We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golfing Break”
Review of Glenesk Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glenesk Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Edzell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2012

We have just returned from a four day break at the Glenesk Hotel. We had a most enjoyable visit. The hotel is ideal for a golfing holiday, as the Edzell Course is just next door with easy access.
The owners and staff were most welcoming and friendly and provided excellent service.The food was of very good Quality, with generous portions.
The hotel has very recently changed hands and the new owner is redressing previous problems including an improvement and refurbishment program which will result in a most desirable holiday destination in this beautiful country location. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Elspeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DylanWren, Owner at Glenesk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

Dear Guest, it was an absolute pleasure to have your party at our hotel so early in the changeover of ownership, thank you very much from all our team for your genuine comments and we hope to welcome you back to the Glenesk. We can assure you of our best attention at all times in as you said and we aim to deserve to be called “a most desirable holiday destination in this beautiful country location”.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (581)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

566 - 572 of 581 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Elvira_am
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, General Manager at Glenesk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dlf512017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, General Manager at Glenesk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alain3227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, General Manager at Glenesk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Mawit26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, General Manager at Glenesk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dsander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, General Manager at Glenesk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pierandrea77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, General Manager at Glenesk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edzell
5.1 mi away
Northern Hotel
Northern Hotel
#2 of 2 in Brechin
248 reviews
24.9 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
21.5 mi away
Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Douneside House
Douneside House
#1 of 2 in Aboyne
292 reviews
9.7 mi away
Links Hotel
Links Hotel
#1 of 5 in Montrose
306 reviews
17.2 mi away
Glen Clova Hotel
Glen Clova Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milton of Clova
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenesk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenesk Hotel

Address: High Street, Edzell, Brechin DD9 7TF, Scotland (Formerly The Glenesk Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Brechin > Edzell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Edzell
Price Range: $119 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenesk Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glenesk Hotel is situated in the beautiful 'Britain in Bloom' award-winning village of Edzell at the foot of the Angus Glens. Both Aberdeen and Dundee airports can be reached within 40 minutes. Packages include Airport/Railway or any other daily Transfer to and from the hotel for individuals and groups. 360 Bar, the Guinness World Record holder for The most varieties of whisky commercially available, offers over 1000 malts, 200 gins, 80 rums, 70 vodkas and 60 ales. Traditional Scottish Menu is served in Fairways Restaurant and Golf View Cafe Bar; all ingredients are delivered daily by local butchers, fishmongers and farmers. Plenty of public Lounges, Leisure Club with a swimming pool, steam, hot tub, sauna, small gym and Games Room with a full size snooker table, spacious Car Park, large Gardens, Wi-Fi. The hotel residents and parties are offered special rates at adjoining Edzell Golf Club. An ideal destination for an overnight stay, a weekend break or a long holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Glenesk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenesk Hotel Edzell, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing