We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly lovely place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The River Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The River Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Champasak Town
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Truly lovely place”
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

We were lucky enough to stay recently while they had a green season promotion, and it was amazing value. The rooms are luxurious and tastefully decorated, with everything you could possibly need - including a second, outdoor shower. The grounds are stunning, a credit to the gardeners, and the resort blends in beautifully with the natural surroundings. And the staff - from the restaurant to reception to spa - are wonderful. Fantastic place to stay.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank TJonesuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
149DavidD, Owner at The River Resort, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your lovely review of your recent visit to our Resort on a Green Season Promotion, which you describe as an "amazing value." We are pleased that you found your room more than satisfactory, the grounds "stunning," the resort blending "beautifully" with its natural surroundings, the staff "wonderful," and - in summary - that you found The River Resort to be a "fantastic place to stay"!
It's a long trek from the U.K. to Laos, but we very much hope to welcome you and your friends as guests sometime again in the not too distant future.
Cordially, David (Managing Director)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    62
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
48
275
27
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Laakdal, Belgium
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

The arrival and welcoming at the hotel was very warm and professional. Very friendly and helpfull staff, especially Mr.Bomb who brought us to the room is very helpfull and friendly.
Very nice roo;m with riverview and 1 shower inside and 1 outside.
very good service in restaurant and at swimmimg pool.
This resort is the best in Champasac..

Room Tip: Room with riverview
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bastiaan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
149DavidD, Owner at The River Resort, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Guests from Belgium, Thank you sincerely for your very positive review of your recent stay at The River Resort. Your having ranked us five stars in each TripAdvisor category - Value, Location, Sleep Quality, Rooms, Cleanliness and Service - and having concluded by saying that "This is the best in Champasak" very much touched our staff's hearts! Hoping to see you again sometime in the future at our Resort, and I assure you we will do our best to please you equally at that time! Cordially,
David (Managing Director)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
327 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

I stayed there for two nights end of April 2014 as a solo traveler. It's a great place for visiting either Pakse or Wat Phou in Champasak. Or for just relaxing along the Mekong.

Highly professional staff, quiet and efficient. Westerly designed houses and rooms with locally made bamboo furnitures.

Good food, local and western,available in an open air bar and restaurant with a great view.

Room Tip: choose upper floor rooms or first row houses for a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PoliticalAtheist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
149DavidD, Managing Director & Owner at The River Resort, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Guest,
We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your recent 2-night stay at our Resort, including your finding it a convenient location for visiting Wat Phou and Pakse and also a great place for "just relaxing" along the Mekong River; that you also found our staff to be highly professional, quiet and efficient; and enjoyed "good food," local and western, in our open air bar and restaurant with great Mekong River views. As you are resident in neighboring Cambodia, we hope very much to welcome you again in the future. Cordially, David (Managing Director)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangg1
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We agree with all the positives stated by other reviewers - we were blown away by the wonderful service, beautiful landscaping and setting (rice fields in the middle of the resort, view of the Mekong, appealing architecture), lovely pool and generally everything that made this stay great.

It's true the food was slightly pricey but still reasonable for hotel standards. We thought the breakfasts were delicious, especially the waffles, and one can order as much as one wants, along with the fresh fruit salad and fresh bread that comes with it. We would have loved to stay on and regretted leaving!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orangg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
149DavidD, Owner at The River Resort, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for describing us as "Best resort in Laos" and referring to our "wonderful" service, "beautiful" landscaping and setting in the midst of rice fields on the Mekhong Riverside, and our "lovely" swimming pool.
Your endorsement of our complimentary breakfasts as "delicious" and your mentioning that one can order as much as one wants were also much appreciated. That's exactly what our cooks and serving staff strive to deliver to each of our guests, and we are very pleased that is what you found!
Hoping to see you again on your next visit to Laos,
Cordially, David, for The River Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

As others have said, this has to be the best place to stay in all of Laos. It is very expensive by Laos standards but a fraction of what you'd pay for similar accommodations in the U.S. or Western Europe. The setting on the Mekong is positively majestic, and if you're not careful, one night can turn into a week here! The grounds are gorgeous and well-kept, and rooms are spacious, spotless, and beautifully appointed. The second balcony, which has no furniture, is a bit of a wasted space and would be been great to have a bathtub in its place instead - but that is REALLY nitpicky and did not mar our experience. As always in Laos, internet was slow and spotty at times even here. The pool is every bit as fabulous as it looks in the pictures, and we spent a significant amount of time relaxing around it. The only reason I haven't given it 5 stars is the food. It is very expensive (e.g. the papaya salad is about 6 TIMES the price we've paid elsewhere in Laos at sit-down restaurants), and the food does not justify those prices. The Laos dishes are good (we tried all the curries plus the fish cakes), but the Western dishes are honestly close to terrible. My husband's burger patty was not ground - it was 3 large chunks of meat. The breakfast was the worst. My husband's over-easy eggs were fried to within an inch of their lives, while my poached eggs were undercooked, the whites still runny. The toast that the eggs come on top of if your order them poached or with "tomato" is a soggy mess, especially if you get it with tomato, which is actually tomato sauce where fresh tomato would be much better. The potatoes that come on the side are pretty measly - if you are lucky, you get 5 bites of potato. Most days, we received 4. When we asked for extra, we each got 4 extra bites. Very sad little potatoes these were. While good Western food can be hard to find in these parts, it's not impossible (try Lin's Cafe in Savannakhet for example). But, for this caliber of a resort and for these prices, I expect at least average quality. We were considering another stay here for a few days on our way back north from the 4,000 islands, but decided not to b/c we just can't stomach the food. I hope the resort will consider sticking to what it does best, Laos cuisine, or bringing in someone who can help put together and execute a good western menu. I'll end on a good note since the experience really was lovely besides the food - the staff. They are all very friendly, and you'll get a greeting and a big, genuine Laos smile from every single staff member you pass. They were very gracious, professional, and took care of all of our needs, even setting up a special table for us so that we didn't have to sit next to a table with a terribly behaved child. Kudos to the team for a very well run resort!

Room Tip: I would definitely get a second floor room no matter what - better views and no one above you. We w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderrlustAdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
149DavidD, Owner at The River Resort, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear recent guests,

We are very much pleased to hear you say that our Resort is "the best place to stay in all of Laos" and that our setting on the Mekhong River is "majestic," the grounds "gorgeous," the rooms "spacious, spotless, and beautifully appointed," and the infinity pool "fabulous"! Our staff will be very proud to hear that you found them to be "very friendly," "gracious," "professional," and caring for all your needs!

I wish also to offer a sincere apology for your and your husband's disappointment with our food, which you found "very expensive," and the western dishes "close to terrible"! We are indeed pleased, however, to know that our Lao dishes are "good." Obviously something went wrong in the kitchen while you were with us, especially in terms of western breakfasts and a hamburger your husband ordered at another meal. Neither our General Manager nor I had been informed of your displeasure by our serving staff or our kitchen, which is our standard operating procedure, but we hope that you informed them of your dissatisfaction at the time!

In any event, out General Manager will have a serious discussion today with our Chef, to remind him that it is part of his responsibility to ensure that our western food is of much higher quality than you and your husband personally experienced at breakfast and with a hamburger. He will be instructed also to reteach the morning kitchen staff how to cook proper eggs and himself to take hamburgers off our menu until the problem you experienced is solved. We sincerely appreciate your candid comments about our cuisine, and are deeply committed to improving it!
Cordially, on behalf of The River Resort and staff, David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Although the room facilities here aren't by any means luxurious, they are perfectly adequate, and if you are lucky enough to get a first floor riverfront villa the views from either terrace or from your bed of the Mekong are amazing, as too were the sunrises, so really no complaints. The rice paddy setting was a nice touch, and we had an amazing massage in their spa whilst there, at a very reasonable cost.

It was also lovely to catch a small boat each morning from the small jetty below the hotel, crossing the Mekong to meet our driver and guide for our planned excursions.

We were on a half board basis which is essential, but it was disappointing that the table d'hote menu didn't change throughout our stay, although we were given an allowance towards the a la carte menu.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a Riverfront Villa, and ideally one on the1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PennyH2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
149DavidD, Owner at The River Resort, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your very kind review of your recent stay at our Resort. We are very pleased that you found your accommodations "perfectly adequate," though not luxurious (our style is actually intended to be "stylish and casually elegant," not luxurious!); views of the Mekong's rivertine life, Mekong sunrises and also your massage in our Spa all "amazing"; and also a "lovely" experience as our Riverboat carried you ever morning from our jetty across the River to your waiting car and driver!

As you mentioned in your review that your table d'hote half board menu didn't change day to day, as you had hoped, we have now added a second table d'hote menu for those guests who have arranged and paid in advance with their travel operators for such a menu, as you did. Of course, as you said, we offered you an allowance on our la carte menu instead, so we hope you were well satisfied on this occasion!

Kindest regards, David (Managing Director), for The River Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

When we stayed the resort, telephone and television system was out of order due to thunder storm a few days prior. We spent three days here without any disturbance from daily life.
This is very unusual setting. All the facilities are modern. Foods are served as if we were in Tokyo or Bangkok. But, the view of the Mekong, and trees and rice paddy in the resort are purely local, particularly gardeners who take care rice paddy. Good place for mental healing.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Louga925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
149DavidD, Owner at The River Resort, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Visitors from Tokyo,
Thank you very much for your recent review of your 3 day stay at The River Resort. Regrettably, we don't yet have many Japanese visitors, so it is a special honor to hear that you enjoyed your stay despite the fact that our guest room phones and TVs were in the midst of repair from damage during a thunderstorm several days before your arrival; that you found our cuisine up to Tokyo and Bangkok standards; the River view satisfying, also enjoying the trees and rice paddy tended in local style by our Lao gardeners . . . as you concluded, our Resort is a "good place for mental healing"!
We hope to see you again sometime soon! Moo ichido irrasite kudasai!
Cordially, David, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Champasak Town
2.3 mi away
La Folie Lodge
La Folie Lodge
#2 of 3 in Champasak Town
286 reviews
14.8 mi away
Pakse Hotel
Pakse Hotel
#1 of 15 in Pakse
577 reviews
13.5 mi away
Arawan Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Champasak Grand Hotel
14.8 mi away
Champasak Palace Hotel
1.9 mi away
Inthira Hotel
Inthira Hotel
#3 of 3 in Champasak Town
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The River Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River Resort

Property: The River Resort
Address: Ban Phaphinnoy, Champasak Town, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Champasak Province > Champasak Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Champasak Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The River Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The River Resort is located on 400 meters of naturally landscaped Mekong River frontage in the south of Laos, close to the renowned Wat Phou UNESCO World Heritage site. The Resort's architecture and decor are contemporary Southeast Asian. 22 of its 28 guest rooms have stunningly beautiful, panoramic views of the Mekong River; and the other 6 have fine views of beautiful evergreen rice paddy, flowering trees and tranquil ponds. Each guest room has an indoor and an outdoor shower and other high-standard amenities. The Resort’s open-air Dining Sala, overlooking the Mekong, includes a restaurant offering Western and Laotian/Thai cuisine, alfresco dining on its Riverfront lawns, a cocktail/juice bar, and a rooftop lounge for private meetings. Two infinity swimming pools and the Resort’s onsite Spa complement a relaxing stay. Its two private Riverboats offer casual journeys on the Mekong and sunset cocktail cruises, including - when the Mekong is at ebb - spectacular sunsets viewed from a soft sand beach on a remarkable uninhabited, sandstone island offshore the Resort. The River Resort is an ecologically and environmentally responsible hotel, committed to the use of replenishable bamboo for most of its furniture, organic and hydroponic "farm to table" gardens, recycling of inorganic waste, composting of other waste, as well as solar heated hot water for its kitchens; and is also committed to the improvement of the education of its local staff and the livelihood of its local community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The River Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The River Resort Laos/Champasak Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing