We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”
Review of Tarot Garden

Tarot Garden
Ranked #1 of 20 things to do in Capalbio
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Level Contributor
207 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

This garden is at least as inventive and magical as the one that inspired it, Barcelona's Guell Park. It's a pity that it's a bit off the beaten track, or maybe it's fortunate because it makes it less assaulted by visitors as other places and helps preserve its innocence. Not all of its corners were accessible to visitors, though, which shows that it's suffered some wear and tear even as it is. It was otherwise also interesting to hear, talking to other visitors coming on the same day as us, that some of them had no idea that Niki de Saint Phalle and Jean Tinguely had been established artists, but were able to enjoy their work just as much. This is definitely a great experience for both children and adults and a great landmark of Modernism on the turf of Classicism, Renaissance and the Baroque.

Helpful?
2 Thank PickyTrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,701 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,104
    436
    111
    24
    26
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lund, Skane Lan, Sweden
Level Contributor
99 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Cool and wonderful!”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We had seen pictures of the garden, but nothing could compare it to a real visit. The sculpures are big, colourful and beautyful. Everyhing reminds me of Gaudi, but this is more colourful. We went there with our children (9 and 4 years old). They also loved the park and you could find water taps where the water was drinkable. The children could shower themselves in the water - becouse it was a really hot day. Bring your camera!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Humlabumla1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“What a magical place in the middle of magical Tuscany”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We went to see it because we love Parc Guell in Barcelona and wanted to see the garden inspired by it. Place is sort of hidden, but it right off the road. You walk in through a very masculine modern-looking gate, walk up 200 m and immerse into wild imagination of the meaning of tarrot cards recreated in beautilful colorful full of life sculpture. All of them without exception are magnetic because of hard work, which went into them, and sacred meaning, which nevertheless found response in our hearts as we walk through the garden. There was everything here one thinks about along the life way - God, faith, death, justice, love and sinn. This is the brain food for adults; my 3 kids just enjoyed the endless color spendor and funny way beautiful things in life are presented - a dragon (strength), a woman (high emperess), unjustice locked in the cave. What a fun afternoon and insight into a mind of a great artist not known to us before this visit. You will not regret seeing it!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shdema, Israel
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Came and it was closed....”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Went to all the trouble to come there and really wanted to see the attraction, and when got there found out that it only opens at 14:30 in the afternoon.
I didn't see any remark about it when I searched info about the place. Maybe my fault I didn't research enough.
From the outside it looks real nice....
So if you plan to get there - keep in mind it opens only at 14:30 !

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank DrYael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fun, if not a bit strange!”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Kids loved it - this isn't a big long ordeal - you can go for an hour or so - there is a house that is all (pieces of...) mirrors that really capture my imagination - it was like walking into a fairytale.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Katherine97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tarot Garden also viewed

 
Capalbio, Province of Grosseto
Orbetello, Province of Grosseto
 

Been to Tarot Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing