We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Break”
Review of Waterman's Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waterman's Arms
Ranked #1 of 3 Ashprington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Our first visit here since the change of owners and was not disappointed. Staff was very welcoming and attentive. The food was deliousios. The room we was in had been decorated in a way that complimented the inn. Looking forward to our next visit to The Watetmans.

Room Tip: Room 8 over looks river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carol m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Les_WatermansArms87, Owner at Waterman's Arms, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.


We are so happy to hear that you had an enjoyable time with us!

It's great to hear that you liked how we have decorated the room and that you enjoy dining with us!
All our food is cooked fresh to order, so you really get the full taste of all our dishes! We are currently updating our menus to have even more dishes and options! So when you next come there will be some new dishes on the menu that may tempt you!

It was lovely meeting you and again thank you for taking the time to write such a amazing review!

We hope to see you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (281)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 281 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2014

We have been staying in Tuckenhay for twenty years, so obviously we like it there. This was the first time we have stayed in the Watermans Arms although we have eaten and drunk there many times.The food has never been brilliant but has always been adequate and particularly good when we had young children growing up and they always looked forward to it.This time we were on our own and stayed just one night on our way home after a superb week in Cornwall. The room was adequate and comfortable but there was one major issue. In the small bathroom was a heated towel rail which was DANGEROUSLY HOT, I mean scalding hot and because of the small room it was almost impossible not to touch it. If you had young children you would soon be calling for an ambulance!! Also at first use the flush handle fell off the toilet. Now this could happen anywhere and was soon fixed but we then found out why it had broken, because the flush was continually running. In desperation I fixed this myself with a bit of DIY and brute force.
We had booked a meal for that night and to be honest it was only just adequate and included frozen chips! Remember this was a Friday night but the place was almost empty. When we have been in previous years with the children the place was always bursting at the seams every night. However the biggest disappointment was the breakfast the following morning which was very poor, with no menu, NO FRUIT and very poor service. It really was not good enough. We had just had a week in Cornwall in a small family run hotel where the breakfast was as good as it gets AND it was cheaper.
We questioned the owner about these issues and he admitted they had only recently taken over and I got the impression he was a little out of his depth and quite prepared to accept low standards.
The only saving grace was the young receptionist who was brilliant and just kept smiling through all the problems. She was straight from college and I imagine she will soon be moving on.
I really could not recomend this place at all and would definitely not use it again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alfie057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Les_WatermansArms87, Owner at Waterman's Arms, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We remember you very well and made notes on the comments you made on check-out. We took the radiator in the bathroom comment very serious and disconnected it that very day. We are in the process of having all our radiators refitted to ensure this kind of thing does not happen again.
Again we apologise for this as it was not brought to my attention sooner.

As one of your comments were about having a menu at breakfast we have now made menus for breakfast so everyone knows what they can have. And are looking into getting more fresh fruit for breakfast.

It also seems that there was nothing about your stay with us that you enjoyed. We are very saddened about this. We hope you could bring yourself to try us again, we would love the chance to give you an enjoyable stay and of course there would be no charge for your next stay with us!

Again thank you for bringing all these points to my attention. I take everyone's comments in and it helps us to improve our service and to make sure everyone have the best experience possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Each month nine of us visit a different place in the Torbay district for a meal. This month it was the turn Waterman’s Arms and I have to say that the food and service turned out to be one of the best in the area. The staff were attentive and welcoming, giving a really good service. Although we had a number of different dishes between us there was not one aspect of the food, presentation and cost that we could find fault. We will definitely be back again. Thank you for a great evening.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank bdwfh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Les_WatermansArms87, Front Office Manager at Waterman's Arms, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a brilliant review!

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed dining with us!
All our dishes are made fresh to order with locally sourced produce, so you really get the full taste of what the region has to offer!

We really pride ourselves on our friendly and efficient service, making sure everyone feels welcome and are comfortable.

Thank you for picking to dine with us and again thank you for writing this lovely review!

We hope to see you all again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Just back after a weekend stay for a wedding;

Rooms - Bright, comfortable and great value.
Bar / food - Traditional and cosy bar with good atmosphere. Great service and sunday roast! Lovely outdoor drinking and eating area by the river Dart.
Service - Really made our stay - staff were all extremely attentive and helpful. Being 4 Scotsman on a wedding / festival trip you could understand if the staff had their reservations but Lucy was brilliant and sorted us out with everything we could need. She was excellent.

Would go back if ever in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Les_WatermansArms87, Front Office Manager at Waterman's Arms, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such an amazing review!

It's great to hear that you enjoy your stay here, and hope you had a great time at the wedding!

We pride ourselves on our friendly and hospitable service, making sure everyone feels welcome and that we can do everything possible so you have a great stay!

We are glad that you liked the room! All our rooms have been refurbished to make them bright, airy and comfortable but still in keeping with the
Inn.

We hope that when you are back in the area that you will remember us!

And thank you again for writing such a lovely review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

I would just like to say that I have lived in the South Hams for 11 years and finally found a lovely family orientated pub. The customer service is excellent, friendly & courteous and the food is fab. I was just so pleased that when a rowdy hen party turned up carrying sex toys that were not appropriate as there were children there they were politely asked to move outside away from the children. They then turned extremely rude, swearing etc but thanks to the landlord he handled the situation with total decorum. I would highly recommend this pub to anyone who wants a lovely ambiance and great food.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ANITA J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Les_WatermansArms87, Front Office Manager at Waterman's Arms, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review!

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time here at The Waterman's!

We pride ourselves on our friendly and efficient service, making sure everyone is comfy and feels welcome!

It's great to hear that you liked the food too! Fresh and locally sourced, really brings out the flavor in all our dishes!

We hope to see you in the near future and again, thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Travellers searching Trip Advisor and contemplating a visit to the Waterman's Arms, may be interested in my visit there, which of course will be my last. With absolutely no justifiable reason the Landlord was unduly rude towards us. I’d been invited to a Hen Night in the village celebrating with a few drinks locally. My daughter and I live here in Plymouth and my super model granddaughter travelled from London to join us. Celebrations began at the Durant Arms and happily we were made most welcome there, our next stop was to be the Waterman's Arms, but as we arrived the landlord stood at the door,arms crossed and wouldn’t let us in!! Saying he had guests staying there and wouldn't tolerate any noise, we certainly weren't unduly noisy, being of mature years myself I don’t even drink alcohol,my drinks would have of been J2o’s only, another member of our party is soon to be celebrating 80 years ( not at the Waterman’s though) Two of his paid guests were my daughter and granddaughter. Clearly we couldn’t help but notice customers sitting outside putting down there drinks and leaving in total disbelief of the way the landlord treated us.We walked to the Maltsters Arms,celebrating there until it closed and were treated brilliantly. I cannot over address the issue of how the Waterman’s landlord treated us disgracefully, it is the first time I’ve ever been barred from entering a public establishment, and frankly it has left me feeling upset and very insulted, leaving a bad taste on what should have been a brilliant evening. (Such a Shame)

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
5  Thank Shirley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

This is the first time I have stayed here , and sadly the last ! On a positive the location is beautiful and the pub is pretty. The room was pleasant although small and I think on the pricey side. Breakfast was very average (with burnt toast ) once someone turned up to serve us. The waitress
was lovely but had her hands full and there was no one to ask for anything else. The reason for our stay was to attend a hen night with my relatives who live locally. We arrived at the pub to be told we were not able to come in. The owner was stood arms folded being very unreasonable. Basically a gathering of local ladies from 18 to 80 were banned! Sadly very poorly managed and people skills in this industry are everything and were very clearly lacking.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Emilio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashprington
0.5 mi away
The Durant Arms
The Durant Arms
#1 of 1 in Ashprington
114 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa
2.4 mi away
Royal Seven Stars Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Maltsters Arms
The Maltsters Arms
#1 of 1 in Tuckenhay
358 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Waterman's Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterman's Arms

Address: Bow Bridge, Ashprington TQ9 7EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ashprington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ashprington
Price Range: $128 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waterman's Arms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Ownership From November 2013! Les and Sarah Gresty welcome you to their Beautiful 17th century Inn. With 15 en suite bedrooms, some with views of the river. Great food using local produce, open all day with an extensive selection of beers and wines. Large outside seating area and separate outside restaurant open during the season, May until October. Free Wi-Fi throughout Inn and gardens, family friendly and dogs welcome! A wonderful place to unwind or use as a base to explore the beautiful South Hams, business rates available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms and getaroom.com so you can book your Waterman's Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watermans Arms Totnes
Watermans Arms Hotel Totnes
Waterman's Arms Ashprington, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing