We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food in nice pub near Downs”

The Ginger Fox Public House
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Albourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $32 - $51
Cuisines: Bar, European, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
129 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great food in nice pub near Downs”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Warm and cosy busy pub near the Downs and not far from Devils Dyke / Brighton. Had Crispy cuttlefish starter which was fantastic then Roast beef followed by Sticky Toffee pudding which was great. The server was a little blunt & inattentive but the food was great which made up for it. Reservations recommended as we even had to wait for a space in the car park!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amberleyadrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    149
    66
    34
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton England
Level Contributor
108 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Consistently good.”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We've eaten at the Ginger Fox several times recently and the food and service remain consitently good. We live in Brighton but the short drive out of town is well worth it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bramejat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Food & Service”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I took my ladyfriend to the Ginger Fox for a birthday meal, having read some good reviews about the place on-line. We not disappointed, both the service and meal were excellent. In fact I would go as far as to say it was probably the best meal out we have experienced for quite some time. The food was exceptionatily well cooked and presented. The menu was varied and catered well for all tastes. The staff were efficient and friendly but not overbearing which made a refreshing change. I would definitely recommend the Ginger Fox.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank moongazergt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex UK
Level Contributor
84 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Super Food, Super Choice”
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Went for husbands birthday dinner and it was a good choice. I had a vegetarian platter and loved having the variety. He had a hogget pie and we both had decadently rich puddings eith his decorated with 'Happy Birthday' ~ a nice touch. We both had pepermint tea-fresh leaves in a diffuser pot. Service excellent and friendly. Lovely warm restaurant on a cold cold night. Book in advance ad its always busy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ValCart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“An average rating flatters the fox!”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Just returned from a Saturday lunch with the family. The experience was a real mixed bag, so for the convenience of Trip Advisor readers, here's a breakdown of the scores: the Car Park not gritted (there was an inch of snow on the ground) and I find this simply unacceptable; the welcome was excellent, friendly and warm; the (six) main courses arrived in stages (the time taken between the first and the last dish being delivered to the table was approx 5 minutes); five out of the six main courses were very disappointing; one steak was overdone and three 'beef cheek' meals were frankly very poor (I think the chef's ambition and talent were not well matched); the desserts were delicious and went some way to rescuing the occasion; Spanish house red was very good; overall, the service was also very good. However, we all left the restaurant feeling a little cheated of a great meal; instead the overall experience was rather underwhelming and for which we paid £36 a head.

It is so important that somewhere like the Ginger Fox gets it right; why? because the restaurant is located in a rather remote rural position and you have to make quite an effort to get there. Would I go back; probably not. Why make an effort to get there and be charged £36 for what frankly amounted to a poor meal, albeit followed by a decent pud. The 'effort:reward' ratio simply doesn't add up; instead, I'd rather go for a modest menu selection at the Gingerman and save the money spent on petrol. It doesn't surprise me that other recent diners have reported a 'disappointing' experience. It's a shame but the restaurant really needs to check that it can deliver on the menu; current performance would suggest that they have a way to go yet.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AnonSept2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ginger Fox Public House also viewed

 
Hove, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to The Ginger Fox Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing