We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Spectacular, sparkling vision rising in the Tuscan Hills” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tarot Garden

Tarot Garden
Ranked #1 of 20 things to do in Capalbio
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
167 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Spectacular, sparkling vision rising in the Tuscan Hills”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Niki de St Phalle is an internationally reknown sculpture artist with installations in France, Israel, Japan, and California (San Diego, Escondido) among other places. As you drive to the Tarot Garden, glittering multi-colored, mirrored mosaic sculptures - two and three stories tall - representing figures from tarot cards - rise up out of the Tuscan hillside. The sculptures are accessible - following a path, you can touch the mosaics and, in one case, go inside a "house" to see mirrored rooms including a bedroom, bathroom, and kitchen. We visited Park of the Monsters in Bomarzo in the morning and drove to here in the afternoon. There's a small food stand in the parking lot. Although Capalbio is a little obscure, it's well, well worth the visit.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Festina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,548 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,014
    399
    95
    21
    19
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lubeck, Germany
Level Contributor
133 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“One of the places you MUST have seen before you die!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Energy of life precipitated in mosaic and dreamlike shapes ... not to be described in full by any means ...

Whether you just come and enjoy colors and shapes or try to fathom the deeper meaning ... just go there!!! I bet you will leave this place in high spirits and I cannot imagine anybody to escape the charme of this monument!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellingesther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dahlonega, Georgia
Level Contributor
484 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Fantastic whimsy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Oh how I love this artist. Is am so in love with her work. This place was charming, whimsical and delightful as only Niki St. Phalle Can do. I am in awe . What a fun day we had here.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank ms.go-go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orbetello, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I have no words to describe the beauty of this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

I think it is one of my favourite places in the world.
I go to the Garden at lesat twice a year, and in four years, everytime i go i discover new things to see.
I believe it's a place that must be seen more than once, 'cause it's so full of marvellous details that a full day is not enough.

Many people don't know about this place, and i always invite all my friends and family for a visit.
I'm very affectionate to Niki's works, i just love everything she made.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mausotta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The tarot garden made by Niki de Saint Phalle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

This is a place for the whole family - everybody will love it! The artist has put her whole heart into every piece of work made on this place. Niki de Saint Phalle got inspired by Gaudi's Parc Grüell in Barcelona but has passed him in emotions and details by far. Incredible that this place is in the middle of nowhere with hardly any sign at all until you are actually on the very road! GO THERE! and enjoy with friends or family!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank tennis96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tarot Garden also viewed

 
Orbetello, Province of Grosseto
Capalbio, Province of Grosseto
 

Been to Tarot Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing