We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dark dingy rooms, felt butlins on a shoestring”
Review of Resort Capalbio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Resort Capalbio
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Capalbio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We were disappointed with our stay here. We were in Capalbio for a friends wedding for one night, check in was brisk with no information (I had to ask for details on breakfast, what to do etc) our room was very dark - like mega dark. It felt dingy and the bathroom was old and outdated, wore my flipflops in the shower as didnt' feel clean. The grounds are actually quite nice if you have kids, eg, swimming pool etc but all felt very old fashioned. Like a Hi-De-Hi movie! The breakfast was pretty basic, didnt enjoy it really, felt like it was just cheap packeted items, nothing homemade which was different from the rest of Tuscany which seemed to pride itself with homemade food. The staff were pretty moody overall except one receptionist who was helpful. It;s about 15 - 20 mins drive to Capalbio so don't stay here if you want to walk into the twon - not possible. Overall, disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TinaG1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villaggiocapalbio, Proprietario at Resort Capalbio, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2012

Dear Ms. Tina G 1979
We find your review very superficial, contradictory and unreal.
You firstly describe a check-in with little information and then you congratulate the receptionist.
Our resort was created 10 years ago, with annual restorations till last spring, we do not understand if you are talking about us or someone else.
All the breakfast desserts are homemade by our sister.
Many people compliment us for our kindness and friendliness.
On our website on all portals it is clearly said that we are in the countryside at 6 km from the medieval town.
Finally, we suppose that you didn’t take part of the marriage here, staying only a night, you’ve been able to extrapolate all these negative aspects in such a short time?
Thanks anyway for your comment about us !!!
Greetings from Villaggio Capalbio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (406)
There are newer reviews for Resort Capalbio
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 406 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank Lorenzo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: tranquillità, relax
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank elettra00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isolasperduta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Camera Prestige ma ci sono anche delle villette per famiglie
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
3  Thank Mario C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
2  Thank Francesco78corso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capalbio
2.7 mi away
Hotel Residence Valle del Buttero
4.1 mi away
Locanda Rossa
Locanda Rossa
#2 of 6 in Capalbio
231 reviews
3.8 mi away
I Briganti di Capalbio
I Briganti di Capalbio
#4 of 6 in Capalbio
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
A Point Porto Ercole Resort & Spa
15.2 mi away
Hotel Torre di Cala Piccola
Hotel Torre di Cala Piccola
#1 of 1 in Cala Piccola
750 reviews
10.9 mi away
Hotel Il Pellicano
Hotel Il Pellicano
#1 of 7 in Porto Ercole
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resort Capalbio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort Capalbio

Address: Strada Pedemontana 58 | Via Aurelia Km. 130.300, 58011, Capalbio, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Capalbio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Capalbio
Price Range: $78 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Resort Capalbio 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ancient Farmhouse, near the seaside (about 3 km far) and near the town of Capalbio, which is dated back to the Middle Ages, in the heart of the "Maremma Toscana". The charming Hotel/Village is surrounded with a three-hectare big park and it is made up of the Farmhouse with five double bedrooms and one suite, the Arcade made up of twenty bedrooms with mezzanine floor (2 till 4 beds), eight Superior Rooms in two detached dependences built in 2007, thirty-seven independent Cottages, with 4 till 6 beds, scattered around the park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Resort Capalbio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villaggio Capalbio
Villaggio Hotel Capalbio
Resort Capalbio Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing