We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but not 5 star” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Petriolo Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Petriolo Spa Resort
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice but not 5 star”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

The hotel is a bit tired and in need of TLC. The decor is 1970s and we had problems with our room - blocked shower, TV didn't work. Despite being located just off a motorway, it has beautiful views of the Tuscan countryside. There's nothing nearby so you need a car to travel to Grosseto or Sienna. The food is appalling - the dessert on our first night was so bad it would have bounced off the walls! The staff were really friendly but despite being a 5* star hotel, service was not a priority. Everything is set up to make it easier for the hotel and not the guest. E.g. You can't get towels at the pool side, you have to go up in the lift 3 floors to the spa and there is no room service. You can't have breakfast on the terrace because it's easier for them to serve you indoors. We got a really cheap deal so took it in the spirit of what we paid but would have been really upset had we paid full price for this hotel. Definitely not 5*, more like 3*.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Londontraveller50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    209
    70
    34
    26
See reviews for
96
492
13
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

This is a perfect place for pampering and relaxation in a beautiful part of the world.
The facilities are excellent and the rooms of a very high standard, especially the bathrooms which are great. They are spotlessly clean and the fittings of a high standard.
The location is very convenient being easily found on the main road to/from Sienna. This does naturally have a downside in the form of road noise in some rooms. Sadly our room had no balcony and we gave up the offer of an upgrade to such a room as this over looked the car park which was too close to the road for us. That said the views to the rear over Tuscan countryside are great and you soon forget the road.
The food was of a good standard with much choice being provided by the three different restaurants - one local cuisine, one healthy menu and one of fine standard. The views from the latter two are superb. Breakfast very good indeed with very helpful staff and eggs cooked upon request in addition to the standard scrambled eggs on offer at the buffet.
That being said the main event is the spa facilities themselves, which are excellent. Whilst I can understand some reviewers comments regarding these being a little "tired" in places, the variety and unique nature of the waters makes this an absolutely first class experience
Local restaurants in nearby villages provide great variety. The best we found was Locanda nel Cassero in Civitella Marittima - excellent!
Service in the restaurants and spa very good, at the reception desk only so so
For the quality provided the Secret Escapes deal we enjoyed was very good and we would certainly return

Room Tip: Avoid a car park view if road noise is not for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jcid111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

We drove to Petriolo from Pisa for a week long stay in a deluxe room. On arrival our bags were taken from us in the car park and taken to our room. We were welcomed warmly in reception and introduced to the spa by way of a guided tour ending in our room. we were intrigued by everyone walking around in hotel slippers and orange hooded robes

Our room was fantastic, clean, huge, a walk in wardrobe, mini bar with free water, sky tv and internet connectivity. The room was on the side of the hotel, facing the tree line, and whilst there was some road noise it was not intrusive, even with the windows wide open. The marble bathroom was huge and extremely well laid out. There were plenty of robes and bath towels and on the bed, the orange robes and slippers....

The spa facilities are great, a well equipped gymnasium, outdoor and indoor mineral pools, a swimming pool, steam room, sauna, jacuzzi pools, waterfall pools, heated pool with jacuzzi recliner, outdoor pools with jacuzzi recliner and plenty of places to sit and relax either by the pool or on the hotel terraces. There is also an outdoor children's playground, set away from the pools and nicely laid out.

There is also a great woodland walk accessible directly from the front of the hotel. We saw wild boar and enjoyed a fantastic walk through Tuscan Oak, Beech and Pine forests and sweet smelling broom glades. Some of the signage on the walk has been blown down, but if you keep turning right you cannot go wrong.

We dined in the restaurant a number of times and found the food exciting and varied. Our first visit to the restaurant coincided with a beautiful Tuscan evening, the views from the restaurant windows are stunning and when you are seated the view changes slightly and it feels as if the restaurant just floats over the valley below. Swifts were nesting under the restaurant eaves an watching them fly across the valley void was wonderful.

The Hotel and Spa staff were very friendly and accommodating and nothing was too much trouble. The restaurant manager, Cero, was impeccable in his approach and his management of the restaurant service was a pleasure to watch. He had lots of time for all of his customers and made dining a fantastic experience. The restaurant and bar prices are what you would expect in this standard of hotel and did not vary massively between the prices found in or favourite Glasgow brasserie.

We did not venture too far from the hotel during our stay (we just enjoyed relaxing around the Spa), but did find time to visit Florence and San Gimignano, both just over an hour or so from the hotel by road and well worth a visit.

We had a great stay and returned home completely relaxed and ready to book our return visit later in the year - probably a Junior Suite

Room Tip: The marble floors can be noisy and occasionally transmit sounds from rooms above - so go high.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PJH8RN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed here for one night with two small children. The bedrooms and bathrooms were perfect. The baths were nice. But the only thing i would say- is that it is not very child friendly. The choice of restaurants/menus was very poor and no special menu or dishes for kids. But in general the choice of food was very poor. We had a fish dish which was not very special at all. portions very small. So i would recommend going to eat at the next best local pizzeria! Also, what a shame they didn't have an special bathrobes or slippers for children. Also, at the pool itself there was a physiotherapist saying that the children should remain quiet as she was working with a patient- so not very friendly for children!
The hotel and resort is situated in a beautiful setting.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Marijsje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Wonderful service more than made up for a slightly old fashioned look about this hotel. The spa is lovely and I've not slept so well in years. Apparently it's all that heavy spa water. You do need a car though. There is a great restaurant in the hotel but also a few only a couple of kilometres away. All in all I would thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: Try and get a room that does not face the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michiel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We decided to go to Tuscany for a few days for a break and found this hotel via Secret Escapes. The deal was good and after picking up the car in Florence we arrived to the hotel late. The sat nav does not recognise the hotels address and took us into a little tuscan village locally, somewhat stressful at 10.30pm on a sunday night in streets which you can't get down in a car but we did call the hotel and got there in the end. Note do not leave the main road as it is on it!! We were a little disappointed to find that room service was not 24 hrs and had shut when we arrived so went to bed hungry. Having said that we did also go to bed in a beautiful room with a huge bathroom and walk in wardrobe. We were advised we would need to see the doc before entering the spa which was a bit concerning however the next morning it was a very relaxed chat about the effects of the thermal spa on the body so nothing to worry about. The spa was great and provided perfect relaxation with plenty of pools and hot springs.
Our other gripe other than the room service was the recommendations of other restaurants in the area. You need to drive and when we asked for a good pizzeria they sent us off to the hills to a place which had shut down. Luckily the doctor had recommended a B & B locally which served dinner and we had the most incredible 10 course Tuscan dinner on the 2nd night so really glad we had found that.
It was a lovely hotel, very clean and beautiful, I would recommend it, just make sure you have a car as you can't walk anywhere from the hotel.

Room Tip: Request one with a view over the hills, not over the car park, also check the air con works as ours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hannah01_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed here in early May 2013. The Hotel and Spa is in a beautiful setting. The view from the restaurant and balconies is absolutely beautiful. The drawback here is that you MUST rent a car. We are accustomed to that so it was not a big deal. Though we did make a big mistake on the toll road getting out of Florence. But that's another story.

Staying at Petriolo you just can't be too ambitious in terms of sightseeing and numerous dining experiences unless you have a lot of time. We had only a long weekend but fortunately we were in a mood to relax. So one day driving through the Tuscan hill towns was fine and the rest of the time spent relaxing in the pools and getting massaged was good for us.

It is true that there is nowhere to walk to outside the hotel to eat. The place is in the countryside. So if you are looking for an experience where you are not located in a town and scenery is king then this is a great choice. The staff are excellent but then we couldn't tell if the doctor screeing was really to test our health or a way to slighly sell us more spa services. But if you take it in stride and laugh it off no, problem.

The food was good and the wait staff was very attentive. The head waiter even cleaned my silver wedding ring after it tarnished in the mineral hot springs. We recommend this place highly as long as you are not intent on seeing ALL the sights of Tuscany in a short time. Just relax and take it for what it is....A SPA!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the valley not the road. And when we stayed you could not turn the AC below 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Civitella Paganico
15.5 mi away
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclu...
#2 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
16.5 mi away
Albergo Le Terme
Albergo Le Terme
#2 of 3 in Bagno Vignoni
4.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
13.6 mi away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Antico Casale L'Impostino
Antico Casale L'Impostino
#2 of 7 in Civitella Paganico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
10.2 mi away
Albergo La Pace
Albergo La Pace
#3 of 7 in Civitella Paganico
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
16.7 mi away
Hotel Adler Thermae Spa & Relax Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petriolo Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petriolo Spa Resort

Property: Petriolo Spa Resort
Address: | Localita Bagni di Petriolo, 58045, Civitella Paganico, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Civitella Paganico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Civitella Paganico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Petriolo Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Petriolo is located in the heart of Tuscany, surrounded by fascinating wild scenery as well as artistic and cultural itineraries of great interest. Immersed in the unspoiled beauty of the typical Mediterranean bush, the resort is only a twenty-minute drive from Siena, and 80 km from Florence, the capital of Tuscany. At Petriolo Spa Resort, well-being comes from nature itself, and predominantly from the hot sulfurous water which has been springing from the earth for thousands of years at 43° C, composed of elements capable of positively stimulating the entire organism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Petriolo Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petriolo Hotel Civitella Paganico
Petriolo Resort Civitella Paganico
Petriolo Spa Resort Italy/Tuscany - Civitella Paganico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing