We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family holiday” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Flear Farm Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in East Allington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Flear Farm Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Family holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

We have just returned from a week in Stable Cottage at Flear Farm Cottages. I can thoroughly recommend this little complex of cottages, which include the use of a heated indoor pool, sauna and hot tub,which every evening we had to ourselves. Along with a very well equipped play barn. Set in the lovely rolling countryside of the South Hams, which we already know very well. The Stables was well equipped from the kitchen to the bathrooms & bedrooms with white bed linen and lovely towels. I knew just a few weeks before arriving at the cottage that Camilla and Barney had taken over Flear Farm Cottages and I was a little concerned but I have to say they were totally unfounded. Both Camilla and Barney were extremely helpful and welcoming. I know they have some plans to improve Flear and I and my family wish them lots of luck in their new venture. We do hope to return to this ideallic place and cannot recommend it high enough.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valerie55_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
52
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Lovely weekend break with the family in the gorgeous setting of South Hams Flear Country. Once you navigate the narrow, twisting and unnamed roads you pull into the property and it's quite simply idyllic - lovely streams, bluebell fields, meadows - classic picture postcard stuff ( no views of the Hams as nestled in a small valley.) Very warm welcome from the new owners and they genuinely make you feel that nothing's too much effort to make the stay enjoyable. Ignore all the previous Tripadvisor comments!
Positives are; a great base to explore the surrounding area, awesome stargazing, fun-house, swimming pool, snuggy cottages.
Negatives are; some cottages are very close together, the kids need to be "self-starters" to enjoy the best of the venue, tough to find a shop for milk and papers etc, steep paths for elderly folk and just be a touch careful with the pool being deeper than anything you'll be used to as a kid (somewhere like 8 - 10 feet at the deep end).
Overall a great experience and we'd happily go back.

Room Tip: Look at the location map on their website - if the properties look close then they probably are! I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaxBruckshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Chose Flear for our first "baby" holiday principally looking for a quiet, detached property out of town. This was just that.

The facilities are very good, with what seemed like our own private, indoor pool (certainly on the three occasions we used it, we were alone!). Also a very large "play barn" though this is probably more suited for slightly older children with a large trampoline and climbing frame. The owner is going to look into getting some more baby friendly entertainment soon (they've only just taken bought the place and moved in two weeks before our stay!).

Set in it's own considerable grounds, there's a lovely walk through the orchard and the woods, complete with bluebells when we were there.

Barney & Camilla have just bought the place and moved in, and talking with them they have big plans to lavish more personal attention on the place, which will only add to it's charm.

Overall - very baby friendly, we stayed in the Linhay and found it very comfortable and just what we needed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatAndJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

We're not long back from a long weekend at Flear and I have to say that after reading some of the reviews I was a little doubtful as to what we would find. I'm happy to say that we were pleasantly surprised!

We were staying in the Cartwheel cottage which was clean and well equipped, certainly no signs of threadbear carpets or it falling into disrepair. The indoor pool was lovely and clean and we pretty much had it to ourselves every time we used it which was something of a treat.

We were warmly welcomed to the property by Barney the new owner and whilst there we lost count of the amount of times we saw him out and about doing various chores.

Yes, its true that there are signs that the previous owners had perhaps not lavished the right amount of care to the properties nor were they particlarly welcoming to their guests (the swing in the play barn does need replacing and the notes on the bins saying you could forfeit your deposit if you don't empty them need removing).

However, from what we saw it seems that the new owners already love the estate and are planning on making it their family home. They will be working hard to bring things back up to standard and we would certainly consider staying there again.

The cottages are in a lovely quiet location but you do need a car to get about and plenty of confidence to get yourself down the narrow windy lanes on the way there!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nevertriedherebefore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants, UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Just back from May Bank Holiday at Flear Country and it has really been a lovely family break away. About a dozen lodges in beautiful surroundings with great facilities for families, especially families with young children. The lodge was clean and very well appointed with modern facilities, under floor heating and a jacuzzi bath, free wifi and even fresh milk on arrival and aa basket of toys for my daugher to play with which was a lovely touch! It is a lovely realxing location, great pool and we did not get chance to try the out door hot tub but other families appeared to be enjoying it immensely! The play barn is great for little kids, my daughter loved it and the soft astro turf meant it was very safe for her to play on. It is very near some beautiful beaches and coastline and surrounded by picturesque towns and places to visit, overall a lovely part of the world too.
The place has just changed ownership and the new owners have big plans. Yes there is some wear and tear and I do think the previous owners may have let things slide however we saw evidence in just the short time we were there of new equipment being purchased and heard about plans for the future and where there was signs of wear it did not spoil our holiday as the facilities overall are very good. When we looked at somewhere to go with a toddler places like Butlins and Haven were coming up a similar price to this but at Flear we felt we had a much more personal service, higher quality of accommodation (The Linhay Lodge) and the quieter family break we were after. We have already booked for next year when I feel sure that I will be able to give it 5/5 if the new owner gives the place the TLC required.

Room Tip: If you are a family with one or two children the Linhay Lodge is a great size and set back off the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jojo_mNorthants_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFawcettFamily, Owner at Flear Farm Cottages, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Hi, we are Barney and Camilla Fawcett - the new owners of Flear as from the 1st May 2013. We have read with interest the comments posted here, and would like to assure you all that we have readily taken on board all the observations you have made.

Flear has for some time been run without an owner present and the staff have only been able to carry out their allotted tasks without any assistance, feedback, input, or indeed ability to improve on anything requiring authorisation from someone in overall charge. (We are grateful to them for their staying power and hope to make their work experience better too!) Flear Farm is a truly beautiful place and wonderfully situated, but it's been crying out for a Family to live there again and to pour in the care, the welcome and the investment is has always deserved. We are that Family!

We are very excited to make Flear our new home and hope our full-time presence and TLC will make your arrival and stay a delightful experience all round, and that our plans for renewal and upgrades have will soon be reflected in any further comments on this site.

We hope you will at look our way for signs of the improvement we started making here from our very first day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Allington
5.1 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
6.7 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
6.1 mi away
Thurlestone Hotel
Thurlestone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurlestone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,134 reviews
7.8 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
23.7 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dawlish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flear Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flear Farm Cottages

Property: Flear Farm Cottages
Address: East Allington TQ9 7RF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > East Allington
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in East Allington
Hotel Class:4 star — Flear Farm Cottages 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flear Farm nestles amidst the rolling hills of the South Hams. It comprises a nest of charming cottages, huddled in a valley where a small river flows towards the Kingsbridge estuary.It is an ideal holiday location if you want to leave behind the strains of city living and relax in a peaceful rural setting. You can wander along pretty streams, explore our rambling woods and trek over undulating hills.Flear Farm is beautifully situated, perfectly mixing the peace & seclusion of the estate, close to lively market towns, and virtually surrounded by nearby beaches South, East and West, with Dartmoor National Park to the North. The pretty town of Kingsbridge, with its cafés, restaurants and quirky shops is only a 10-minute drive.Flear offers an ideal environment for families who make use of the special facilities provided for children, babies and toddlers, including the well-equipped indoor and outdoor play areas. It would equally appeal to nature lovers who appreciate the beauty of Devon’s countryside and coastline.Our eleven individually furnished properties along with Flear House are available year-round for short breaks and weekly stays. All properties have top-quality flatscreens, FreeSat TV, WIFI and include cots, highchairs and stair-gates. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing