedrooms Your hosts cannot do enough for you. A s we became snowed in we had to arrange to stay an extra night, and this was no problem. The breakfast was fantastic, beautifully presented and a great choice for all tastes, the full cooked Scottish breakfast was something special !!! The location is perfect. I was working in Aberdeen area and this was a pleasant change from being in the city centre. I would certainly have no hesitation in staying here again, and would most definately highly recommend this bed and breakfast

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra089, Owner at Alexandra Lodge, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
Thank you for your kind review. It would be lovely to see you again, hopefully without the snow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

I was booked in by a friend whose birthday party I was attending last weekend; never having been to Edzell before. It couldn't have been better - superb hosts (Jen and Nick), a warm welcome, a spacious and very clean, comfortable room, off-road parking and the most amazing breakfasts. many thanks to you both and congratulations on the way you run this first class guest house. I will certainly be back when I'm next in the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidnlowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra089, Owner at Alexandra Lodge, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
David, thank you so much for your kind comments, it will be our pleasure to see you again. Hopefully the tourist season will be calmer on your next visit and you may be able to park where you want to visit. I think all the guests enjoyed the party and we are pleased you all had a good weekend. Regards Jen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Fantastic bed and breakfast accommodation. Spotless room, great comfy bed and the BEST grilled breakfast that I have ever had! If you are staying in Edzell you have to stay here. Nick and Jennifer are oerfect hosts.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Norfor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra089, Owner at Alexandra Lodge, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
Thank you so much for your kind comments, I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully we will see again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 2, 2011

We have stayed at Alexandra Lodge three or four times over the last few years. It's an incredible place - tastefully decorated, in keeping with its Edwardian setting, with vintage and modern touches. It is cosy, comfortable, scrupulously clean but feels like a home, so much so that if I could live there I would! Nick & Jennifer are wonderful hosts and Jennifer cooks amazing healthy breakfasts. I have also brought my parents to stay there and they were equally delighted.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deirdre70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2010

Alexandra Lodge is just perfect, it is the only placed in the 6weeks I've been traveling that I have wanted to come back too & I did! The home is a home, Nick & Jennifer are just amazing Nick will give you the best info on places in and around the area Jennifer makes you feel like your family but at the same time she has the best service. The Breakfast is wonderful the fruit platter is mouth watering & always just always the most friendliest people to talk to. And you don't need a College degree to work out how the showers work! The lighting works the towels are lovely the beds are sooooo comfy the rooms warm & peaceful. The little community is just big enough you can get a lovely coffee & lunch, explore a Castle, even the Blue Door Garden walk is amazing. I loved my stay there & would happily recommend it to anyone looking for a home away from home but with the benefit of a little luxury. I'd spend a month there no worries!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moonsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edzell
0.1 mi away
Glenesk Hotel
Glenesk Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edzell
542 reviews
5.2 mi away
Northern Hotel
Northern Hotel
#2 of 2 in Brechin
230 reviews
0.3 mi away
Panmure Arms Hotel
Panmure Arms Hotel
#2 of 6 in Edzell
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Gramarcy House
Gramarcy House
#4 of 9 in Brechin
53 reviews
5.1 mi away
Townhead Bed and Breakfast
12.3 mi away
House of Mark
House of Mark
#1 of 1 in Glenesk
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Lodge

Property: Alexandra Lodge
Address: Alexandra Lodge Inveriscandye Road, Edzell, Brechin DD9 7TN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Brechin > Edzell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Edzell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly Bed and Breakfast in the village of Edzell at the foot of Glen Esk. Comfortable bedrooms with great facilites. Business and tourist customers most welcome. All credit/debit cards accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Alexandra Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Lodge Edzell, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing