We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 Star EVERYTHING!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stoke Gabriel Lodgings

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stoke Gabriel Lodgings
Certificate of Excellence
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“5 Star EVERYTHING!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

The title say it all, from the location to the rooms to the genuine warm welcome extended on arrival and throughout our stay, it really is a jewel of a find! David and Helen were overseas when we visited but we had the amazing Bryoney to look after us and made us feel like we were family friends rather than guests.
Already planning our next trip back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
60
151
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

this is an exceptional property only 4 years old, village facing rooms all with balconies. Very modern interiors, all spotless. The welcome was great and both Helen and David the owners could not of helped us more. they kindly provided a rower for my energetic husband, bunk rooms for our boys and a stunning rear facing room for our daughter with a huge ensuite bath.

breakfast was wonderful on both mornings with choices including eggs Benedict, fresh fruits, and pastries.

David and Helen then made recommendations on walking routes and booked us in at a local restaurant Emma,s in the village- a really good meal and very good value.

Room Tip: Choose a room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We spent 10 days in “Stoke Gabriel Lodgings”, and enjoyed our best B&B ever had on every day.
David´s assistance started with a pack of brochures what to do in Devon and around and offered his help for special interests such as gardens, museums, etc. some weeks before holydays starts. The arrival was a warmest welcome by Helen and David, topped by a delicious Devon Cream Tea. Our dog was also very welcome, and pet lover David pets her every time we met him.

“Stoke Gabriel Lodgings” was built in 2010, with luxurious and spacious rooms with separated balconies on the front side, with a beautiful view overlooking the village and river Dart. The rooms are well equipped with tea/coffee making facilities with “real” coffee, daily refilled cookies, mineral water and fresh milk in a refrigerator on the floor. The cupboard provides enough space for all our clothes, as well as the mirrored bathroom cabinet. Pictures and other accessories shows a love for details and harmony in colors.
The breakfast is really overwhelming! Pure orange juice, fresh fruits such as strawberries, blueberries, mangos, different kinds of homemade jams, pastries and croissants completes the Full English breakfast in several varieties (try the eggs “Florentine” with salmon and spinach).
The breakfast tables (solid wood, like most furniture) are joined to the open kitchen, so the preparation of the breakfast is shortened by David´s never ending helpfulness when we´re not sure how to plan the day. Also, his socializing and “bringing the guests together” creates such a friendly and familiar atmosphere.
Thanks, Helen & David, for these wonderful 10 days at “Stoke Gabriel Lodgings”, which is well worth to visit again.

By the way, we already booked our holidays for next year at this lovely B&B.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Conny_Helmut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We visited David and Helen at the end of August 2012 for a short break in Stoke Gabriel. Since our return I have been meaning to write this review but really wanted to choose my words carefully in order to convey what a fabulous place it is to stay. I have failed miserably to come up with anything that explains the welcome we received, the standard of accommodation and delicious breakfasts we encountered, so I'm not going to try any more. I'm just going to write that it was absolutely wonderful and I would return without a moment of hesitation. Thanks to David and Helen for brilliant break - the first thing I did on return was try to recreate your eggs benedict - I failed :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ali1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cwmbran
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

I hope not too many people read this review as we wanted to keep this find a secret. Helen and David have provided modern welcoming well appointed accomodation. The attention to detail is incredible. We had a "wet room" which also included a large bath. The breakfast is memorable. David is a mine of local information and we really felt that we were welcome guests.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ivanj30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Almost didn't write this, as wanted to keep it a secret! What a find, Wolsey Lodges has come up trumps again with Helen and David's Devonshire retreat. Have just returned from a short break to SGL's and what a welcome. Had the most comfortable of rooms everything down to the smallest detail has been considered when planning this most modern, well designed yet 'homely' establishment. From the time you arrive, you are totally spoilt by the idyllic surroundings and hospitality from your hosts, with their knowledge of interesting places to visit, whatever the weather. The breakfast is on a par with any of the big Brand hotels and is served in a beautiful dining room with stunning views in a relaxed and friendly environment. Be prepared for the rather steep incline when you get there to head up the drive, but once you've mastered it once, then it's a doddle. Would certainly hope to return, but will need to book in advance as it's certainly a popular choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KafB786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Bookham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed there in June 2012. This is a lovely place to stay. Located in a small village on a hill above the Dart Estuary the accommodation is beautifully appointed, modern, with lovely bedding and newly fitted bathrooms (ours just had a shower but at least one room has a bath as well). Our room had an estuary view. The hosts, Helen and David, are warm and welcoming (fresh Devon cream tea on arrival) with lots of helpful ideas where to eat and visit and maps and guides galore to borrow.
Breakfast is wonderful, with a buffet or fresh fruits, cereals, pastries, lovely breads etc and an extensive menu of cooked breakfasts all wonderfully cooked up in the huge kitchen/breakfast room (the Eggs Benedict are divine!) and sharing conversations with your fellow guests and hosts. A really pleasant start to the day.
The village is small but there are a couple of local pubs serving decent food in a very local traditional environment. We preferred the food at the Church House Inn and if you are there on a Sunday night expect to be invited to join the pub quiz. There are a lot of good restaurants and pubs a short drive away and the hosts will point you in the right direction depending on what you are looking for.
This place was a great find and we are wary of telling too many people in case we can't get a reservation for our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GBoy912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke Gabriel
3.2 mi away
Royal Seven Stars Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Old Forge at Totnes
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton South - Brixham Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Durant Arms
The Durant Arms
#1 of 1 in Ashprington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Cott Inn
The Cott Inn
#2 of 5 in Dartington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
4.5 mi away
Dartington Hall
Dartington Hall
#1 of 5 in Dartington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoke Gabriel Lodgings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoke Gabriel Lodgings

Property: Stoke Gabriel Lodgings
Address: Badgers Retreat, Orchard Close, Paignton Road, Stoke Gabriel, Totnes TQ9 6SX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Totnes > Stoke Gabriel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Stoke Gabriel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Stoke Gabriel Lodgings 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning modern architecture, bright open living spaces and incredible views are the hallmarks of Stoke Gabriel Lodgings, a Wolsey Lodge luxury bed and breakfast (B&B) that is quite distinctly different. Set high above the River Dart just outside the quintessentially English village of Stoke Gabriel, near Totnes in Devon, the house was completed in 2010 and has been designed to take full advantage of its elevated location deep in the Devon countryside. On arrival in Stoke Gabriel you will be warmly greeted by your hosts David and Helen and offered a classic Devon cream tea and a chance to take in your rather special surroundings. The luxury B&B guest accommodation features rooms that are spacious and lavishly furnished with comfortable seating areas, televisions and delicious offerings on tea trays. The en-suite bathrooms are equally well thought out and designed complete with wet shower areas and heated towel rails for added comfort. Patio doors open to your own private balcony overlooking the garden and Devon countryside – a perfectly quiet retreat to enjoy the peaceful Stoke Gabriel location. Oak floors and furniture of the guest living and dining rooms reflect the contemporary light and airy ambiance whilst outside the newly planted garden landscape is best enjoyed from the large terrace or conservatory. Breakfast offers an array of cooked delights whilst dinner can be taken at one of the many excellent local pubs and restaurants. Your Hosts: As hoteliers for over 30 years, David and Helen Littlefair know exactly what their B&B guests expect and, together with their three grown-up daughters have created a lovely family home to share. Holidaying in Stoke Gabriel for many years before building a home here, their intimate knowledge of the best places to visit are eagerly shared with guests staying at their rather special, luxury accommodation. The Location: Stoke Gabriel Lodgings is located in Stoke Gabriel, near Totnes in Devon. National Trust and English Heritage properties as well as the South Devon Coastal Path, beaches galore and the diversely interesting towns of Brixham, Dartmouth, Totnes, Paignton and Torquay are all within reach. Above all, why not make this luxury bed and breakfast accommodation your base for exploring the wild open splendour of Dartmoor, perfect for walking and cycling and so much more. Attractions Near Stoke Gabriel Lodgings: Dartmouth & River Dart, Greenway House & Gardens (former home of Agatha Christie), Coleton Fishacre & Gardens (D'oyley Carte family's former home), Compton, Totnes & Dartmouth Castles, Beaches at Goodrington Sands, Broadsands, Preston, Blackpool Sands & Slapton Sands, South Devon Steam Railway, Dartington Hall Education Centre, Benedectine Monk's Buckfast Abbey, South Devon Coastal path for walks, Fishing port of Brixham. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Stoke Gabriel Lodgings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoke Gabriel Lodgings Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing