We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great quiet hotel in the midst of nature” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Locanda Rossa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Locanda Rossa
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Capalbio
Certificate of Excellence
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great quiet hotel in the midst of nature”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

The hotel is on a gorgeous property surrounded by olive trees and hills. The building is very nicely restored, good mix of contemporary and rustic. Our room, which was number 6, was on the smaller side, but very nice with a big bathroom and a big private yard, our dog liked that.
The staff was nice and helpful. The restaurant was good, very nice simple italian cucine, with the freshest ingredients. I would really advise to try their steaks, both the angus and the bistecca fiorentina, they were delicious.
Overall a great country side hotel, very relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orwellthemaltese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    36
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
50
104
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

We spent four fabulous days here, celebrating my daughters wedding that took place entirely at the locanda - ceremony and all. Understated elegance and comfort in a wonderful setting. Generous, relaxed and friendly atmosphere with great staff.
Chic, spotless and wonderfully furnished accomodations. Double size rain shower and supercomfy beds along with nice toiletries. We can recommend room no. 9 that comes with a terrace and beautiful views.
Olive groves, gardens and a nice size pool - all immaculately maintained.
The grounds are extensive and the split level layout of the place and its different buildings makes for nice little walks.
The chef at the locanda is a fan of slow-cooking and local produce and we could tell - delicious food! Ample breakfast - the pastries may make you gain a pound or two.
As we sampled the honey back home we wished we were still there.
We warmly recommend the locanda for a romantic, serene vacation as well as for events.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stockholm45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

In the middle of an olive farm, in the middle of a field, in the middle of nowhere--pure bliss: this was meant to be a short stop on our way south from northern tuscany back to the airport in Rome; so we booked a night here in a suite; what a pleasant surprise; a beautiful setting with grounds maintained to perfection; the junior suite was modern with a great bathroom and shower; the views from the windows were endless fields of tranquility; the hotel staff-one when we arrived, took care of the front desk, showed us to our room and the gardener carried our bags; as it turns out there was only one other couple there that night and it was as if we had a private hotel to ourselves; sitting at the pool in the afternoon I thought I was at my private villa; dinner was superbly prepared and being close to the coast gave us an opportunity to have delicious fresh fish prepared at our table; in the morning, although we had to leave early for our flight, they opened the dining room for us; although there were only two couples staying that night, the breakfast was set ready to serve many more; nothing was skimped on and everything was set out perfectly;
a note about the area: a little hard to find but use GPS; 5 minutes away was the Tarrot outdoor sculpture garden; if you haven't read up on this, don't miss it; it is spectacular and unusual and nothing like it anywhere else in the world; 10 minutes from the beachfront and some waterside restaurants;o 10 minutes from the charming town of Capalbio; I imagine in the warmer weather, this location is a delightful stay for a few nights; the hotel/inn was run extremely professionally; definitely a great place to stop; about 1 hour and 20 minutes down the coast road to the airport

Room Tip: up two small flights, the junior suites (only two in the hotel) were large enough to spread out and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RGrochow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

This lovely b&b surprised my wife and I both in its elegance and surrounding beauty. It's a gorgeous place to completely escape. The rural location is quiet, beautiful farm land with wide open vistas of green, yet there are tons of things to do nearby. The employees are very personable and speak english. The pictures do NOT convey the atmosphere of elegance we experienced in person.

Room Tip: I doubt there are any rooms that would disappoint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CW C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon and loved every minute of it. Arriving late one night after a very long drive, we were shown our room and offered dinner, even though it was quite late. Dinner was great, as were the local Maremma wines we tried. Our waiter was really friendly and helpful and looked after really well every night of our stay. We stayed for four days and barely left the place as we found it to be so relaxing. All our meals were very good and we found the pool amongst the olive groves to be most enjoyable. Our room was probably a little on the small side, but beautifully decorated and elegant. The house itself is really quite lovely, very stylish and well designed. Simply a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WJB2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eltville am Rhein, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed at Locanda Rossa for 3 days. After all the perfect reviews our expectations may have been too high. Our room was next to a street which was used as a racing track during early morning hours. The room was very small and we could not even open both our suitcases at a time. For 190€ /night (low season rate) we would have expected a larger room. Breakfast was ok, nothing special. The location itsself is very nice and well kept. We had one rainy day- would have liked to use the spa- which was an additional 30€ pP and had to be turned on upon request. Massage etc. was not available for 2 days in a row. So we skipped this part. Prices for any extras (drinks etc.) very extremely high, comparable to a 5-Star-hotel in Tokyo. WiFi internet was very spotty and did not work in the rooms. At least they were very generous in letting us leave one day early without any charge.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank angi k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
103 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

I knew it was going to be a great stay and the type of place we would like just from my email exchanges with Barbara before we arrived. Each of the staff members made us feel that they were happy we were there and wanted to do whatever to make our stay enjoyable. The service was beyond exceptional.

We arrived early and were just going to ask to drop off our bags so we could get lunch. What a nice surprise that they offer lunch at the resort…and our room was ready so we were able to check in early. We sat outside drinking a wonderful local white wine and liking the option to have a light lunch.

If you have spent time in Italy, you may notice that the pools tend not to be heated. It’s a cultural preference, I believe. We like our pools to be like a bathtub. Their beautiful pool was just right, refreshing enough for the 90 plus degree weather, but easy to just jump in without taking 30 mins to adjust. I love that they think of all the details, for example, the complimentary juice and ice tea by the pool. The choice to be under an umbrella, in the sun on a comfortable lounge chair or my favorite, the cushioned double bed in the shade were all well thought out for everyone’s comfort . We had wine and appetizers by the pool one evening…we stayed at the pool until about 8pm because we didn’t want to leave.

I recommend having dinner there at least once. The menu is concise, but has enough choices for everyone’s taste.

I had a massage with Stefania, who was great, and that set a nice tone for a relaxing end to our trip. The Spa Path was so much fun, and I really could have done it a second time. My husband and I didn’t want to leave it. We were not sure which part was our favorite, but the giant, multi jetted spa tub was particularly enjoyable and we hadn't experienced this type of giant tub before. There were so many choices, standing with jets, sitting surrounded by jets and even laying down like in a lounge chair with bubble jets…and then there’s the giant waterfall shower. Our skin was unbelievably soft after this treatment.

The breakfasts were farm fresh, varied and more than substantial. The breakfast here was the best of our trip. Besides the choices in the buffet (fresh pastries, fruits, cheeses, yogurts, juices, cereals), you could order items such as eggs, fresh mozzarella, bacon or prosciutto. It was a very generous spread. I wanted to eat breakfast at lunch and dinner too!

Our room was comfortable, with a comfortable bed and pillows, flat screen TV and we could not get over our large, private garden attached. We watched the stars at night from our garden and had a cup of tea before breakfast each morning there. The shower with the overhead nozzle, mood lightening and perfect pressure was a treat because, not to generalize, but we found the showers in Italy tend to be small, with mixed results on too hot or too cold water, and little pressure. Yes, we know the shower thing is typically American, like the warm pool… so we don’t expect it, but appreciate it when it’s offered.

Definitely plan to do dinner there at least one night. The whole property is so nice and designed for your comfort, you really may not want to leave…and we didn’t. We only went sightseeing one day. They will also recommend nice places to eat if you want to go out, for example, we liked Frantoio in Capalbio and, I can’t think of the name, but a restaurant right on the beach that couldn’t have a better view.

Our stay here was the last three days of a 12 week trip. We didn't want to go home, but when we saw our room had a giant photo of the Golden Gate Bridge and we are from San Francisco, we felt it was a good sign that it was time to go home, our trip had the right ending.

I am missing some of the names, so don’t want any of their exceptional team to feel excluded, but had to call out the wonderful lunch service with Desiree, breakfast with Fassia (sp?), Rachelle who was great at breakfast and giving recommendations, and even listening to me complain about a personal issue (not related to the hotel)! Barbara, who I felt I knew from prior emails, is an amazing manager of the property. They think of everything to make your stay enjoyable. I enjoyed meeting and visiting with all the ladies of Locanda Rossa (not to end with a sexist note, but I can’t help wonder if our incredible three days has anything to do with that Locanda is owned and run by women…:-) )

Review is too long, but just loved our stay and we would go out of our way on our next visit to go back.

Room Tip: I didn't see the other rooms, but we booked a standard and just loved the private garden that wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ViaggiatoreSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capalbio
0.1 mi away
Hotel Residence Valle del Buttero
2.7 mi away
Resort Capalbio
Resort Capalbio
#3 of 7 in Capalbio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
4.7 mi away
I Briganti di Capalbio
I Briganti di Capalbio
#4 of 7 in Capalbio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Hotel Il Pellicano
Hotel Il Pellicano
#1 of 7 in Porto Ercole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
17.3 mi away
Hotel Torre di Cala Piccola
Hotel Torre di Cala Piccola
#1 of 1 in Cala Piccola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
4.3 mi away
Agriturismo Vallerana
Agriturismo Vallerana
#7 of 23 in Capalbio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Rossa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Rossa

Property: Locanda Rossa
Address: Strada Capalbio n 11B, 58011, Capalbio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Capalbio
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Capalbio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Locanda Rossa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia and Priceline so you can book your Locanda Rossa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Rossa Capalbio, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing