We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“wonderful spa and hotels” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Petriolo Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Petriolo Spa Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Lugano
Level Contributor
81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“wonderful spa and hotels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

nice 5 stars hotels the recetption is very professional and welcoming you very nice petriolo spa is located in the middle of the country of tuscany on the road siena grosseto and 100 km from Perugia.
It is a oasis of relax and quality room nice and confortable large 5 stars bathroom
great panorama from the break fast restaurant
nice extern pool and nice spa massage really helpful ...
i will go again

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Falctraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    196
    66
    32
    25
See reviews for
91
460
12
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We went to Petriolo Spa Resort on our honeymoon in October 2010. We loved the resort - the food at the restaurants was amazing; the customer service was first rate; and the room had a wonderful balcony overlooking a lush mountainside. The spa services were luxurious. I would recommend a visit to this resort.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NY_Huns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

Fantastic room, brilliant Spa and amazing views. The service was excellent and all the staff very friendly. Just the right place to chill out and unwind. Especially enjoyed the outdoor thermal swimming pool, and the panoramic restaurant. Will visit again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crowthers058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

We booked this hotel as a place to stay while on our honeymoon travelling through Europe. We needed a place that we could take a break from sightseeing and museums ect, knowing it had spa thermal pools is why we booked the location. It is NOT close to any major sights of italy, it is close to wineries, and olive fields, a quite part of Italy. Approx 2 hours from rome by car. The resort is located off a main highway (easy to find) and is in a valley of hills covered with trees, a beautiful tuscan setting. The resort is massive, but once you know where you are going it doesn't seem as large. What we enjoyed about the Petriolo Resort and Spa, we stayed for two nights in September, the location is breathtaking, we booked a Junior Suite, and it was gorgeous! Two bathrooms, beautiful decorated, amamzing bed and great sitting area, even had a dining area, and balcony with great couch and comfy chair to relax and enjoy the views. Two comfy robes are provided and slippers for use while in the room and two robes are provided to use in the thermal spa area, which can be changed if wet. Bring two bathing suits if you plan on using the facilities more than once a day. And bring flip flops if you have small/large feet as the shoes are one size. mens 11.5 and ladies 8. I was suprised at how many people spoke english, a nice touch, making life that much easier. Breafkast is included and is very good, a nice mixture of the regular continental breakfast, but also scambled eggs and bacon.
While swimming in one of the many pools, there are 6 different pools i think, we did notice that the tiles are falling off the walls and the drywall is cracking, but we also noticed that the spa is working to fix these damages, which are caused by the water so im sure when they planned it was an over thought as to how much damage the suphur really causes, anyway, it does not disturb the amazing feeling or relaxation that the facilites do bring about. We felt amazing after just 2 days there, a weekend would be long enough. The food was expensive, and we did not enjoy the dinner that we ordered, but the wine was affordable and delicious. We did leave the resort for lunch & dinner the next day and found 2 amazing restaurants within a 2 min drive, both affordable and homeade dishes. We would recommend this place if you are looking to relax, stop for a few days and just want to swim and take care of yourself. We left feeling rejuvanted and happy.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lovestotravel76_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

Great service, personalize attention to detail, cleaness. Great pools and wonderful atmosphere. looking forward to go back. The love of my live enjoy it too. we need to go back

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joseantonioporth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

In July, I was in Italy in Tuscany between Siena and Grosseto. We found this hotel named The Petriolo Spa & Resort. It caught my eye because of the many spa pools and different pools with different water temperatures it has. Including the Bio-Sauna. An excellent place to relax and keep the stress away. I highly recommend this hotel by the look of the room and the generosity of the staff. I would leave my house now just to spend another day there!!! And next time I will stay at least one week. I recommend this hotel for 3-4 days.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leonardo117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sion, Switzerland
Level Contributor
218 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

What should we say about this hotel? We found it excellent and not better than average at the same time.
Let's begin with the plus points: sensational fitness amenities, good spa and pool, cleanness in the whole hotel, quiet situation, huge and comfortable room, parking places for free, good recommandation form the information staff for excursions and outside eating.
Unfortunately we have to mention a few the minus points as well: 1) it was impossible to get hot water in the bathroom: so it was not agrable to have a shower or to take advantage of the bath; 2) poor quality of the breakfast for a 5 stars house; 3) the breakfast finishes at 10.30 am already; 4) dead atmosphere in the hotel, no live, nobody at the restaurant and at the bar; 5) the safe did not work.

We will not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Olympicchampion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetrioloManagement, Direttore generale at Petriolo Spa Resort, responded to this review, May 21, 2010
Dear Sirs,

we are very happy to have welcomed you at Petriolo Spa Resort and we thank you for having chosen our resort.

However, we are also very sorry to learn that your stay with us did not meet your expectations somehow and we apologize if you may have experienced some kind of disservice.

It is important for Petriolo Spa Resort Management, as well as for the Spa, Health and Resort staff, to greet each guest with warmth and care, and to provide them with the highest quality of service and comfort.

Therefore, we feel that it is our duty and obligation to take this opportunity to express our deep surprise in reading about what you said ‘it was impossible to get hot water in the bathroom: so it was not agrable to have a shower or to take advantage of the bath’ it is not possible and, sorry, but it is completely false: we have always hot water at 50° centigrade.

Our mission is to ensure the highest level of customer service and satisfaction and for this reason we appreciate receiving feedback from all of our Guests. We shall therefore draw on your insights and suggestions in whatever measure it may possibly further our quest for an extraordinary and memorable stay at Petriolo Spa Resort.

Best regards,

Alessandro Ercolani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Civitella Paganico
15.5 mi away
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclu...
#1 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
4.5 of 5 stars 1,056 reviews
8.3 mi away
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
#1 of 14 in Montalcino
5.0 of 5 stars 354 reviews
13.6 mi away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
4.5 of 5 stars 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Albergo Le Terme
Albergo Le Terme
#2 of 3 in Bagno Vignoni
4.0 of 5 stars 545 reviews
10.2 mi away
Albergo La Pace
Albergo La Pace
#5 of 7 in Civitella Paganico
3.5 of 5 stars 37 reviews
0.0 mi away
Antico Casale L'Impostino
Antico Casale L'Impostino
#2 of 7 in Civitella Paganico
4.5 of 5 stars 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petriolo Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petriolo Spa Resort

Property: Petriolo Spa Resort
Address: | Localita Bagni di Petriolo, 58045, Civitella Paganico, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Civitella Paganico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Civitella Paganico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Petriolo Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Petriolo is located in the heart of Tuscany, surrounded by fascinating wild scenery as well as artistic and cultural itineraries of great interest. Immersed in the unspoiled beauty of the typical Mediterranean bush, the resort is only a twenty-minute drive from Siena, and 80 km from Florence, the capital of Tuscany. At Petriolo Spa Resort, well-being comes from nature itself, and predominantly from the hot sulfurous water which has been springing from the earth for thousands of years at 43° C, composed of elements capable of positively stimulating the entire organism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Petriolo Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petriolo Hotel Civitella Paganico
Petriolo Resort Civitella Paganico
Petriolo Spa Resort Italy/Tuscany - Civitella Paganico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing