We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rachel and Steve M -home from home!”
Review of Doune House

Doune House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edzell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Doune House
Ranked #4 of 6 Edzell B&B and Inns
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Rachel and Steve M -home from home!”
Reviewed March 6, 2012

We only had a one night stay at Doune house but it is certainly one we will remember.The room was clean and comfy and the breakfast was lovely.The best thing about this BandB though is the friendly atmosphere,we were made to feel so welcome by all the family.Sharon even insisted on making us up a flask to take on our walk!Felt like we had known them for years.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
11
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
dundee scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2011

A big thank you to Sharon and David for an excellent nights stay. Great breakfast, good big comfy room and homely feel. Must be one of the best B&B`s in the Scotland. ta again

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank talklikeanegyptian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
1 review
Reviewed October 5, 2011

There were 6 of us in the Doune Household for 4 nights. What a great experience moving in with Sharon, David and Tom. We were treated royally, the rooms were clean and comfy, the atmosphere was one of fun and laughter. No matter what our needs, Sharon provided or arranged for us. What a great host! I left some camera equipment by accident and Sharon mailed it to me in Canada on that very sameday. (It helped having the Postoffice right there.)
We had several things we wanted to explore in that area and Edzell proved to be a great place to base ourselves and Doune B&B was a fantastic place to stay!

Room Tip: We had the room upstairs which included a bathroom with a shower AND a BATHTUB, close by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gullane, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 15, 2011

Clean and comfortable, warm and welcoming. Very friendly owners and cyclist friendly. Perfect.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ghitchen50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2011

I agree with all reviews here so far - this B&B was excellent. Sharon could not have been more helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
Reviewed May 31, 2011

We stayed at Doune House for two nights late in May 2011. It is easily the best B&B we have ever stayed at. The service was excellent, with nothing too much for the proprietors, David and Sharon, to attend to. Our double room was spotlessly clean, as was the whole house, with the toilet more than adequate. The shower was very simple to operate - a big plus for that! The B&B is situated on the main street of Edzell, a delightful village in Angus, but the traffic outside is very light and there are no heavy lorries to spoil one's sleep. The bed was incredibly comfortable and we both slept like logs.
The highlight was breakfast, which was prepared and served by Sharon. The fresh fruit was outstanding - mostly local and the freshest we have ever had.
No downsides to this B&B at all. We will certainly return to Doune House if we need a B&B in this area.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2011

From the moment we arrivied to the moment we left we were one of the family, Sharon is the perfect host and her home is your home. The bedrooms were well equiped and clean the bathroom had little extras to make you feel at home with plent of hot water when required. The breakfast suberb and nothing is to much trouble extra toast extra bread everything locally sourced.
I need an excuse to return to edzell so i can go back to my home from home

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WilmaB24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edzell hotels
0.2 mi away
Glenesk Hotel
Glenesk Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edzell
535 reviews
0.1 mi away
Panmure Arms Hotel
Panmure Arms Hotel
#2 of 6 in Edzell
88 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alexandra Lodge
Alexandra Lodge
#3 of 6 in Edzell
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doune House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doune House

Property: Doune House
Address: 24 High Street, Edzell, Brechin DD9 7TA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Brechin > Edzell
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Edzell
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doune House is well situated for walking, cycling, golfing, fishing, shooting or just relaxing. We pride ourselves on using local produce. With have a downstairs double room with en-suite, we have two other rooms with private bathrooms, we also offer a guest sitting room, though all rooms have TV, tea making tray, hairdryers etc, there is a drying room & can always find room in the shed or garage for bikes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Doune House Edzell, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing