We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer service is spot on”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Residence Valle del Buttero
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Capalbio
Certificate of Excellence
Crieff
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Customer service is spot on”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

great customer service from the first email of enquiry. When we couldn't get from the station to the hotel, they collected us for a very reasonable charge at very short notice; they lent us bikes free of charge so that we could cycle to the Tarot Gardens; worked out the bus times so that we could get back to the train... all with a smile and friendly face!

The public areas are lovely, with a bit of personality about them. The room was spacious and spotlessly clean, but did lack that personal detail (a bit of a typical peach coloured room). mosquitos affected our sleep albeit just one persistent one!

Located just outside of the old town, with lots of restaurant options (and there were a couple of others in the newer part of town that looked busy only after we had already eaten), so lots of choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BandBowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byro2000, Responsabile reception at Hotel Residence Valle del Buttero, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear,
Thank you for the beautiful words.
For us from the Valle Del Buttero it's a pleasure to "cuddle" our guests!
We are very happy, that you had a pleasant stay, and that you appreciated the beautiful village of Capalbio.
hoping to have you again as our kind guests,
Best Wishes
All the staff from Valle del Buttero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    125
    34
    1
    5
See reviews for
135
173
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
73 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This hotel has it all: an ideal location, a few minutes from Capalbio historic city center (a gem); rooms that are spacious,clean and quiet; friendly and efficient staff, always ready to help you. Even in the high quality of the mattresses (all of them, even the one for the single bed in the living room) one could perceive the attention to detail that makes Valle del buttero outstanding. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raf89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byro2000, Responsabile reception at Hotel Residence Valle del Buttero, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you so much for this beautiful review!
We are very happy that your stay was good. Our staff is friendly and ready to suggest a nice place to visit or resolve any little problem that you could have. We are satisfied that our new mattresses gave you a "peaceful" sleep.
It was nice to have met you and we hope to see you again!
Best Wishes
Staff of Valle del Buttero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
313 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I absolutely loved this place and would return in a second if I could! My husband and I traveled with three teenagers and booked a 2 BR apt. When we arrived, our reservation was messed up and our apt. not available until the next night. After we provided proof of our reservation, they did their best to accomodate us right away. As far as Valle del Buttero, it is clean, the pool is wonderful, and the amazing Capalbio is a block away. The breakfast buffet was also a prize-winner which included a variety of fresh hot pastries that were always replenished. There are great restaurants and shops in Capalbio to say nothing of the views!!! Absolutely stunning!! ALSO, the beach is about a 15 minute drive away, as well as a ferry that will take you to see the Costa Concordia off the Isola del Giglio. Especially great place if you are traveling with kids!! Oh, there was also a ping pong table and pool table!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crocuslover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byro2000, Direttore at Hotel Residence Valle del Buttero, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear friends,
we are happy that our hotel is liked all your lovely family!
Our breakfast is very much appreciated, especially by children, and the beautiful town of Capalbio is ideal for a nice walk between shops and restaurants. The sunset seen from the walls is lovely!!

See you soon, we look forward with joy
The team Valle del Buttero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Didn't really meet our expectations, but certainly has potential.

THE GOOD: Exceptionally clean. Exceptional breakfast (best of our 4 week trip). Very pleasant and helpful staff. Useful kitchen, but would be better with a $79 microwave. Great parking. Clean pool and surrounding grounds. Great pool towels and chairs, although a hot tub addition would have make it exceptional.

THE NO SO GOOD: Poor Air Conditioning, wouldn't cool the bedroom so my wife and I slept 4 nights on cots in the main living area next to the AC. Terrible beds, main bed was hard and the cots were lumpy. Terrible water pressure in shower (it seems to be choked by a water saving device in the line, the sink pressure was stellar). I showered in the gym bathroom for great water pressure. POORLY equipped gym, if they'd just spend $100 on some 5, 10 and 15 kg dumbbells it would be adequate.

I'd suggest the hotel raise rates by $5 per night and make some improvements, the have the beginnings of a great hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byro2000, Direttore at Hotel Residence Valle del Buttero, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Sir,
we are very pleased to have found many positives thoughs about our hotel.
Our exceptional cleaning, the breakfast prepared with quality products, the amenities of the pool and garden, as well as the professionalism and courtesy of our staff, are all aspects that we take care meticulously to provide our guests a stay that meets their desire.
Thank you for the excellent advice: from his review we understand the need to think in a more 'international mind, because, luckily the last year our foreign clientele has increased alot, Our regular guests, in general, prefer the mattresses orthopedic, but we have other models and we will gladly replace, if he had been reported. regarding the microwave and dumbbells in the gym, it is the first time that they have been requested, and surely will buy some to keep on hand.
Thanks and best regards from all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
315 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

The main reasons we chose to booking this hotel were the close proximity to places to eat, the gym and the swimming pool. The hotel did not disappoint on any of these. There are many places to eat locally without having to drive and we enjoyed several good meals in Capalbio. The gym is quite small. It has two types of exercise bike, a running machine and a couple of weights machines as well as a stretching area. It was sufficient for me for a holiday workout. The swimming pool area is lovely and the provision of sunbed towels is a bonus. The hotel is very clean and the staff are all very friendly. The breakfast was also very good. The coffee was lovely and there was meat, cheese, preserves, cereal, breads and delicious fresh pastries and pie.
There is excellent free wifi throughout the hotel and there is also a games area including billiards, chess board, card table and other board games.
The hotel is very easy to find and well signposted from the SS1. You can easily reach the hotel in 1 ½ hours from Fuimcino. Parking is free at the hotel. Within 30 metres of the hotel there is a great Panifico to pick up your lunch or snacks and the lady within is very friendly. There are also other stores in town to browse and interesting walls and buildings.
Capalbio is very beautiful and well worth a wonder around and the surrounding area is also stunning.
I would highly recommend this hotel and will return in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flan_1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byro2000, Direttore at Hotel Residence Valle del Buttero, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear,
we are very happy that we didn't disappoint any of your expectations!
You have covered very well all of our services that we offer our guests: the gym, the swimmingpool and our "super" breakfast...even the beautiful medieval town of Capalbio and all the surrounding area, that makes the position of our hotel really privileged.
Thank you for your lovely words, we look forward to having you as our guests in the near future!
Kind regards from all the staff of Valle del Buttero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We had a most enjoyable stay,enjoying the bucolic setting and the easy walking distance to restaurants and the historic center of town.From our balcony we looked out on to the mountains,and felt we were so far away from town,yet we were so close we could stroll into the historic center for dinner each night.Roberta bakes fantastic crostata and cakes every day,and they are only a part of the extraordinary breakfast buffet.The staff is pleasant and helpful.This is a superb place for exploring the exquisite towns of southern Tuscany and the Maremma,Porto Ercoli,S.Stefano and Orbetello,as well as providing easy access to Fiumicino airport.

Room Tip: ask for an upstairs room facing the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginger20007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riro58, Proprietario at Hotel Residence Valle del Buttero, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Carolin and Fred,

It was a pleasure to have two such friendly and pleasant guests!

Thank you very much for all your kind words... Looking out at the hills while standing on the terraces it is easy to forget that we are just a stone's throw from the historical town centre of Capalbio.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed my cakes, which are always freshly made everyday. We are proud to include fresh local produce in our breakfast, making them suitable for all tastes.

From Capalbio, our guests can easily reach well known local areas such as Orbetello and Monte Argentario.

We would like to thank you once again and we look forward to having you with pleasure as our guests, once again!

Roberta, Riccardo and all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We had a great stay here. Excellent hotel, really love the swimming pool area, very friendly owners and staff, FANTASTIC BREAKFAST: homemade cakes, excellent coffee / cappucino / espresso you name it all great Italian quality (no extra charge). A great place to start your exploration of Capalbio.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alarik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riro58, Direttore at Hotel Residence Valle del Buttero, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Google Translation
Gentile signor Alarik,
ci ha fatto molto piacere ricevere una bella recensione da così lontano!
Grazie per aver gradito il nostro lavoro e la nostra ospitalità sotto tutti gli aspetti.
Sperando di ospitarla ancora per farle assaggiare nuove torte e un espresso di qualità,
la salutiamo con simpatia
Roberta e Riccardo e tutto lo staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capalbio
2.7 mi away
Resort Capalbio
Resort Capalbio
#3 of 7 in Capalbio
379 reviews
0.1 mi away
Locanda Rossa
Locanda Rossa
#2 of 7 in Capalbio
215 reviews
3.7 mi away
I Briganti di Capalbio
I Briganti di Capalbio
#4 of 7 in Capalbio
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Hotel Baia d'Argento
Hotel Baia d'Argento
#2 of 5 in Porto Santo Stefano
336 reviews
13.2 mi away
Hotel Il Pellicano
Hotel Il Pellicano
#1 of 7 in Porto Ercole
361 reviews
14.6 mi away
Hotel Filippo II
Hotel Filippo II
#1 of 15 in Monte Argentario
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residence Valle del Buttero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence Valle del Buttero

Property: Hotel Residence Valle del Buttero
Address: Via Ignazio Silone 21, 58011, Capalbio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Capalbio
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Capalbio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Residence Valle del Buttero 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel and residence Valle del Buttero is located nearby the historical centre of Capalbio, in Maremma Toscana, just 10 minutes from the sea. Its coasts offer a unique enviroment with sandy beaches designed by the greatest creator of all time...nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Residence Valle del Buttero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Residence Valle Del Buttero Capalbio, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing