We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A small menu done exceptionally well” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fortescue Arms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in East Allington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Fortescue Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Wincanton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“A small menu done exceptionally well”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We've been holidaying in East Allington for the last eight years now and I can honestly declare the current lincees and chef are the best by far.

Friendly locals, warm and welcoming bar staff are just the start. The menu may initially appear limited but I would far rather choose from a small menu, knowing it would be superbly cooked than an extensive menu of indifferent quality. The three-times cooked chips are as good as Heston's and everything else I tried was cooked to perfection.

Please eat here with absolute confidence

Room Tip: Didn't stay overnight
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank codhead99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    15
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
33
14
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

This pub is under relatively new management and I must say are much better than the last! There is a very good range of beers, cider, lager and wine and the food is excellent. We were there in the very hot weather and the decking area in the garden catches the last rays of the sun. There is a restaurant room (at least it was under previous management) I am not sure if they intend to have a formal restaurant or just serve the same food in all bars. Worth making the trip and if passing through worth the stop.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hopeful_travfeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Good food and a warm welcome. The staff were very friendly and helpful, staying open later on an afternoon so we could take our time over lunch. Very enjoyable and definitely worth a visit if you are in the area

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Fozzie76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

With The Fortescue Arms in walking distance from our holiday, we just had to go. The excitement of walking back in the dark too - fantastic!

Great busy and friendly pub with wonderful food. All very happy incl children, vegetarian and steak lover. Dishes ordered included pizza, steak, mixed grill, smoked fish platter, chicken goujons and veg tart with goats cheese, all of which were excellent. Very friendly efficient staff.

Great to be in a buzzing pub on a mid week evening, proof that they are doing lots of things right.

You can book and it is advised in the evenings, the garden looked great although we stayed inside and there is a very beautiful and romantic looking restaurant although with 4 rather hyped up children we were very happy and comfortable with our table in the bar.

Couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diesel1Dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

If your holiday plans permit, make a beeline for this exquisite pub. The drive from the main road will leave you gasping for a pint anyway; high hedges, limited passing places, the risk of a van heading towards you. Fantastic fun. It is said that you only go to East Allington if you're lost!
The staff are enthusiastic and friendly, the beers and wines are excellent and the food is astonishingly great. The fish and chips are amongst the best you will ever taste.
We were very fortunate that the sun was shining, but the garden is very beautiful and even on a dull day this pub will leave you with memories of what a proper British drinking and eating establishment should be like.
In every respect, faultless.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DickCWindsor_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Allington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Since Steve and Michelle have taken over at the Fortescue things have improved significantly, food is good and varied, beer excellent, ambience and welcoming greetings always friendly and nice.....I would unreservedly recommend them to anyone who wants a good lunch or supper.....the pizzas are superb too!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We were staying at nearby Pitt Farm and so decided to stop in for dinner at the Fortescue Arms following a day out. When we entered, we were told that they only serve pizzas on a Monday because it's the chef's day off and that they didn't serve for another half an hour. However, the barman (whom I assume was also the proprietor) said that he could try to prepare things quicker if we wanted to wait.

We decided to take the chance and wait. Good decision. The man at the bar continued to be extremely helpful. Seeing that we were trying to sort our two year old out, he made the effort to come over and take our drinks order and then brought everything over so that we could just focus on our child. This might sound like a really small and simple thing but, in my experience, this sort of considerate service is not necessarily the norm in other establishments! Major bonus point in my book.

Our order was taken a good twenty minutes before the opening time, so it was nice that the effort was made to keep our custom. As we waited, we were also pointed in the direction of games and toys provided for little ones. Again, it sounds little but this kept out son occupied - he loved playing with the Connect 4! The food was then brought to us pretty quickly to be fair and I have to say that we all enjoyed our pizza.

All in all, a very positive experience really.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PStyles82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Allington
7.2 mi away
South Sands Hotel
South Sands Hotel
#4 of 8 in Salcombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
6.8 mi away
Thurlestone Hotel
Thurlestone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurlestone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
12.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#36 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Cricket Inn
The Cricket Inn
#1 of 2 in Beesands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Cott Inn
The Cott Inn
#2 of 5 in Dartington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
5.7 mi away
Waterman's Arms
Waterman's Arms
#1 of 3 in Ashprington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fortescue Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fortescue Arms

Property: The Fortescue Arms
Address: Greenhill Lane | East Allington, East Allington TQ9 7RA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > East Allington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in East Allington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hostelry dates back to the the 19th the century and is named after the local landowner and to this day still retains the charms of yesteryear with wooden tables, flagstone floors, beamed ceilings and comfortable seating, whilst offering the modern amenities that weary travellers expect. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing