We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HIGHLY RECOMMENDED”
Review of Cottages Monreale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cottages Monreale
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“HIGHLY RECOMMENDED”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

My partner & I recently stayed 2 nights at Cottages Monreale and we are already planning another stay. We would recommend to all that a visit to the Dandenong’s, that the place to stay is Cottages Monreale. From the moment we arrived, the pleasant greeting from the host’s to the tranquil settings and beautifully presented accommodation, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. With peaceful and amazing surroundings, this is the perfect place for couples,
Michael & Jenny

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    11
    1
    3
    7
See reviews for
4
51
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed June 18, 2014

My wife and I had the most wonderful visit to Cottages Monreale last year. The accommodation was excellent, comfortable and warm. The staff were welcoming and kind, and the information they provided concerning the area was extremely helpful.
I strongly recommend Cottages Monreale to anyone who wants a romantic weekend in the hills.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

WARNING
as others have noted these people are scam artists!
Lacking of customer service
Horribly outdated (it may be of a "Victorian" period but no one ever liked an outdated kitchen !
Disgusting fake flowers every where
(Hello are you that stingy you can't afford real ones)
Do not come here
There are many nicer ones in the Ranges ... keep going guys

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Zoe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Had a great time, the place was very relaxed and quiet, in fact even though the place looked full we didn't even see anybody so there was a great amount of privacy! the gardens were beautiful, location good and amenities really nice. The lady running the place was nice and helpful!
We were allowed to checkout really late at no additional cost 1pm :)

good stay will be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicholasAlexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed for a weekend with our friends from the UK so they could enjoy a break in the Dandenongs. We booked via last minute.com and as we were last minute, we paid an inflated price of over $800 for two nights (long weekend so perhaps rates were bumped up??) - thought it was steep but it was all we could get 'last minute'. On the plus side, it was a beautiful setting, just a short drive from picturesque Sassafras, it was clean and the breakfast provisions were generous and tasty and kitchen well equipped. On the downside, the accommodation was dated and some basic maintenance was lacking. Peeling paint, well worn bedding, ripped curtains, spa bath with a button that jammed down (giving my 2 year old a terrible fright when it came on mid bath unexpectedly). For the money we paid I expected more particularly as the sign says 'luxury'. Although our stay was pleasant, it didn't deliver what I'd reasonably expect for the price tag.

Room Tip: We stayed in Magnolia Cottage - perhaps the others are better?
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mehimandher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Cottage Monreale offered a 2 night stay with an offer through ouffer.com.au. As a special surprise for me, for the purchase price of almost $400, my husband purchased this voucher. The voucher clearly states at the top "Expires on 31/05/2014". On 30/01/2014 I contacted these people via email to request a booking. I did not hear back. On 31/01/2014, I followed up with a phone call only to get their answering machine. Still no response until today via email...a short, rude letter saying "Your voucher is invalid. You did not read the fine print. You were supposed to make a booking date prior to 15/01/2014. We are not making a profit out of deals like this". Absolutely disgusted, this matter is now placed with Consumer Affairs. Now looking at others experiences on tripadvisor, it is a wonder these people have a business at all.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank FABULOUSNESS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Loved our stay at the Steeple Cottage. Did not even mind that it rained the whole time we were there as everything needed has been provided by Cheryl and Karl. Set in fabulous gardens that made you feel that you are indeed the only ones there. Perfect if you need time to relax for a few days. You must try a Dinner Hamper cooked by your host Cheryl and delivered to your cottage. We had the 3 course Classic roast dinner and wine - perfect! Plenty of breakfast provisions.
Within easy reach of all the Dandenong Tourist spots - loved the National Parks and gardens of the Dandenongs. Enjoyed a Devonshire close by but most of our time was spent at the cottage in front of the fire.

Room Tip: tip if you don't like the sound of rain on a tin roof ( i love it) take ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sassafras
0.8 mi away
Clarendon Cottages
Clarendon Cottages
#1 of 5 in Sassafras
143 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lochiel Luxury Accommodation
2.5 mi away
Merrow Cottages
Merrow Cottages
#2 of 5 in Mount Dandenong
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Gracehill Accommodation
0.8 mi away
Moulton Park Cottages
Moulton Park Cottages
#2 of 5 in Sassafras
31 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Loft In The Mill Boutique Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottages Monreale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottages Monreale

Property: Cottages Monreale
Address: 81 The Crescent, Sassafras, Victoria 3788, Australia (Formerly Monreale Estate)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Sassafras
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Sassafras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cottages Monreale 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cottages MONREALE offers a world of indulgence...sophisticated accommodation, romantic dinner pleasures and spa packages. The estate boasts a 100 year old historic country house, four classic cottages and two heritage retreats nestled in magical rainforest gardens featuring waterfalls, ponds and tree fern groves. Elegant country chic decor, wood-fires, deluxe spas in open plan living with views that frame picturesque scenery offer a totally secluded destination for lovers of romance, life and tranquillity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cottages Monreale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottages Monreale Sassafras, Victoria, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing