We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villaggio Capalbio was a really pleasant surprise!”
Review of Resort Capalbio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Resort Capalbio
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Capalbio
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Villaggio Capalbio was a really pleasant surprise!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I spent a really nice week in this lovely location, close to the sea, well furnished. well served, smiling personnel, very clean: the only problem was the lack of air condition, which was sustituted by a strong fan! Food was very good, animation was fun, the location lovely and well cared for. I would have stayed longer but they were packed !!!!!!!

Room Tip: I would advise to book one of the lovely apartments close to the restaurant: furnished very well wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luciabuonannidawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    110
    40
    15
    11
See reviews for
136
108
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We chose the Villaggio Capalbio because we wanted a cottage in the Tuscan countryside close to the beaches, with breakfast included in the rate, and enogh away from the crowded places. Nature, sun, swimming pool, relax, calm, excellent restaurant and politeness: at the Villaggio Capalbio we found all that we wanted!

Room Tip: Choose a cottage near the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francoforte
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

i stayed in a cottage for four days. nothing to say about it, i share the view of other guests that they are a bit dark, i'd add some white curtains to the widows so that you can leave the blinders open without being seen from outside. as for breakfast i'd also welcome less cakes and biscuits and more different and local products as cheeses and ham or salami, as the current choice is poor. the pool is nice although i'd really invite to go to the seaside at capalbio or feniglia. the staff especially at the pool and in the evening entertainment are really nice. i think the place is nice and maybe needs some more care here and there. i did not have lunch or dinner here so cant judge the restaurant. distance to the sea is ok, there is not much really on the shore around there and macchiatonda beach is about five minutes away by car and there is also a shuttle.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fabio-ff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We were disappointed with our stay here. We were in Capalbio for a friends wedding for one night, check in was brisk with no information (I had to ask for details on breakfast, what to do etc) our room was very dark - like mega dark. It felt dingy and the bathroom was old and outdated, wore my flipflops in the shower as didnt' feel clean. The grounds are actually quite nice if you have kids, eg, swimming pool etc but all felt very old fashioned. Like a Hi-De-Hi movie! The breakfast was pretty basic, didnt enjoy it really, felt like it was just cheap packeted items, nothing homemade which was different from the rest of Tuscany which seemed to pride itself with homemade food. The staff were pretty moody overall except one receptionist who was helpful. It;s about 15 - 20 mins drive to Capalbio so don't stay here if you want to walk into the twon - not possible. Overall, disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TinaG1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villaggiocapalbio, Proprietario at Resort Capalbio, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Dear Ms. Tina G 1979
We find your review very superficial, contradictory and unreal.
You firstly describe a check-in with little information and then you congratulate the receptionist.
Our resort was created 10 years ago, with annual restorations till last spring, we do not understand if you are talking about us or someone else.
All the breakfast desserts are homemade by our sister.
Many people compliment us for our kindness and friendliness.
On our website on all portals it is clearly said that we are in the countryside at 6 km from the medieval town.
Finally, we suppose that you didn’t take part of the marriage here, staying only a night, you’ve been able to extrapolate all these negative aspects in such a short time?
Thanks anyway for your comment about us !!!
Greetings from Villaggio Capalbio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capalbio
2.7 mi away
Hotel Residence Valle del Buttero
2.7 mi away
Locanda Rossa
Locanda Rossa
#2 of 7 in Capalbio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
3.8 mi away
I Briganti di Capalbio
I Briganti di Capalbio
#4 of 7 in Capalbio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Agriturismo Rosaspina
Agriturismo Rosaspina
#6 of 7 in Capalbio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
10.9 mi away
Hotel Il Pellicano
Hotel Il Pellicano
#1 of 7 in Porto Ercole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hotel Residence Tris
Hotel Residence Tris
#5 of 21 in Orbetello
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resort Capalbio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort Capalbio

Property: Resort Capalbio
Address: Strada Pedemontana 58 | Via Aurelia Km. 130.300, 58011, Capalbio, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Capalbio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Capalbio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Resort Capalbio 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ancient Farmhouse, near the seaside (about 3 km far) and near the town of Capalbio, which is dated back to the Middle Ages, in the heart of the "Maremma Toscana". The charming Hotel/Village is surrounded with a three-hectare big park and it is made up of the Farmhouse with five double bedrooms and one suite, the Arcade made up of twenty bedrooms with mezzanine floor (2 till 4 beds), eight Superior Rooms in two detached dependences built in 2007, thirty-seven independent Cottages, with 4 till 6 beds, scattered around the park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Resort Capalbio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villaggio Capalbio
Villaggio Hotel Capalbio
Resort Capalbio Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing