We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Making Fathers Day Special”
Review of Glenesk Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glenesk Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Edzell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We took my elderly parents here for Father's Day. The staff were very friendly helpful and patient! Food was excellent as was the service and prices were very reasonable. We live in Edinburgh and will definitely be back next time we visit my parents, The Glenesk could easily give many far pricier Edinburgh eateries a run for their money.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcell C, General Manager at Glenesk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Dear guest,
thank you for your review and much appreciated feedback after your visit on Fathers day.
At Glenesk Hotel we are aiming to be cost effective and value your input and comparison regarding Edinburgh food outlets very much. Each and every guest are important to us and when guest like yourselves decide to celebrate a special occasion or event with us, we feel privileged.
I am delighted that you have enjoyed your time at Glenesk Hotel and I am looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Marcell Cilliers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (574)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

501 - 507 of 574 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2013

If you like a traditional looking hotel then this is it. Food was excellent and staff welcomed our wee dog into the front lounge at dinner and breakfast. It was like private dining. Highly recommended. Staff very helpful.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Gail K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcell C, General Manager at Glenesk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

Dear guest,
thank you for your review and feedback regarding Glenesk Hotel.
At Glenesk our guests are most welcome to bring their pets with and they will soon find out that the owner dog - Kingston - is without a doubt the boss here.
It was a delight having you at the hotel and your dog was so well mannered and a joy to have here.
We are looking forward to welcoming you at the hotel again and please do not hesitate to bring your special four legged friend with for a future visit.
Thank you very much for your comments regarding our cuisine and I will share your view with our kitchen brigade.
Kind regards,
Marcell Cilliers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Just returned from a 5 night stay at the Glenesk. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. The owners and staff could not do enough to make our stay a great one. The refurbishment when finished will be knock out, can't wait to go back to see it all in its glory, will they find the ballroom?.
Thank you all for making our stay perfick.
Hutchings (room 28)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HRHNottinghamEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcell C, General Manager at Glenesk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Mr & Mrs Hutchings,

it was a true delight having you at the hotel.Thank you very much for your review and comments regarding the Glenesk Hotel.
We have since your visit and with great curiosity, spoke about the beautiful chandelier room with the potentially covered rosewood dance floor safe guarding a century of elegance, history and charm.
Thank you for your positive input which is much appreciated and we are looking forward to sharing the final revelation of the upgraded and renovated Glenesk Hotel in the near future.
Kind regards,
Marcell Cilliers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

First class staff (Chris) was most helpful and attentive. I would go back tomorrow is I could as my room was spotless and the breakfast was lovely. The veiw of the golf course was impressive and made our short visit very enjoyable. Worth every penny.

Room Tip: Didn't have time to use the spa but will try and be back to sample.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Les6090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcell C, General Manager at Glenesk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time out to share your view regarding Glenesk Hotel.
I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your comment regarding our team member Chris and his performance.
With the hotel in the process of a major renovation project, we are aiming to do the upgrading and improvements with as little as possible effect to our guests.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back at Glenesk Hotel in the future and once again would like to thank you for your review.
Kind regards,
Marcell Cilliers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Although we only stayed one night, May 16, 2013, we thoroughly enjoyed the hospitality and excellent service in this hotel. The meals, especially the generous breakfast layout, were very delicious, the room spacious and comfortable, the staff extremely helpful and courteous and we highly recommend this hotel to any traveller who visits the beautiful country of Scotland.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Gisela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcell C, General Manager at Glenesk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your kind words and much valued review.
Our aim at Glenesk Hotel is to look after every guest with individual attention and to make their stay memorable.
I am delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for sharing with us your view regarding the breakfast buffet.
I hope that when you visit Scotland again, you will come to visit for it will always a pleasure having you at Glenesk Hotel.

Kind regards,
Marcell Cilliers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Had a fantastic week here last week. The new owners have really grabbed it by the neck and given it a good shake up. The food is brilliant and much better than what we were expecting. The place is good and clean and the service is fantastic. It's still got lots of work to be done but you have to support what they are trying to do here as it's a massive place and needs lots of work still. Avoid room 27 as it's tiny but I had one night in room 8 and that was brilliant. We didn't even mind playing snooker on a table with a huge tear in it as it's all part of the charm. The plastic flowers and other naff bits will hopefully be skipped as the staff and house are fantastic. We were Salmon fishing for a week with rods and dogs everywhere. No problems just solutions :)

Room Tip: If you can afford not having room 27 or the other single avoid. I'm 6'2" and was hangin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carney T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcell C, General Manager at Glenesk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear guest,

thank you for your much valued review.
Your observation regarding room 27 is very valid but you will be pleased to know that the renovation program is currently focusing on that room. The bathroom is finished and the finishing touches are added to it at the moment.
I am delighted to read that you were satisfied with room 8 but hopefully when you are visiting us in future you will be able to enjoy the upgraded and newly renovated room 8.
We always take observations and comments on board and can guarantee you that the decor will reflect our aim and style in due course.
I do appreciate your mentioning regarding the cuisine and service and I will share your comments with my team.
I am looking forward to having you again at Glenesk Hotel and hope that you will be pleasantly surprised with the renovation process by then and we will make sure that room 27 is up to expectation for our future guests,
Kind regards,
Marcell Cilliers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

My husband regually visits Scotland on business and chanced upon this little gem of a hotel this week. He was particually impressed with the staff, whom he said were all so attentive and personable and was impressed by their smartness and attention to detail. Booking at the last minuet he was only able to get a small ' last one left' room, but he found this more than adequate for his needs, very clean, comfy and with the added advantages of a glorious view and scottish shortbread. He throughly enjoyed his meals, the breakfast freshly cooked to order and dinner very enjoyable. Only a small hotel, attention to detail and customer service make it somewhere he will definately be going back to next time he's going over the border.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delilah83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcell C, General Manager at Glenesk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your review for Glenesk Hotel.

We are approaching the end of a very large renovation project. I am delighted that you have enjoyed your stay, cuisine and service.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at Glenesk Hotel and trust that you will appreciate the changes that we brought on with the upgrading to the hotel.

Thank you very much again for your much appreciated input.
Kind regards,
Marcell Cilliers
GM at Glenesk Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edzell
5.1 mi away
Northern Hotel
Northern Hotel
#2 of 2 in Brechin
246 reviews
24.9 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
21.5 mi away
Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Douneside House
Douneside House
#1 of 2 in Aboyne
286 reviews
21.4 mi away
Corner Hotel
Corner Hotel
#2 of 2 in Carnoustie
137 reviews
9.7 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#1 of 5 in Montrose
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenesk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenesk Hotel

Address: High Street, Edzell, Brechin DD9 7TF, Scotland (Formerly The Glenesk Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Brechin > Edzell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Edzell
Price Range: $117 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenesk Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close your eyes and think of a hotel that is set in some of Scotland's most spectacular countryside. A hotel that offers traditional four star luxury and that vital ingredient of owner attention. Picture a hotel that is only a short wedge away from a championship golf course, and is within a short drive of such courses as Carnoustie and St. Andrews. Visualise a hotel that offers shooting, fishing, hill walking breaks and golf packages to suit all standards and tastes. Imagine a hotel which boasts fine cuisine, from traditional Scottish breakfasts to a la carte dinners all expertly prepared by our award winning chef. Now, turn these pictures into reality by visiting the Glenesk Hotel in picturesque Edzell. A village famed for its success in Britain in Bloom and is a superb holiday base with a Historic Scottish Castle, folk museum and many tourist attractions. Our well equipped leisure club offers guests free use of the swimming pool, sauna, hot tub, steam room, fitness suite and snooker room. Combine this with the wide range of locally available outdoor pursuits and you'll realise why Glenesk Hotel is the perfect place to get away to it all. Catering for parties between 1 and 200, Glenesk Hotel prides itself on an outstanding reputation and is classed second to none on event and conference management. Whether you come for an overnight stay, a weekend or a two week holiday, you'll always be assured of a warm welcome and will soon see why guests who visit the hotel come back again and again. Numerous distilleries, to name just a few, Fettercairn and Glencadam offer tours to our guests. 4 star Visit Scotland Glenesk Hotel is ideal for shooting, fishing and hill walking breaks in spectacular countryside just 45 minutes drive from Aberdeen or Dundee airports. For convenience of our guests we offer transfer service to and from many destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Glenesk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenesk Hotel Edzell, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing