We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Peaceful Idyll”
Review of Avenue Cottage

Avenue Cottage
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ashprington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Avenue Cottage
Ranked #2 of 3 Ashprington B&B and Inns
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Peaceful Idyll”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Although we stayed only one night due to availability, our stay at Avenue Cottage was so good that it felt as refreshing as a mini holiday. David warmly welcomed us on arrival and unearthed Richard from the garden.
Our room was most comfortable and thoughtfully appointed and I did appreciate a proper teapot on the tray. The bed was so unusually comfortable, that my memory foam mattress topper stayed in the car.
We enjoyed an excellent breakfast, perfectly cooked by Richard and were perfectly placed to spend the day visiting the wonderful variety of the area.
As we visit family nearby, we will definitely return to Avenue Cottage now that we've discovered it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anniecat2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

If you're looking for a quiet tranquil get away, Avenue Cottage is for you. En-suite bathroom and a balcony which gives you uninterrupted views down towards the river Dart is delightful! Great local eating places; along with fantastic hosts, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, thank you...we'll be back for sure!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aksamson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This trip to Avenue Cottage - www.avenuecottage.com - was even better than the last in spite of the awful weather. The gardens were exquisite and Richard the perfect host with lovely breakfasts and room. Richard also suggested our trips out on the Saturday and Sunday:
On Saturday we walked down through Avenue Cottage's gardens to Sharpham - www.sharpham.com - wine and cheesemakers and sheltered from the rain in their cafe/restaurant. Well worth a visit, we purchased a bag full of produce at the shop which we then carried on a 2 and a half ovely walk into Totnes. Totnes is a charming town on the river Dart; the main street on a hill with book shops, a market and a well needed clotted cream tea at the charming Anne of Cleaves Tea Rooms.
On Sunday we visited Greenway - http://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/greenway/ - one of Agatha Christie's holiday homes where she wrote three of her books. The Boat House we thought was the best thing there and in her book 'Dead Man's Folly' it was the place where the body was found. We took a boat from Dittisham across the Dart to the bottom of the house grounds and upon our return ate fresh crab and skate at the Anchorstone Cafe - http://www.anchorstonecafe.co.uk/.
We had a fabulous weekend thanks to Avenue Cottage and only wished we could have stayed an extra night!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blondiehanim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We have recently very much enjoyed a 3 night stay at Avenue Cottage. Richard is a very hospitable host. The garden is exceptional, 11 acres of beautiful woodland garden, historically part of the Sharpham estate, which is itself well worth visting to sample its cheese and wine. The room is very comfortable, the breakfast very good, particularly good coffee, which one cannot always rely on, plus fresh fruit salad, and the normal eggs & bacon. Avenue Cottage is an excellent base forvisiting a wide range of nearby attractions,including Dartmoor, the South Hams coastal walks and towns (Dartmouth, Salcombe, etc.), and Totnes, a quirky but charming town, full of aging hippies. Any complaints? The dawn chorus from the abundant woodland birds is vigorous and enthusiastic but well worth waking up for.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Richard and David offer a spacious room, with a very large adjoining bathroom area, leading onto a private terrace. This overlooks what can be accurately described as a stunning garden, with the river Dart in the distance.

I love an English breakfast, and can say that Richard delivered the best I have ever had. The bacon was at precisely the right point on the crispness scale, the eggs a tribute to the hen that laid them, and the mushrooms succulent.

I can unreservedly recommend Avenue Cottage. The local area typifies the best that the English countryside can offer, and the adjoining farm offers a Champagne (Sacre Bleue!) that is confirmation that the English actually invented bubbly.

Go!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rball2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Avenue Cottage nestles at the end of a long, steep driveway lined with mature trees and carpets of wild flowers.

All you can hear is bird song. Your heart lifts. Falling away from the cottage is a stunningly, beautiful, natural garden which has been created with wonderful vision and love by Richard the owner.

Both bedrooms have wonderful outlooks over the garden but one bedroom has french windows leading onto a wisteria clad balcony giving more distant views down the valley and the opportunity to enjoy an evening glass of wine or early morning cup of tea with the dawn chorus.

We walked down into Ashprington for an evening meal ...very pretty little Devon village...walked into the Durrant Arms and a little shame-facedly straight out again and continued our walk down the hill to the Watermans Inn which was delightful. Next to the river, with a good choice of tasty food, friendly service and an open fire outside and lit woodburners indoors to take the chill off the May evening - it was perfect. The long walk back up the hill in the dark was easier than we feared it might have been with the aid of alcohol!

We were awoken to the gentle tapping of a Greater Spotted Woodpecker feeding off the bird feeder below our Garden Bedroom window. What could be a nicer way to be woken?! After breakfast Richard and David kindly allowed us to spend a long and dreamy couple of hours enjoying their garden (which adjoins Sharpham Estate). For anyone suffering from stress this would be the best medicine.

Avenue Cottage is quality. So is Richards' breakfast. Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevonCreatures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gent
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

B&B Avenue Cottage is wonderful: we had a large room with twin beds and bathroom within a charming house, a splendid garden, a very discreet host who made us great breakfasts. Totnes, quite near by car, is a lovely village. you can make interesting trips to the coast or to Dartmoor.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mama10Gent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashprington
0.6 mi away
The Durant Arms
The Durant Arms
#1 of 1 in Ashprington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
4.9 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
1.1 mi away
Waterman's Arms
Waterman's Arms
#1 of 3 in Ashprington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Steam Packet Inn
The Steam Packet Inn
#5 of 27 in Totnes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Cottage

Property: Avenue Cottage
Address: Ashprington, Totnes, Ashprington TQ9 7UT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ashprington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ashprington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Avenue Cottage Ashprington, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing