We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”
Review of The Fortescue Arms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in East Allington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Fortescue Arms
Kingsbridge
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed an outstanding dinner at the Fortescue last night. Beautiful presentation and excellent quality together with attentive, friendly staff. The desert was especially wonderful, chocolate to die for. Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve6865, Manager at The Fortescue Arms, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you to all of you for the great comments and feedback that has been posted and hopefully see you all again soon. Regards Steve and Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    15
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
37
14
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
exeter
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

I was one of the 12 in the hen party that visited the Fortrscue Arms for Sunday lunch following a very busy weekend!

The landlord and landlady couldn't have done any more to make us feel welcome and valued as customers!

The roast beef was to die for and the vegetables, gravy boats and Yorkshire's just kept on coming!

The bride to be was presented with a complimentary liqueur and a lovely decoration on her dessert plate. We also mentioned that we were going to be holding our own version of prize bingo back at our accommodation and the landlord presented us with a bottle of wine for one of our prizes!

I will definitely go back for a Sunday lunch - it will be worth the trip down from Exeter - my mouth is salivating just thinking about it!

I honestly cannot recommend this place enough x

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lukachops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2013

what a faqntastic wind down to a very busy weekend celebrating a friends hen weekend. we rang the day before to book for 12 - 15 to ensure we could be accomodated. after a pleasant short walk from Pitt farm where we were staying we could not have recevied a warmer welcome. the new landlord and landlady were so friendly and more than happy to accomodate us.

the food was top notch and plenty of it!!! the desert to die for.

we were made to feel very welcome with some unexpected extra touches for the bride to be.

it was the perfect end to the perfect weekend and we will certainly be heading down for sunday lunch again!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerryanne0509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 20, 2013

To close my hen weekend spent at Pitt Farm we took the opportunity to have Sunday lunch at The Fortescue Arms yesterday. There was 12 of us and we did call and book the night before to reserve the table but it was quite clear the welcoming landlord would have accommodated our every need. The attention to detail and decor of the pub is second to none. When our 12 roast beef's arrived at the table there was silence from each of my companions, taken away by the quality of food, and as for the taste this was the quietest my girls had been all weekend. The landlord's presented me with a complimentary liqueur which enhanced the flavours of our amazing puddings to... I have no hesitation in returning to The Fortescue Arms and cannot compliment you enough with your attention to detail. First class!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Hello my family and I came for Sunday lunch. The food was lovely and the lamb was delicious. The desserts tasted so good, especially the praline ice cream. Every family member was happy with there food. The owners of the pub were very friendly and welcoming. Will for sure be visiting again x

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ldus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Congratulations on taking over the Fortescue Arms, I have just had one of your lovely roast dinners it was excellent, complements to the chef..... Staff were happy and helpful, the atmosphere was lovely and.welcoming..Best wishes to you both for the future,,I will definitely be back and bring my friends to..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolyn1960_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

I heard the fortescue arms pub was under new management so thought i'd pop along and see for myself... Well all I can say is the pub is back to its former glory, it looked like every man and his wife had come down.. What an atmosphere.... I wish the new owners the best of luck, but something told me tonight their not going to need it!! I will defiantly be going again hopefully for food next time...

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank jsm69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Allington
5.9 mi away
Stoke Lodge Hotel
Stoke Lodge Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dartmouth
187 reviews
6.8 mi away
Thurlestone Hotel
Thurlestone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurlestone
569 reviews
2.8 mi away
The George Inn, Blackawton
The George Inn, Blackawton
#1 of 3 in Blackawton
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Cricket Inn
The Cricket Inn
#1 of 2 in Beesands
295 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Tower Inn
The Tower Inn
#7 of 32 in Kingsbridge
145 reviews
1.6 mi away
Buckland Tout-Saints Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fortescue Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fortescue Arms

Property: The Fortescue Arms
Address: Greenhill Lane | East Allington, East Allington TQ9 7RA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > East Allington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in East Allington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hostelry dates back to the the 19th the century and is named after the local landowner and to this day still retains the charms of yesteryear with wooden tables, flagstone floors, beamed ceilings and comfortable seating, whilst offering the modern amenities that weary travellers expect. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing