We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Lunch”

The Ginger Fox Public House
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Albourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $33 - $51
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Maidstone, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Family Lunch”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We booked for a large party for Sunday lunchtime. We were able to secure the upstairs room where around sixteen of us from as far as Lancashire travelled for a 40th birthday. Staff were intelligent, responsive and attentive. We had two children of 4 & 2 plus a baby. the food was well cooked and clearly freshly prepared. The youngsters food arrived first & their roast dinner was wolfed down! Staff even recognised that one guest was supervising children in the garden & brought their tea directly into the garden! my bill was high with service included, but with numerous loyally card stamps I felt well fed & served.
Star were the lovely staff. i felt very comfortable in their hands!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    312
    154
    68
    35
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Vastly improved under new management”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I ate here once about four years ago. There were a party of 12 and we were massively disappointment. This time however, we were stunned. The service, food and atmosphere was so much better. The mussel starter and duck breast are highly recommended. Very attentive staff, beautifully presented food and not bad value for money. Will definitely be coming back again as we are members of Wickwoods around the corner and can pop in on the way home.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sussex_Reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
“great night big thank you ginger foxes”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

My wife and i visited the ginger fox for the first time last night and we had a great evening. Our waitress couldn't have made us feel more welcome,Taking our wet coats, offering us drinks in the "comfy seats", Taking us to a table (with bread and water waiting) moments before our food arrived.....The food was first class too- just define.
We will definatly be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ian t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We went to the Restaurant on Mothering Sunday. We were a party of10 and had a booking at 12 30 pm.
All in all it was not bad, but the menu choice was very limited and the food was not that great

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ravi41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Food great-thats all”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Arrived at the restaurant,its very very tired looking internally,rotten wooden windows and in need of a paint job,with food splashes on the ceiling,also RIP OFF DRINKS ,small bottles coke £2.00 ,if out the gun £1.50.

Now then why should such a restaurant have such good food and such a manky front of house?

Tried booking a table by phone,answer phone ,never got a call back.

Staff very slow getting drinks whilst you are eating when you need one !!!!!!!

Also with out of date offers/coupons on the table.

Its about the whole experience,not just the food,sadly 5/10

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PETER190761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ginger Fox Public House also viewed

 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to The Ginger Fox Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing