We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stoke Gabriel Lodgings
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Real Gem”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

What a find! We had a wonderful stay at Stoke Gabriel Lodgings.

A stunning contemporary home in a great position in pretty Stoke Gabriel. 5* luxury accommodation with views over the village and the River Dart with fabulous hosts who go above and beyond to make you welcome. Great location for exploring the many treats that Devon has to offer.

We can't speak highly enough of this accommodation and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it - we'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Penny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
59
157
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Helen and David are superb hosts in their stunning home. My first visit during a rather wet weekend in early July was faultless. Nothing was too much trouble and I would recommend anyone who is visiting the area to pay a visit, even in the rain it is a rare treat.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Title says it all really. From the warm welcome to the goodbyes our stay was the best ever. The property is stunning, the rooms are amazing, the breakfast is fantastic and David and Helen the most welcoming of proprietors. Enough said!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shunt361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We have never experienced such a warm welcome, which included a delicious cream team. The rooms were excellent, spacious and the attention to detail was excellent. We only wished that our stay could have been longer.

Room Tip: All rooms are on the front with balconies and a lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josephine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

It is hardly surprising that this is a five star establishment. The accommodation is the best we have stayed at, the hosts are friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Also, you cannot fault the breakfasts. All in all and wonderful stay - pity about the weather - still you cannot have everything.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheshirecheshire13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
64 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed for a week in May and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. There was a lovely warm welcome (cream tea included) and throughout the week Helen and David went out of their way to give advice on where to go and restaurants in the area. The bedroom was huge, beautifully furnished and had a balcony looking out over the Dart Valley. We rarely eat a cooked breakfast (though these were cooked to order and looked excellent) but the alternatives (yoghurts, fresh fruits and pastries) were lovely and varied during the week. We definitely recommend Badgers Retreat and look forward to returning.

Room Tip: All rooms with balconies are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lancashire user
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

I have stayed with David and Helen now twice a year sometimes more for the past 2 or 3 years and each time it get better. I feel very much at home and welcome. The occomodation is 5* and I have stayed in some of the best Hotels in the world over my life but would much rather stay here than any of them. The Breakfast choise is better than most good hotels, with friendly service and great hospitality. Hope to see you all again soon

Room Tip: The Three Front rooms with Balcony and views of the Village and Dart are just breathtaking
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdvantageBizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke Gabriel
3.2 mi away
Royal Seven Stars Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Old Forge at Totnes
1.8 mi away
The Durant Arms
The Durant Arms
#1 of 1 in Ashprington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa
3.9 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton South - Brixham Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoke Gabriel Lodgings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoke Gabriel Lodgings

Property: Stoke Gabriel Lodgings
Address: Badgers Retreat, Orchard Close, Paignton Road, Stoke Gabriel, Totnes TQ9 6SX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Totnes > Stoke Gabriel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Stoke Gabriel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Stoke Gabriel Lodgings 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning modern architecture, bright open living spaces and incredible views are the hallmarks of Stoke Gabriel Lodgings, a Wolsey Lodge luxury bed and breakfast (B&B) that is quite distinctly different. Set high above the River Dart just outside the quintessentially English village of Stoke Gabriel, near Totnes in Devon, the house was completed in 2010 and has been designed to take full advantage of its elevated location deep in the Devon countryside. On arrival in Stoke Gabriel you will be warmly greeted by your hosts David and Helen and offered a classic Devon cream tea and a chance to take in your rather special surroundings. The luxury B&B guest accommodation features rooms that are spacious and lavishly furnished with comfortable seating areas, televisions and delicious offerings on tea trays. The en-suite bathrooms are equally well thought out and designed complete with wet shower areas and heated towel rails for added comfort. Patio doors open to your own private balcony overlooking the garden and Devon countryside – a perfectly quiet retreat to enjoy the peaceful Stoke Gabriel location. Oak floors and furniture of the guest living and dining rooms reflect the contemporary light and airy ambiance whilst outside the newly planted garden landscape is best enjoyed from the large terrace or conservatory. Breakfast offers an array of cooked delights whilst dinner can be taken at one of the many excellent local pubs and restaurants. Your Hosts: As hoteliers for over 30 years, David and Helen Littlefair know exactly what their B&B guests expect and, together with their three grown-up daughters have created a lovely family home to share. Holidaying in Stoke Gabriel for many years before building a home here, their intimate knowledge of the best places to visit are eagerly shared with guests staying at their rather special, luxury accommodation. The Location: Stoke Gabriel Lodgings is located in Stoke Gabriel, near Totnes in Devon. National Trust and English Heritage properties as well as the South Devon Coastal Path, beaches galore and the diversely interesting towns of Brixham, Dartmouth, Totnes, Paignton and Torquay are all within reach. Above all, why not make this luxury bed and breakfast accommodation your base for exploring the wild open splendour of Dartmoor, perfect for walking and cycling and so much more. Attractions Near Stoke Gabriel Lodgings: Dartmouth & River Dart, Greenway House & Gardens (former home of Agatha Christie), Coleton Fishacre & Gardens (D'oyley Carte family's former home), Compton, Totnes & Dartmouth Castles, Beaches at Goodrington Sands, Broadsands, Preston, Blackpool Sands & Slapton Sands, South Devon Steam Railway, Dartington Hall Education Centre, Benedectine Monk's Buckfast Abbey, South Devon Coastal path for walks, Fishing port of Brixham. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Stoke Gabriel Lodgings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoke Gabriel Lodgings Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing