We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Dark dingy rooms, felt butlins on a shoestring” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Resort Capalbio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Resort Capalbio
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Capalbio
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Dark dingy rooms, felt butlins on a shoestring”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

We were disappointed with our stay here. We were in Capalbio for a friends wedding for one night, check in was brisk with no information (I had to ask for details on breakfast, what to do etc) our room was very dark - like mega dark. It felt dingy and the bathroom was old and outdated, wore my flipflops in the shower as didnt' feel clean. The grounds are actually quite nice if you have kids, eg, swimming pool etc but all felt very old fashioned. Like a Hi-De-Hi movie! The breakfast was pretty basic, didnt enjoy it really, felt like it was just cheap packeted items, nothing homemade which was different from the rest of Tuscany which seemed to pride itself with homemade food. The staff were pretty moody overall except one receptionist who was helpful. It;s about 15 - 20 mins drive to Capalbio so don't stay here if you want to walk into the twon - not possible. Overall, disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TinaG1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villaggiocapalbio, Proprietario at Resort Capalbio, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Dear Ms. Tina G 1979
We find your review very superficial, contradictory and unreal.
You firstly describe a check-in with little information and then you congratulate the receptionist.
Our resort was created 10 years ago, with annual restorations till last spring, we do not understand if you are talking about us or someone else.
All the breakfast desserts are homemade by our sister.
Many people compliment us for our kindness and friendliness.
On our website on all portals it is clearly said that we are in the countryside at 6 km from the medieval town.
Finally, we suppose that you didn’t take part of the marriage here, staying only a night, you’ve been able to extrapolate all these negative aspects in such a short time?
Thanks anyway for your comment about us !!!
Greetings from Villaggio Capalbio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    108
    40
    14
    11
See reviews for
133
104
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capalbio
2.6 mi away
Hotel Residence Valle del Buttero
3.8 mi away
I Briganti di Capalbio
I Briganti di Capalbio
#4 of 7 in Capalbio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
2.7 mi away
Locanda Rossa
Locanda Rossa
#2 of 7 in Capalbio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Agriturismo Rosaspina
Agriturismo Rosaspina
#6 of 7 in Capalbio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
15.3 mi away
Hotel Torre di Cala Piccola
Hotel Torre di Cala Piccola
#1 of 1 in Cala Piccola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
14.1 mi away
Hotel Fontermosa
Hotel Fontermosa
#1 of 21 in Orbetello
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resort Capalbio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort Capalbio

Property: Resort Capalbio
Address: Strada Pedemontana 58 | Via Aurelia Km. 130.300, 58011, Capalbio, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Capalbio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Capalbio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Resort Capalbio 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ancient Farmhouse, near the seaside (about 3 km far) and near the town of Capalbio, which is dated back to the Middle Ages, in the heart of the "Maremma Toscana". The charming Hotel/Village is surrounded with a three-hectare big park and it is made up of the Farmhouse with five double bedrooms and one suite, the Arcade made up of twenty bedrooms with mezzanine floor (2 till 4 beds), eight Superior Rooms in two detached dependences built in 2007, thirty-seven independent Cottages, with 4 till 6 beds, scattered around the park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Resort Capalbio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villaggio Capalbio
Villaggio Hotel Capalbio
Resort Capalbio Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing