We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it”
Review of The River Shack

The River Shack
Price range: $8 - $12
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: A small licensed riverside cafe. Offering good quality, local produce. Outstanding location with plenty to do for the entire family. See you soon!
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

If you want a peaceful spot where you can park outside and eat al fresco while watching the swans swim past and listen to the village church chime, this is it. They do themed nights too with pizza and tapas on the menu but do book as they don't have a huge capacity. We loved it

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dawn on holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl J, Owner at The River Shack, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Hi Dawn.
Thankyou for you comments. So nice to hear you like our little café/bar, you make it sound very nice.
Our Pizza/Tapas/BBQ evenings have been very popular & we do advise booking during the summer to avoid any disappoint. We make up & cook our fresh pizzas to order & have to try to limit orders to within the capacity of the kitchen/stone-based pizza oven.
Hope to see you again. Many thanks, Karl.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
There are newer reviews for The River Shack
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

177 - 181 of 218 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Just been to the River Shack with family and have been several times before over the years and its always been lovely. The setting is fab, right by the river and loads of families 'crabbing' much to everyone's amusement. We just had tea/coffee and cake on this occasion and the cake was locally made and really nice . HOWEVER, some of the staff really need to have lessons in how to make and present a cup of tea. I had two mugs of tea plonked on the counter, ready made with the milk in, we weren't asked how we wanted our tea, I assumed it would be a pot of tea that we could put milk in ourselves, not a mug of something the colour of dirty milk it was so weak I had to ask for another t-bag in both so that it had time to brew. The young lady who served us clearly didn't have a clue what a good cup of tea looked like. Overall a lovely place to go and the food is generally very good but for heavens sake this is Britain, they should know who to make a good cup of tea!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank DollyD27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl J, Owner at The River Shack, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Hi.
Glad you enjoyed you visit and cake.
As to the hassle of having to ask for another tea bag to make it stronger, I can only beg your forgiveness. Rest assured the young girl was remorselessly flogged & then sacked. She shall not be making that mistake again. As you say, this is little Britain after all.
Take care, Karl.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely lunch in a great setting. The service was excellent and capped off a lovely day. We will certainly come back again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jerseybrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl J, Owner at The River Shack, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Hello Brent.
Thanks so much for your short & to the point review. Gives the whole crew a lift when people enjoy/appreciate their efforts.
Hope to see you soon, Karl.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Visited just before leaving Devon and the location is fantastic and peaceful with a lovely river view. The cafe is very well maintained and clean. Parking £3.20 for an hour or the day but nothing to do with RS as mentioned. Bought all our crabbing stuff from there, the tall man behind the counter briefly explained what we needed to do (never crabbed before!) and walked a few steps to the rivers edge. What followed was almost a couple of hours of unadulterated pleasure for the kids of close to instant gratification - catching crabs in a few minutes. Same man came out to check how we were doing twice, and gave us advice.
Cafe might be expensive, but for the location, ambience and quality of food, fully worth it. Highly recommend a few hours at this place.

    • Atmosphere
    • Service
1  Thank storm000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl J, Public Relations Manager at The River Shack, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Hi.
Thankyou for taking the time to write your review. Glad to hear you enjoyed our food, location & that the kids had a great time crabbing on the quay. Don't tell everyone the best spots though!!
Take care, Karl. (the tall, good-looking, gentleman)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We were staying opposite the River Shack, so it was fantastic to be able to pop over for a glass of wine, and to sit outside overlooking the Mill Pool, or the River Dart. We ate on two evenings when they had alfresco dining (would've been 3 but they were fully booked). The Pizzas are pretty good and reaonable value, but if you are expecting a Prezzo or Pizza Express quality PIzza, think again - they dont have a pizza oven.
The Tapas was pretty good too, given the size of the kitchen the chef does a great job, we loved it and so did the kids. Nice local Cider, and a good selection of wine..... and a 10 yard walk home !
BTW - Crabbing is great at Stoke Gabriel, even for us oldies..... and I'm told by the wife and kids that the Kayaking is fab too.

Thank MikeNorthamptonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl J, Owner at The River Shack, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Hello Mike.
Thanks for your review. Glad you enjoyed your time with us but feel I must correct one point, our pizzas are top quality, made to order, using the very best ingredients and are cooked in our specialist gas fired stonebased pizza oven. Perhaps, with our pizza prices starting at £6.50 this isn't always appreciated.
Hope that helps.
Regards Karl.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The River Shack also viewed

Stoke Gabriel, Totnes
Stoke Gabriel, Totnes
 
Stoke Gabriel, Totnes
Paignton, English Riviera
 

Been to The River Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing